We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night on St Maarten”

Buccaneer Beach Bar
Ranked #20 of 113 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First Night on St Maarten”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had only just arrived on the island and this was our first visit.
We were staying one night nearby and were lucky to come across this great beach/ bar !!
Great atmosphere and as the sun was setting they lit up a brilliant fire pit on the beach .
Great food the ribs were gorgeous and very reasonable .
Lovely view from the bar.
Great for children too !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    316
    129
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Drinks at the fireball”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We walked over after seeing the fireball on the beach. The drinks are nice a strong- i had a dark and stormy. The fireball turns off around 10 which was a suprise because this looks like it could be an all night place. A lot of locals who are sure to make you feel welcome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ribsribsribs”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

EAT THE BOWL OF RIBS! Man, that chef knows his way around his outdoor grill! Ate there MANY times....even my Vegan daughter had to have a nibble!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nantzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back again to SXM and back again to Buccaneer”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I love the comfortable setting of the Buccaneer. On the beach, relaxed, and friendly!! Tourists and islanders gather here. Music on some nights! Great for lunch or dinner!! In 22 days I think I stopped by 8 to 10 times!! Just love it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great for beach food - don't expect much else and you'll be happy! :)”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

It is right on the water, and the burgers are amazing! Burger/Fries were $13.95 without tip or beverage, service is on "island time" but get a drink and enjoy the view while you wait. Food was really good, bar drinks were good - would recommend for a bite on the beach if you don't want to get dressed or dressed up to go to a formal indoor restaurant!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccaneer Beach Bar also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Buccaneer Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing