We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't know what you're missing”

IZI Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #8 of 113 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wantagh, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You don't know what you're missing”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

On the way back from Philipsburg we were hungry and decided to stop at IZI Pasta Lounge. We had been there before and were impressed with their menu and the quality of their food and service. They did not disappoint us this time either. My appetizer, Grande Antipasto Italiano (Parma ham, spicy salami, provolone cheese, roasted red peppers and eggplants marinated in extra virgin olive oil and garlic) was excellent and my wife’s Seafood Mediterranean "Guazzetto" (mussels, shrimps, calamari, mahi mahi & toasted garlic ciabatta bread slices for as the menu says ‘to soak up the last drop’) was equally delicious. For the main course we both went with pasta…Beef and ham capeletti, mine Carbonara, and my wife went with the Mushroom sauce. Just great.

If you are in the Simpson Bay area or you don’t mind traveling from where ever you are on Sint Maarten/St. Martin, a visit to IZI is a must for a great dinner. The staff is very friendly and attentive and the food is definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CNTravel3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    239
    77
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice change from fish !”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

alot of choices of pasta. Great wait staff ! The waitress was very helpful. I had the vegetarian pasta & it was great and came out very hot, just like I like it. My husband enjoyed his pasta. We ate outside and it was very relaxing. We went late & everything was perfect. Good bread and they give you a buzzer if you want more. I heard mixed reviews so I guess it's hit or miss !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsboo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tinned tomato soup sauce”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate at Izzi during a 2 week visit to St Martin in March. The food was very poor! The tomatoes in the capresse were a cheap tasteless variety, not the lovely fresh vine flavoured tomatoes, or plum ones we are used to. Poor quality mozarella I would question it being Buffalo mozarella. My Pollo Marsala was lacking in a key ingredient the Marsala wine, the Alfredo Sauce on the pasta not even cooked through properly, so it had a floury powdered texture. My husbands tomato sauce on his pasta was definately not freshly made, it tasted just like a tin of tomato soup stirred in with some tasteless sausage. I agree with other reviews that the staff were very fake and the service button gadget just a gimmick. Very, very disappointing after seeing previous excellent reviews. Needless to say we didn't eat there again. Don't bother unless they get their act together and employ a decent Italian Chef.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aoletsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italian like in Italy”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant is deceiving from the outside, but wander in and you will be glad you did. Great food and service, even offer 2 varieties of gluten free pasta, which was cooked perfectly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner here. The food, portions and waitstaff were very good. We will be trying it again when we return to Sint Maarten!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mom_to_jays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IZI Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to IZI Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing