We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non pretentious but with the right to be.”

IZI Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #7 of 115 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Non pretentious but with the right to be.”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This excellent italian restaurant is not located in Grand Case where the top names are. It is close to the island´s airport and the movie house but the quality of the food is outstanding, the staff is nicely dressed, the manager Mr Ferrando is proud of his job and is always supervising of the service details! Results: a very pleasant place to go, eat and moreover a place to come back with confidence. The wine list is good enough if you like italian wines. The different presentations of italian pasta, even with no gluten or egg pasta are available, many choices of italian salsa and other dishes. A fine tepenade with crackers instead of the basket of bread is a singular detail. We can say that IZI Restaurant is also a highly recomended place if your or a good friend are planing to go to St Maarten.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    236
    77
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Italian on the island”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The food is fantastic, service is fantastic and atmosphere is wonderful. Davide, the owner of La Gondola for many years, started this restaurant and has made another smashing success for himself and his coworkers and loyal patrons. All my clients ask me where to go for great food. After 32 years of being on island, I am the go to person for my clients and friends!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal and service, a must!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Best italian food we had, soo good that we went back on our las evening. Dino, the owner is super nice as well as Lily and all the staff, they even recognized us when we came back the second time.
The food was delicious and the wine served at the right temperature which shows what real pros they are since all the other restaurants served their wine too warm. Dino even made us our favorite cocktail rye old fashioned and was happy to deliver it to us himself. Mussels are uge and tastefull, the veal canelloni is awsome and the fettucini alfredo with pollo melted in my mouth. Cant wait to go back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gatecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must Eat here”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have eaten here this year and last year when we visited and it is really great.
The service is very good but what is the best are the choices of pasta dishes.

Name your favorite type of pasta; name your favorite sauce and they will do it for you. Serviced lighting quick - one may worry the food isn't fresh or flavorful - but they would be wrong.
The food is delicious.

Very reasonable priced; great for a family where everyone can pick their pasta.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DCRealtorJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in the Caribbean”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had one meal here and it was a great surprise to find such excellent Italian food. No wonder it is rated the best in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardT870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IZI Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to IZI Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing