We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Spacious..”
Review of Simpson Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Simpson Bay Suites
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Prime location.. I had the pleasure of speaking to Mohammed regarding my stay and room for improvement. The kitchen, living and bathroom were decorated tastefully. The rooms was very clean. I felt for the money in prime season on the island was reasonable. A very short walk and you were on the beach and the Greenhouse restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SXMSnorkelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 37 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Read the reviews before I booked and now, after staying here I realize that most reviews here are for Simpson Bay Resort and not Simpson Bay Suites. Hotel looks new, rooms need some work! Since we had my daughter celebrating her birthday and friends would stay over, we stayed in the 3 bedroom suite. Nice, but not worth the money we paid for it. All in all it is ok for one night, I would not stay there beyond that. Staff is really nice but rooms itself need a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisaba65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Love this place have a timeshare here and the people who work here all over the resort from the front desk to the beach or pol bar are the friendliest people and always want to go out of their way to make you Happy and your stay a pleasant one. The entire Island is friendly!!.

The resort is kept in good condition the beach is absolutely beautiful!! We have an great view from our balcony! the resort has everything you need and if not walk down the hill and get what you need at the local grocery store. Not far from the airport or Philipsburg for some shopping where you can get some great deals. Love coming back every year the people at Simpson Bay and the Island make you feel at home.

Room Tip: All have been renovated so you can't pick a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

On my first night, the hot water was not working, reported iit and it was supposedly fixed,
On my return to the hotel I discovered that the water heater was still not working.
Two nights, no hot water. Not staying here again

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were three couples booking two rooms at the end of our sailing charter. One of the couples cancelled one of the room reservations due to a family emergency, and the other two couples stayed at the hotel. Upon returning home, we checked our records and saw that we were double charged for the rooms; charged on site for the rooms that were used, and again charged for the so called "no-show" even though one of the rooms was used. I explained this several times to the management without avail. It's too bad, because the couple who stayed liked the rooms and location, but with all the options in St Martin, I would never stay here again and would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackzav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The hotel was better than we expected and the owners were really very nice and polite! BUT, there was no hot water in the shower! A basic necessity which was not available. Other than that the rooms are spacious BUT not well maintained. Apparently this is a newer hotel, so I can't imagine what it will be in a few years.
We really should get our money back for the discomfort we experienced!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has HOT WATER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldsmithV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were two couples looking for a one night stay before our cruise. Our travel agent found this hotel as it offered a 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath unit. First, make sure that you are aware that this is Simpson Bay Suites, not to be confused with other hotels in the same area. I checked tripadvisor before we left and noticed the difference, this is NOT a resort, basically just a hotel building, no amenities which suited our needs just fine. People at the desk were very helpful and polite!
The room was very clean, bedrooms and bathrooms worked great for us, large living area and small balcony overlooking the street. Room was okay overall, little things such as drapery that didn't close, no wifi etc. Location was good for us, good Italian restaurant across the street with reasonable prices, homemade pasta. Had a wonderful breakfast in the same little center in a place called ZeeBest, and it was. We had no wait, but line did start shortly after we were seated.

Overall, I would stay there again for a one night stay, more than that I would probably look to a more resort type atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melindda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Suites

Address: Elmanar Plaza 3D Billy Folly Road, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $149 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Simpson Bay Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Simpson Bay Suites where you can make one of our one, two, or three bedroom suites your home for a week or beyond! Simpson Bay Suites invites you to relax and unwind in your own personal suite whether you are a family relocating to the Caribbean, a business traveler, vacationer, or just making a new start. A hybrid between a typical hotel and an apartment, our suites are designed to be comfortably spacious, and equally affordable for any budget. Simpson Bay Suites is located between the island's two capitals, Marigot (French Side) and Philipsburg and is a short 4km (2.5mi) from the Princess Juliana International Airport, Saba Ferry, and the famous Maho Beach. Within a few minutes walking distance, you will find restaurants, water sports/activities, convenient stores, business center, commercial banking, breakfast cafés, the Yacht Club, and some of the top recommended night life in St. Maarten. Don't have a rental but want to get around? There are local pay buses nearby that can take you to either downtown on the Dutch or French Side. Our suites include many amenities. They feature a full sized kitchen, dining & living areas and include amenities such as kitchen appliances, stovetop oven, fridge, kitchenware, cable TV, hairdryer, safe, plus WiFi. Each suite has a large balcony face the front of the building. Simpson Bay Suites has the conveniences of a hotel, with all the comforts of home. We welcome you to make us your home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Simpson Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Suites St Martin / St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing