We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great place to stay”
Review of Liberty Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liberty Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Simpson Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Liberty Inn on an extended business trip of two months, and I cannot say enough good things about this experience.

The owners live on site, and Susan and Diane are caring, conscientious hosts. They also have a collective 15 years of experience on the island, and are excellent resources for information and suggestions regarding both the Simpson Bay area and the entire island in general. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and secure. The air conditioning works great and the hot water is HOT—no wimpy showers here!

The inn is situated directly on Simpson Bay Lagoon. The property itself features a gourmet French bakery/coffee shop at the front, and a boat rental/water shuttle service at the rear. The boat rental is a fun diversion for a day or an afternoon; the boats are high-quality Boston Whalers of varying sizes, and this makes for a great sightseeing and pleasure trip option.

The water shuttle is a free service to Port de Plaisance across the lagoon, which is home to the Princess Casino, a spa/country club, and a number of really good restaurants, each of which would be worth the trip by itself. This three-minute boat ride—have I mentioned that it’s free?—is an unbeatable alternative to a lengthy car trip, which can be anywhere from 10 minutes to an hour each way, depending on traffic and the state of the road construction at any given time.

The location of the inn is also a huge plus. It’s less than 10 minutes from the airport, and there must be 20 worthwhile restaurants within a five-minute walk from the doorstep of the Liberty Inn. There is also a huge, American-style grocery store almost directly across the street—perfect for stocking the full-size fridge and kitchenette in the room.

All in all, the room, hosts, location, and amenities simply cannot be beat. I will definitely return to the Liberty Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 80 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

Had a wonderful time cant say enough good things about those two lovely ladies.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavyG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed in St. Martin for 4 nights at the Liberty Inn. The innkeepers, Susan & Diane could not have been more hospitable and charming. A comfortable, casual atmosphere with a great view. We hope to do it again--many times!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank esormot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Comfortable place right overlooking the bay and across the street from a beach. Many restaurants and a supermarket within easy walking distance. New bed was comfortable. Boat rentals available from owners, who were gracious and helpful. Room decor was eclectic, but stylish. Kitchen in the studio apartment was fully furnished. Overall, a very nice place to stay for an extended period. Construction of a restaurant was in progress between the hotel and the street, making for some noise and some difficulty in finding the place; but it should be completed shortly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank retiredtraveler142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Susan and Diane took the stress out of our vacation. My husband and I were caught in the middle of of the Pelican Resort mess. We were left " homeless" in the middle of our vacation. I called Liberty Inn spoke to Susan she had one room left and reassured me that everything would be fine. We were able to check in early and enjoy the whole day. We rented a 11ft Boston whaler boat for trip around the lagoon ( 1/2 price when staying at Liberty Inn!) Our room was spacious and very clean. The day we left we had lunch on the dock overlooking the lagoon and Susan brought us a bottle of wine! Susan and Diane just seem to understand what vacations are about and made sure we enjoyed ours. We will defiantly be back!!!! Thanks for everything!!!! Dana and Tracy

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sxm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We recently stayed at the Liberty Inn in Simpson Bay. The owners Susan and Diane made us feel very welcomed from the momet we arrived. We were greeted with a cold drinks. The Inn is perfectly situated on the main avenue . We were able to access a brand new market accross the road for food and drinks to have in our kitchenette in our room. The Inn is situated in a perfect location where we were able to get the local buses to acces Maho and Philipsburg . By the time viewers read this, a new French pasterie shop "Sarafina's " will be opened attached to the Inn where one will be able to have some of the best pasteries on the island. This Inn is also perfectly located by some of the best restaurants on the island.

The Inn is located right on the lagoon where you can view the beautiful multi million dollar yachts and acrcoss the road from the Simpson Bay beach. The owners also operate " Turtle Tours Boat Rentals " directly from the Inn where you can rent a boat on your own and guide yourself through the lagoon.

Alex and Diane
Ottawa,Canada

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Let me get right to the point:

* Hallway and room smelled of cigarette smoke and worse yet...sewer. Yes, the sewer had been pumped out that very day! And No, the smell did not go away!
* Very unclean room. Bathrooms had open drain ways, tiles missing, mold and mildew and very old.
* No hot water! Almost No water pressure. Could not take shower.
* One towel, one facecloth and they were very dirty and threadbare. One had blood stain and had hair in it.
* No soap, not even in the kitchen but there was hand sanitizer.
* No hair dryer. No bath mat. Shower curtain stained with mold and mildew.
* Kitchen area very bad shape. Door fell on foot, coffee pot did not work, microwave did not work, no towels, two stove burners encrusted with food and rust. Cast off cutlery, glasses, dishes and cooking utensils.
* Bedside tables falling apart and only one night light working... sorta.
* Beds; thin and uncomfortable. Threadbare linens and old pillows. One per bed.
* No WI FI.
* No "free wine or water"...Cost $10. & $2. (signed posted on fridge...including cost of condoms)
* RESTAURANT UNDER CONSTRUCTION! Sunday morning drilling and banging @7:00 am!
* No parking. Park at own risk across street.
* Party beach. Not family beach. Dirty and not the best St Maarten has to offer.
Nothing good to say about this place. Nada one!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank narpa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 23, 2011

We remember you and your parents well. You were in need of a place to stay for only one night at the end of your vacation and we were glad we could help out. Unfortunately, we were unable to make you happy during your brief time with us because although we provide free WI/FI in every condo, we do not provide computers. We provide a complimentary bottle of wine to every condo, but not to every person. The optional shopping list in each unit is for the convenience of our guests for additional needs, not for what has already been provided as complimentary. Our condos are non-smoking and the marking on the towels are simply a stamp from the laundry service for sorting purposes. Regarding the construction in the front of the property, we are so proud to now have a fabulous bakery for our guests to enjoy! We believe we have said enough and an educated consumer reading your review can draw their own conclusions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Simpson Bay hotels
0 mi away
Simpson Bay Suites
Simpson Bay Suites
#10 of 13 in Simpson Bay
37 reviews
0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
Baker's Suites
Baker's Suites
#5 of 13 in Simpson Bay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
0 mi away
Commodore Suites
Commodore Suites
#4 of 13 in Simpson Bay
38 reviews
0 mi away
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Simpson Bay
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Inn

Address: 76 Welfare Road, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $99 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Liberty Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short ride from the airport, we have it all! Beautifully furnished and fully equipped condos for long-term, short-term or just one night stays! We are home to the famous French restaurant, The Taste Factory! Their pastries, croissants, salads, sandwiches and entrees are unsurpassed anywhere in the Caribbean! We also have dinghy tie up from our own marina where you can view some of the most magnificent mega yachts in the world!! Just across from us is a fabulous beach where you can swim all day and enjoy the live entertainment at night! Nearby are casinos, fitness centers, nightclubs, and other fine restaurants. You don't even need to rent a car because everything is within walking distance. Come, relax and enjoy all that the Caribbean has to offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Liberty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Simpson Bay
Liberty Inn St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing