We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,710 results
Traveler rating
689
566
270
117
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
689
566
270
117
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on site time share full kitchen shuttle service beach bar murphy bed aqua mania grocery store la patrona living room sunset cruise water activities st maarten one bedroom unit ocean view rented a car nice beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
478 - 483 of 1,710 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Together with family members I enjoyed our stay tremendously at Sympson Bay Resort in St. Maarten. And so did the others.
The breath taking view of the blue sea, pool, beautiful flowers along the walking path and palm trees stole our hearts while we relaxed on the porch. Even from inside the sitting room, kitchen and bedrooms we enjoyed the enchanting view of the flowers and blue sea. The service was excellent. It is my 3rd time at this resort and I will definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Nadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Dear Nadine,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We want you to know how much we enjoy serving you, every guest we welcome is a family member for us. Of course we appreciate your visit, but we also appreciate the positive lift we get from your comments. We feel truly honoured to be part of your vacation on recent trip to St. Maarten. Our service is our best quality and we are glad that you could experience it.
Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

The location of the resort is great, with many restaurants within walking distance. The food and happy hours are great! The facilities are overall great! The beach is beautiful with awesome service for food, drink, beach chairs, towels, The events the resort have planned out for the week are good and were fun to attend. The room was very nice as well.

Room tip: Higher level room, doesn't have to be a waterfront but still had a beautiful view of the ocean on 3 sides.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Dear Jen,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. It has been a pleasure serving you. We take pride in giving priority to their members and guests and looking after their needs. Quality and customer service are what distinguish us. We always strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and meet their requirements and we feel very happy that you could experience it.
Thank you again for choosing us. Looking forward to having you as one of our valued guests for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Simpson Bay Resort was very clean and well maintained. All personnel were extremely personable and willing to point us in the direction we were looking for whether it be food recommendations, drinks, or things to do.

You MUST visit Natashia at the villas pool bar. She is a true foodie and knows the best food spots. Everything we tried was good but her recommendations were GREAT. The resort is walking distance to many bars and restaurants which made this ideal to walk off our indulgences.

Do not rent a car from Jonas, do yourself a favor and use a reputable company. It will not be much different if any at all and you will have sense of security of an operable vehicle that is well maintained and clean. Jonas did provide a vehicle but it was dirty and very old.

We highly recommend getting a rental and getting out to explore, you will not regret it. Also, do not be afraid to ask for your check when done eating as it will not be brought unless you specifically ask.

Room tip: Get a rental to explore and visit Natashia for drinks and advice on great food, bring her M&M's!
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jpartschjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. I would like to thank you for staying with us at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina. We know that you have many choices when traveling and your trust is very much appreciated. We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that our resort and staff met your expectations specially Natashia.
In order to continually improve upon our facilities and services, we rely heavily on feedback from our guests and for that reason we really appreciate your comments.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We had a Jr suite overlooking the large pool. It was nicely decorated and comfortable beds. When we arrived we found out that our room that we secured online from VRBO would be overlooking a pool that was up very far on the property and the pool was under re-construction, So we could be moved to a different room if we went to a 90 minute TS presentation and we could have a room that would over look a parking lot. We are on the last 3 days of our vacation and we get that wonderful upgrade. Not. The general manager intervened after us telling the TS guy that we wouldn't do that 90 minutes with him and the GM took us into his office and found us a wonderful extremely reasonable upgrade we could pay for. It did not have a kitchen but with 3 days to go I really was not in the mood to cook anyway. We got a JR suite and it had 2 full size beds, a frig, microwave and coffee pot. Perfect! It overlooked the pool and the ocean. The large pool below was chemically imbalanced for all 3 days and roped off but the other pool was fine. The property is very large and the staff is very nice. Kudos to GM Marcel Javios. If it weren't for him I would be writing a not so nice review. The smoke-free Red Piano is a nice place to go at night, Not on Mondays though.

Room tip: Find out where the room is and check it out on a property a map.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Dear Judy,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community and thank you for giving Simpson Bay Resort & Marina the opportunity to be your chosen resort for your recent trip to St. Maarten.
We are happy that you were pleased with the service and our accommodations. We appreciate your comments about our resort and our general manager, insofar as that is the best means that we have for learning first hand if the representations of quality that are made to us are accurate.
We will look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will afford us the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

I have been a owner here for over 18 years and purchased in the marina when it first was built .

Over the last four years they have been aggressively selling the property and The quality has gone down hill despite the renovation .

The result is the resort wanting to fill rooms, and they will rent units out at any price .

Over the last 3 visits, there has been parties at the resort until 3AM in the morning and overcrowding at the pool with several people who are natives.

Obviously the resort is open to anybody who can rent a room but we paid over $17,000 for our unit .

Last week there was an islander with her two-year-old naked in the pool and the resort staff did little to correct the situation.

Needless to say within a day the entire pool turned green and it had to be closed down for several days.

I did not pay $17,000 to swim in somebody's feces.

We will not be going back to this resort again and will be selling our unit

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank what t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort, Marina & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We feel sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations during your last trips to St.Maarten. We have worked for many years and it has always been our primary goal to provide excellent service to the guests who stay with us. We are sorry that the accommodations did not live up to those goals for you. We will make every effort to address your comments and find different ideas to surprise you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews