We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food; nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Greenhouse

The Greenhouse
Ranked #15 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food; nice setting”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Good food with varied menu. Had a unique & yummy goat cheese salad. Staff very friendly & accommodating. Nice location but parking is a challenge (as most places in St. Maarten).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank msf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    413
    134
    40
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great service and food - we love Harry!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This restaurant is right next to The Atrium where we stayed. At first, we chose this because of location and ended up going back over and over because everything we tried on the menu was delicious and of good value, plus we always sat in Harry's section and he was a joy! Also, currently they have a special on Wednesdays for their Bang Bang Shrimp and as another reviewer put it - Yum Yum! The fish tacos were great, the Mahi was delicious. The only food item were weren't wowed with was the Caribbean Lobster. I don't think it is of great value but we've learned we like Maine Lobster better anyway. Don't be surprised if you see a dog wandering around. Currently, Lucky (as they call him) owns the beach in front of the restaurant and is a regular:) We loved it since we were missing our own furry friend back home. Also important to note - the only thing he turned down was the Caribbean Lobster, so it wasn't just us humans that thought it was overrated:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RFox68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Drink Specials at Great Prices!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Mid-week, The Greenhouse offers great food and drink specials. For example, 2 for the price of 1 - however, you have to order both drinks at the same time and both will be brought to you at the same time. If you want to get your drink on, this is the place to be. The Greenhouse also offers free WiFi to its customers, so sit back, enjoy your food and drink and check and reply to messages.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Philipsburg Greenhouse trumps Simpson Bay”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Although both restaurants on the island share the same menu,there is a difference. The service here is slow and inconsistent. I was sooooo disappointed. We had eaten at the Philipsburg location the week prior and had a waiter named Martin who was fantastic. The food was great and we were over the moon. So much so, that we had to eat at Greenhouse one more time before we left. Since we were staying at Pelican, we decided to eat at the Simpson Bay location.

It was a Sunday, and it was very slow with few customers. Only two people working the floor- one was a Manager, the other a waitress in training. The service and food were just not good. Try the Philipsburg location and try to get the waiter named Martin. He has been there a long time and is excellent at his job!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8172011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This restaurant was conveniently located near the Flamingo Beach Resort where we were staying so we gave it a try. Wow! We had a great meal - and ended up eating dinner there four nights during our twelve night stay. Each time we ordered something different off the menu and each time it was delicious. We talked with several other vacationers during our stay who either had gone there too or gone on our recommendation and they also had great things to say about their meals. We highly recommend the BangBang Shrimp appetizer (Wednesday special for only $6).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pizzalover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing