We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Greenhouse

The Greenhouse
Ranked #15 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We only spent 6 days in St. Maarten, but returned to The Greenhouse for dinner more than one night, because we liked it so much. The food was good & the prices (for the island) were reasonable. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    413
    134
    40
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eat with stray dogs.”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The food was "ok" but there's much better for the same cost nearby. The worst aspect is the stray dogs wandering from table to table begging for scraps. My advice is skip it and eat somewhere with higher hygienic standards.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swagmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conanw, Owner at The Greenhouse, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
unfortunately the dogs that occasionally walk into the restaurant are mainly coming from the bar next door or from other people who just let their dogs wander on the beach, the reason that they keep coming back is because of the guests who feed them and our food is awesome, that's why they don't eat at the other restaurants close by. Keep in mind that we tell the guests not to do this and they do any way. I don't see how this would make us unhygienic though, we receive high marks from the health department and unlike many of the restaurants in my immediate vicinity have never been closed down by them, and of course the dogs hang out side, we have strict rules about them cooking anything for the guests or pouring beers for them as well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
191 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Place for food with a view of Simpson Bay”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great place in a great location. This restaurant has outside seating with a great view of Simpson Bay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Smith6064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Restaurant/Bar”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We came here a lot. The food was great. The staff.( Felix and Jessica) were friendly and helpful. Great atmosphere. I would recommend this restaurant/Bar highly. Thank you. xx

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Athiestdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Give It A Miss !!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Although most food we had was very average this was terrible - burger king would have been better and a fraction of the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldExplorer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing