We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian food with service to match” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IZI Ristorante Italiano

IZI Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #9 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Regina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Italian food with service to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We went here tonight on our last night on the Island this trip and wish we had went there on our first night so that we could have gone here more than once. We had an appetizer that was the special of the day to share. It was a pastry with Lobster and sauce that was to die for..they even were thoughtful enough to split it and bring it on two plates!

First to the table was a bread and crackers dish that came with crushed olives and oil for the bread and crackers. Delicious!

We both choose the same main and it was a veal dish with Gnocchi in a home made sauce, The veal was huge and the Gnocchi was well cooked and delicious. After dinner the waitress asked us if we wanted a free after dinner drink.....yes please!

The timing of how the food arrived and the polite and smiling service made this meal a great time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    223
    72
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Pretty good food, excellent service and reasonable prices. You can't go wrong with the pasta, since there are so many combinations to choose from. The restaurant is beautiful and the staff are very attentive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
258 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We ate at IZI last year several times and returned during our visit to St Maarten this month. We are always happy to find the owner present. The staff is friendly, efficient and knowledgable of the menu. The chef is amenable to special requests and the dishes always meet our expectations. We love this place and plan to return several times during our stay.

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The pasta is fantastic! The atmosphere is modern and has these waterfall windows that enhance its appeal! It is on a busy street and they definitely make you forget that there's no view! We go back every time we are on Saint Maarten!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Buonissimo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I am old school Italian from Brooklyn so when I travel....I usually prefer to try something other then pasta. Well one night, my boyfriend was in the mood and we came across IZI. the owner greeted us at the door and was friendly. I began to converse with him in Italian. He was from Bergamo near Milan. The interior decor is simple but so elegant. My boyfriend was impressed with the menu and all the pasta choices. He had the cheese tortellini with mushroom sauce. I wasn't so hungry so went with a mozzarella and tomatoes.....all of the food was so fresh and delicious! The service is fantastic and I am looking forward to returning on an empty stomach so I can indulge in the meat and pasta dishes. They all looked so delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenAdriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IZI Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to IZI Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing