We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By pass Izi's. and go to Fusion”
Review of Fusion Restaurant - CLOSED

Fusion Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: While St. Maarten/ St. Martin French, Creole, Italian, Japanese, Thai, Chinese, Indian, and other restaurants share with you their vertical specialties, at Fusion we take the best flavors from a world of cherished ingredients to bring you a spectrum of flavors like nothing you've ever experienced in a single restaurant.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“By pass Izi's. and go to Fusion”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great food. Nice ambience. Service was excellent. Had a very enjoyable meal at Fusion.
Fusion gets our vote!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    27
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Fusion Get's My Vote!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been to St. Maarten at least six times in past ten years. Have been to all the popular restaurants, such as Chesterfield's and Antoines, which are both very good. Our last nite of a ten day stay we decided to try Fusion. Lovely decor inside, service was excellent and the food to die for. It was the only restaurant on the island that was able to serve a Mojito, besides Lotterie Farm, and what a mojito. Fresh raspberries and mint, unlike across the street at Jimbo's, where while you wait 1 1/2 hours for your food to appear you can sip on drinks that are like tastless snow cones, all whipped ice and nothing else.
Fusion's tempura shrimp and tuna/mango appetizers were pure heaven. We all had different fishes dishes, all served in wonderful sauces. For dessert, creme brulle and apple tart were excellent. I wish we had found Fusion earlier, as I would have ate their several nites. Don't be afraid to go if you think you don't like Thai. If you want your meals prepared with fresh ingredients by a talented chef who trained at Johnson and Wales Culinary Institute in Rhode Island, who took the time to come out and greet us, this is your place. No other restaurant like it on the Dutch side.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edelweiss500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“ANOTHER MUST DO RESTAURANT---FUSION”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went back to Fusion last night...This restaurant uniquely prepares all it's meals with a variety of sauces, that are to die for!!! I had a strip steak with a peppercorn sauce that was sooooooooo delicious. My wife ordered a whole snapper, with a spicy creole sauce. Both, made to perfection. The biggest surprise last night was the lobster/shrimp bisque that I ordered for an appetizer. Hands down, this bisque was THE BEST bisque I have ever eaten. It even had a huge shrimp, and a few chunks of lobster floating on the top. Did I mention how good it was??? MMMM MMMMM MMMMM. This beautiful restaurant offers great food, and a very attentive wait staff. The beautiful décor, just adds to this wonderful experience. Parking is easy, since it is in a ''strip mall'' location.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Party of ten”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Ate here last night. Six children (age 7 thru 14), four adults. Really enjoyed it. Very friendly and accommodating to the size of our group, wait staff made it fun for the kids. I had crab cakes and a curry red snapper. Both were terrific. I read another review from someone who did not enjoy the crab cakes...our experience was much different. Loved them. My wife had a shrimp and scallop in lobster sauce. Again, terrific. The other couple raved about the salad and house made dressing. The edamame was below average. They allowed our children to split steaks amd they were happy with them. Overall, we certainly liked it well enough to return, but with only nine days to work with, we try to not repeat resaurants. Oh, by the way, the bill for ten of us was 260us tip included, which was cheaper than our lunch on Pinel island! Still expensive, but not outlandish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zachary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“$7 for a bottle of water”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Food was OK, but nothing special, despite a promising menu. The crab cakes were gummy, the grilled snapper was tasteless. Nice ambience inside,although the outside view is over a parking lot. Good service, but just a disappointing eating experience. The charge for a bottle of water was excessive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusion Restaurant also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing