We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant in St. Maarten”
Review of Bon Appetit

Bon Appetit
Ranked #20 of 112 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bon Appetit is a beautiful little French restaurant located in the heart of Pelican Key in the Simpson Bay Resort. Located directly across the street from the Hollywood Casino parking lot and The Red Piano. Opened in December 2009 serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner Bon Appetit offers a wide variety of classic American breakfasts in the morning, gourmet sandwiches at lunch, and classic French Dishes and vibrant daily specials in the evening. The restaurant opens daily at 7 AM with fresh pastries, breakfasts, and coffees for dine in or takeaway. Breakfast is available daily until 2 PM. After a morning on the beach get out of the sun and come in for a light lunch and a refreshing cocktail. As the sun sets Bon Appetit is just getting started with live entertainment starting nightly at 6:30 PM featuring a wide variety of entertainers playing a great variety of songs perfect to complete the atmosphere for a fantastic dining experience. Every evening Bon Appetit offers a list of fresh specials from classic French dishes to Caribbean classics with a French twist. To compliment the food, Bon Appetit also offers a superb wine list boasting a selection of wines from all over the world. For the cocktail drinker Bon Appetit also features a fantastic specialty cocktail list. The cocktail list has many classic drinks as well as great house specialties like our Kettle One Mango Martini and our House signature French Champagne Martini. Come in and enjoy our fantastic food, entertainment, service, and ambiance right on your doorstep. Bon Appetit is open from 7 AM daily until at least 10:30 PM during the week and 11 PM on weekends.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in St. Maarten”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the Simpson Bay Resort in St. Maarten and ate dinner at the Bon Appetit Restaurant. The dinner was excellent, the price was very reasonable, and the ambiance/setting was great. We would definately eat there again and would highly recommend this restuarant to others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wpgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    272
    98
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Breakfast - Burnt pancakes and french toast terrible”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have eaten here for the past three years - always a wonderful breakfast. Their view is of the street and parking lots however always had a good meal.
Went last week very excited to have great coffee, service and "french" breakfast.
Coffee - excellent
I ordered the french toast - it was batter dipped regular bread similar to "wonder bread". My husband ordered pancakes.
The three tiny $10 pancakes were burnt. Not over-cooked. BLACK on one side. When I asked the waiter about the three slices of soggy regular bread he carried as french toast he said "oh were you expecting batter dipped french bread? - we don't make it that way" although that is how it's described on the menu. I even had him grab the menu and look at it.
He knew I was disappointed and couldn't believe the burnt pieces on my husbands plate - he continued to deliver the meal and walked away.
If you want a good breakfast skip this place and walk to Zee Best Bakery a short walk behind the bank.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoyingourchildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
343 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Great breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This nice little cafe on the main street has great brakfasts and lunchs, plus awesome bakery items. We go there every year and it's always wonderful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank blubs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I could not agree less with a recent review that called the cooking tired and uninspired. My wife and I ate there three times, once with another couple, and had excellent meals every time. The mussels in white wine and garlic were superb and also plentiful. The red snapper meuniere was as good as I have ever had and that includes three trips to France spending over a month eating out. The beef carpaccio was excellent as were the scallops. My wife tried several of the nightly specials and was quite pleased. The wine list had a range of prices and the lower end wines that I tried were all quite good.
The setting outside was pleasant, very reminiscent of a parisian cafe or brasserie. There was entertainment every night including an excellent guitarist. Finally, I noticed that not only was the place full every night, but many of the customers appeared to be regulars whom the staff knew well. That generally bodes well for any eatery.
I would highly recommend Bon Appetit for a truly enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiltonHeadWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This restaurant was directly across the street from our resort (Flamingo Bay) and ended up being a great find! We ate there on a couple of occasions and everything we tried was very good. The pizzas are fabulous - thin crust with delicious toppings; their mussels in wine are to die for! Great service and good value.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank livetotravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Appetit also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Bon Appetit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing