We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUCK, YUCK! NO, NO....RUN AWAY!”
Review of Liberty Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Liberty Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Simpson Bay B&B and Inns
canadian
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“YUCK, YUCK! NO, NO....RUN AWAY!”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Let me get right to the point:

* Hallway and room smelled of cigarette smoke and worse yet...sewer. Yes, the sewer had been pumped out that very day! And No, the smell did not go away!
* Very unclean room. Bathrooms had open drain ways, tiles missing, mold and mildew and very old.
* No hot water! Almost No water pressure. Could not take shower.
* One towel, one facecloth and they were very dirty and threadbare. One had blood stain and had hair in it.
* No soap, not even in the kitchen but there was hand sanitizer.
* No hair dryer. No bath mat. Shower curtain stained with mold and mildew.
* Kitchen area very bad shape. Door fell on foot, coffee pot did not work, microwave did not work, no towels, two stove burners encrusted with food and rust. Cast off cutlery, glasses, dishes and cooking utensils.
* Bedside tables falling apart and only one night light working... sorta.
* Beds; thin and uncomfortable. Threadbare linens and old pillows. One per bed.
* No WI FI.
* No "free wine or water"...Cost $10. & $2. (signed posted on fridge...including cost of condoms)
* RESTAURANT UNDER CONSTRUCTION! Sunday morning drilling and banging @7:00 am!
* No parking. Park at own risk across street.
* Party beach. Not family beach. Dirty and not the best St Maarten has to offer.
Nothing good to say about this place. Nada one!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank narpa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Liberty Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
We remember you and your parents well. You were in need of a place to stay for only one night at the end of your vacation and we were glad we could help out. Unfortunately, we were unable to make you happy during your brief time with us because although we provide free WI/FI in every condo, we do not provide computers. We provide a complimentary bottle of wine to every condo, but not to every person. The optional shopping list in each unit is for the convenience of our guests for additional needs, not for what has already been provided as complimentary. Our condos are non-smoking and the marking on the towels are simply a stamp from the laundry service for sorting purposes. Regarding the construction in the front of the property, we are so proud to now have a fabulous bakery for our guests to enjoy! We believe we have said enough and an educated consumer reading your review can draw their own conclusions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
37
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed in Room 4 for one night as needed to be close to the airport for a next morning flight to Saba. Came in late and Susan and Diane had our key in mail box waiting. Water and wine cooled in refrig. Next morning they opened early so we could pay and check out early. Room was clean and comfy w/ full kitchen (we didn't use as no time). Location was great for restaurants. Bar across the street had kareokee the night we arrived. Our room was very quiet but not on the street side. Cab ride to and from airport $10 for 2.

Only negative was the shower. Hand held shower head leaked, water flow very low. More like taking a sponge bath than a shower.

I would certainly stay at Liberty Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monicajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberling City MO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed 2 nights before flying out of the airport. Restaurants are all walkable, grocery 1 block walk, and Simpson Bay beach with beautiful sand is right across the street. Not a crowded beach and I had it all to myself for a while! Susan and Diane will help you with any questions on the area. We had a very comfortable studio room decorated with antiques, kitchen, a deck and great view of the Simpson Lagoon's beautiful yachts. Some are 2 bedrm, with yacht basin view or other rooms look across the road to the beach and the sunset. Renovation going on to add a lovely bakery in front, but did not interfere with the room accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Was not impressed when i came out of the cab,because the front area is under going repairs,but after going to the reception area and meeting Susan,everything changed. I was warmly welcomed and greeted with a bottle of wine. My room was spacious and clean with a lovely view from the balcony of the ocean. I had a very good night's sleep, the bed was very comfortable. My taxi arrangement was made by Susan when i arrived for airport the next morning. My taxi was right on time and he came to my door to meet me.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reginabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I booked the Liberty Inn as I needed to be close by the yacht club to meet a friend. First impressions were very poor, there is a lot of building work going on at the front of the in and the noise did wake us up with drilling just after 7am! The room was huge and clean with the exception of lots of ants around the sink when you wash the dishes.

Did not particularly like the bed or the feel of the bedding and the room is quite old fashioned in its style. I was expecting a B&B but this is really just a serviced room so missed out on the breakfast element.

i have got to say that you have two natural hosts in Susan and Diane who are very pleasant and are really working hard on doing a great business. Would I go back? Yes but I would wait until the bakery is built at the front of the property and that the unsightly fairground ride is removed from the other side of the property. I think that this little Inn has a great future and many years of welcoming back guests.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul-Cup-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We arrived a day earlier than we were supposed to, and Susan and Diane were soo helpful in finding us a place to crash for the night. They even drove us over to the hotel we would be staying in, and recommended some restaurants in the area. We always felt at home. In addition, they upgraded our room for free, (we ended up staying in room #2), which had a wonderful view over the lagoon and into the marina. Beautiful room, with antique furnishings, complete with kitchen and fridge. Everything was kept in beautiful condition.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I spent a week staying at the Libberty Inn, and I was always comfortable there. My room was clean, comfortable, and big, also has wifi in the building.
The location was great, right opposite the beach, and on the main road walking distance to lots of resturants and bars.
I would certainly stay there again if the opportunity comes along.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdvmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Simpson Bay
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Inn

Property: Liberty Inn
Address: 76 Welfare Road, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liberty Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short ride from the airport, we have it all! Beautifully furnished and fully equipped condos for long-term, short-term or just one night stays! We are home to the famous French restaurant, The Taste Factory! Their pastries, croissants, salads, sandwiches and entrees are unsurpassed anywhere in the Caribbean! We also have dinghy tie up from our own marina where you can view some of the most magnificent mega yachts in the world!! Just across from us is a fabulous beach where you can swim all day and enjoy the live entertainment at night! Nearby are casinos, fitness centers, nightclubs, and other fine restaurants. You don't even need to rent a car because everything is within walking distance. Come, relax and enjoy all that the Caribbean has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Liberty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Simpson Bay
Liberty Inn St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing