We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun little place to hang out. CASH ONLY!”

Buccaneer Beach Bar
Ranked #21 of 112 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bend, OR
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fun little place to hang out. CASH ONLY!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our last hang out before leaving the island the next morning. We came with some friends that we had met and this was their main hang out. This place is cash only, and because it was on the tail end of our trip, we had used all of ours up. There is no ATM on site, so I set off to find one. You have two options, head down the street further to the Hollywood Casino, or head back up to the main road, make a right, and cross the street to the Scotia Bank a few buildings down. Both are within an easy walking distance. (My 20+ minutes of searching dear reader is your gain.) We wanted to get some desert, since Karakter failed us on that front. Their menu says "Ask us about our great desert selections". We asked, they didn't have any. Go figure. I guess desert just wasn't in the cards for us that night. The bartender was nice enough, though he seemed to not be the biggest fan of his job. Their "humongous drinks" really aren't all that big, but you get your moneys worth on the booze, and if you have a blended drink, they are filling. The atmosphere is pretty fun. Love the pirate theme. Parking can be a little difficult if they are busy. Biggest thing to remember though, No Credit Cards, Cash Only. Plan accordingly, or huff it to the ATM like I did.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gryphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    311
    127
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, no credit cards”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great location on the beach, and the food was wonderful. The people are friendly, and the beer is cold. It's a bit of a hassle that they don't take credit cards, but it's true of a few places on the island. Nice place for a relaxing drink and a bite to eat while watching the sun set over the bay.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LandMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great bar next to Villas at Simpson Bay”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The had a large screen tv on the beach for Super Bowl. Great place for snacks and burgers and of course a drink.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BJMKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Bar in Simpson Bay”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Easily the best bar in the area, with gorgeous views of sunset looking over simpson bay. Food is affordable and delicious, I once saw G-Love play here on the beach, it was unreal. Overall good people, family friendly full of seats, bonfires and fun- a good stop for drink before you go out or a good place to spend the rest of the night- Love it and hit it up every time i'm in SXM.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finleyville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fireball”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We visited the Buccaneer restaurant only for the Sunday night fireballs on the beach. I very relaxing atmosphere to sit on the beach and watch these enormous fireballs glow against the horizon and listen to music. Some even got up to dance on the beach. Service was slow for the food and it wasn't overly crowded. My companions said the burgers were some of the best they've had on the island. For me, not much to offer a vegetarian but one veggie burger, which was dry and a house salad. They could offer more choices for vegans. Drinks are priced reasonably and no extra fee for using the beach chairs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Channell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccaneer Beach Bar also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Buccaneer Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing