We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Liberty Inn is perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liberty Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Simpson Bay B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Liberty Inn is perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Susan and Diane Yukon are fabulous hosts. They are as kind and welcoming as they are thoughtful and interesting. We spent hours gabbing with them and just getting to know them -- they are a touch of New England in the middle of the Caribbean. Their expertise in area restaurants and other places to visit is unsurpassed. The Inn is lovely and thoughtfully appointed in every way. If you are looking for location, this is the place to be, and not only because it is adjacent to the pastry shop! And the use of the private dinghy dock was the best in a city overrun with dinghies. Thank you Susan and Diane.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stellazina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
37
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were "stranded" in St Matrin an extra 3 days courtesy of the Blizzard in the Northeast last week. All rooms on the island were booked. Finally we found The Liberty Inn. When we arrived it was such a pleasure to be greeted by the nicest folks you can imagine. We were a bit stressed to say the least, and when we met Susan and Diane and they were so welcoming and offered us a glass of wine I almost cried! What we were lucky enough to experience was an immaculately clean room, a location within walking distance to some of the best restaurants on the Island, and the most welcoming hosts you can imagine. We really enjoyed our stay there, and will be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This has been our fourth time to St. Maarten, and fourth time to Liberty Inn. Susan and Diane never disappoint us. They are always, friendlly, helpful with suggestions of special places to see and just plain lots of fun. Always one of our favorite places to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esormot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Five women 48 to 63 rented an apartment at the Liberty Inn for seven days...located on the dutch side with the most fabulous pastry shop right in front...it is safe and clean and the owners Diane and Susan bend over backwards to accommodate...welcoming bottle(s) of wine (as one of the girls liked white wine while the rest of us wanted red)...I made a list of "please, may I have's" which Susan (who could do stand up) referred to as my "list of demands"...I'm still laughing...they made sure we had everything requested and then some...it is a warm relaxed place to stay...lots of hot water...five women back to back showering and never ran out...having coffee every morning overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon and the Blue Heron and Egrets just hanging out...this is my second visit and won't be my last...they just keep getting better!!!! No matter what your needs may be Susan and Diane will do their best to make it happen...thanks again and p.s. (love you guys!)

Room Tip: Rented a two bedroom with small kitchen and spacious bath...one bedroom with queen bed and the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamc3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Extremely helpful & friendly. We urgently needed 2 rooms at very short notice which they managed to help us out with. Clean, comfortable, friendly & secure. Great location & great service. Thank you for making it so easy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were only at the Liberty Inn for one night during a layover to another destination. The owner made us feel very welcomed. Our room was large, had a balcony overlooking Simpson Bay, and had a well equipped kitchen. The bakery on the first floor was wonderful.There are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. There is also a great food market close by. This place was perfect for our needs and I would definitely recommend for those that do not need the amenities of a large resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Liberty Inn! It is located centrally on the Dutch side near the Simpson Bay Bridge, has water access to the Lagoon, many restaurants, shopping and Simpson Bay Beach! We think it is the best location on the island. The hotel is owned and operated by Susan and Diane and they are completely friendly and helpful at all times. We felt secure and extremely comfortable, and often sat out on the back patio which overlooks the Lagoon. Our spacious room had free wife, tv, kitchen, A/C and was roomy and clean. We will certainly stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KAGCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turquoise Shell Inn
Turquoise Shell Inn
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Inn

Property: Liberty Inn
Address: 76 Welfare Road, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Liberty Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short ride from the airport, we have it all! Beautifully furnished and fully equipped condos for long-term, short-term or just one night stays! We are home to the famous French restaurant, The Taste Factory! Their pastries, croissants, salads, sandwiches and entrees are unsurpassed anywhere in the Caribbean! We also have dinghy tie up from our own marina where you can view some of the most magnificent mega yachts in the world!! Just across from us is a fabulous beach where you can swim all day and enjoy the live entertainment at night! Nearby are casinos, fitness centers, nightclubs, and other fine restaurants. You don't even need to rent a car because everything is within walking distance. Come, relax and enjoy all that the Caribbean has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Liberty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Simpson Bay
Liberty Inn St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing