We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good food and great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Steak & Lobster

Rancho Steak & Lobster
Ranked #43 of 110 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
258 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very good food and great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Rancho is an Argentine steak house that shares their roof with a tex mex restaurant Tequila. You can order from either menu. We've eaten at Rancho several times. This visit I ordered from the tex mex menu and my wife from the Rancho menu. We were both happy with our meals. Service was just OK. Prices are moderate. It is a great space with crazy high cathedral ceiling/roof. The night we were there a Latin singer performed. She was a great addition. Being on the lagoon also helps the atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    93
    38
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
143 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I guess I am repeating other comment by calling them average. Food was middle of the road, wine was below par, pricey but acceptable, service ok, atmosphere was ok but we had a nice dockside vie of the yachts. This is our first visit in 20 some trips to SXM so I cannot poo-poo tha for offseason service.

Steaks were good, potato was good, spinach was excellent, cream brûlée was average. Wine was affordable but marginal taste. Easy Thursday night parking. An Average outing overall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oldstocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great dining experience in SXM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the minute we walked in, greeted with smiles, music and fantastic service. Then our food arrived, Filet and Mahi Mahi, presentation and taste were spot on. They even cooked my steak perfect. Thanks you for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tedagidd26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Always a fun experience! I've been here a few times and with the amazing steaks, great live entertainment and friendly service, you can't go wrong!! If you're in St. Maarten, go!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nannestad
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good, and a nice menu.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This a great place on the dock, overlooking all the great yachts in the lagoon.
The food is steak, lobster, and Mexican.
All of wich are great portions, great tasting, and very good atmosphere.
Want a great Argentinian steak, this is the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OEA-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Steak & Lobster also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Rancho Steak & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing