We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for a group”

Rancho Steak & Lobster
Ranked #46 of 112 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place for a group”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Beautiful space, right on the bay. The parrillada was good. They had too few waiters, so service was slow.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woofable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    94
    41
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Everywhere we went this restaurant was recommended to us but on tripadvisor it wasn't all that great. We decided to go and find out ourselves: the place is beautiful; amazing architecture and attention to detail. The staff: warm and welcoming (although a little late in topping up our glasses). The steaks: the best we ever had. All in all a great evening out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanmaaskant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best evening out ever”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were a large group that went out and just wanted a fun relaxing evening and good food. From the moment we arrived we loved it. The service was great and the food amazing, a MUST when you visit St Martin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank captaindijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, we were a little hesitant to try Rancho, but after being in St. Maarten for three weeks and trying so many Simpson Bay restaurants, we decided to bite the bullet and go for it and we made reservations. Of course, it was the off season and reservations were not necessary.

The hostess was very nice and friendly. The general manager stopped by and chatted with us a couple of times during dinner. Our waitress always had a smile on her face and went out of her way to be accommodating. And the atmosphere was very pleasant.

My husband had the steak and it was perfectly cooked and very tender. I had the vegetarian lasagna and it was piping hot and very tasty.

We splurged and shared the coconut creme brulee for dessert. I'm now trying to recreate it to post on my blog. It was that good! And we enjoyed the flamenco dancers! Overall, a very nice evening out. As far as the cost, it was about the same as other comparable restaurants in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alli2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
“Food was awful, overpriced and no attempt to please a customer”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have been coming to St. Maarten for the past 20+ years and never tried this restaurant. Too bad we finally did. We had steaks, but were very disappointed. My steak was an 8.5oz ribeye that was riddled with fat. I would estimate it was more than half the weight in fat..ugh! I complained and after a long wait, they did nothing to offset the poor meal. Needless to say we will never go back. Try the Greenhouse or Chesterfields in Great Bay. Tons better food and friendly service too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Steak & Lobster also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Rancho Steak & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing