We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excelent dive master team” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Explorers Dive Center

Ocean Explorers Dive Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.00*
and up
Discover Scuba Diving in Simpson Bay
Ranked #2 of 39 Tours in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Ocean Explorers we believe that who you dive with is as important as the diving itself… Small groups, personalized attention and a relaxed atmosphere are what we offer on a daily basis. From outstanding reefs to fantastic wrecks, our waters are warm and inviting and the marine life abundant and friendly. Our Caribbean dive shop is located under the waving palms by this tranquil Kim Sha beach on the beautiful Caribbean island St. Maarten.
Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excelent dive master team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

last july i dive with a good team ( denny,jonathan,hanna,bruno,alvaro,jeremi) they were so attentions with any help you need
the owners jeff and lu are also great persons the spots that jeff show to us were amazing
that my second dive with ocean explorer at simpson bay st maarten and i intend to come back next year

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dive2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    25
    7
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best diving on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great dive shop. They are the most attentive outfit we've ever gone diving with. They prepare your gear, move it to the boat, and are very attentive during the actual dive. Jef is also a great photographer. We were diving with a former dive master who lives in St. Maarten who said that Ocean Explorers is the ONLY dive shop she will dive with on the island- that's a huge vote of confidence. My 15 year old son got certified through this center, and he had such a great experience that he can't wait to dive again. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hbonadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
“Exploring the ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great experience! The dives were awesome, and being the first time in the ocean scuba diving, it was unreal to see all the amazing things you only saw in movies, up close and personal. I got my open water certification through this dive shop and the instructors were awesome. They made me feel so at ease in the water and really helped you through the skills. Danny and Jeremy were awesome teachers and were really cool to hang out with. The owners were really fun and easy going. The shark dive they took us on was incredible. Being really nervous diving with sharks, it was the coolest thing to see them up close and personal with Jef feeding them and playing with them. Even though we were swimming with sharks I felt very safe and never felt like I was in danger at all. If you want to experience the ocean and what it has to offer, like the many different creatures, its beauty and even some ship wrecks, I highly recommend this dive shop as your choice. They make you feel at home and take you on an experience of a life time!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great people, very interesting dives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The people there were great, all of them very nice. The dive sites were all interesting and I would highly recommend them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Baseball313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I originally signed up for 5 dives, but I had so much fun and learned so much from Jef that I ended up diving every day of my one week vacation with them. Luciana and Jef provide very friendly, attentive service to everyone who dives with them. If our weight belts were a little too heavy or light, they noticed and made quick adjustments during the dive. Although Jef makes many dives every week, his enthusiasm for showing us interesting underwater features that we would otherwise miss made it seem as if he was having just as fun as we were. The shark dive is not to be missed! It is one of the best dive experiences I have ever had. I was impressed that on many of my dives were older divers who had been all over the world diving, and that out of the several dive shops on St Maarten, they chose Ocean Explorers and were very happy with their experience. This says a lot for the professionalism of Ocean Explorers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Explorers Dive Center also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Ocean Explorers Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing