We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steep hills and lots of walking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Loimaa, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“steep hills and lots of walking”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Big area with lots of walking up and down. Not for lazyass. Many pools and bars around the area. Stayed during Heineken Regatta and the sundaynight party was held right next to resort area on simpson bay. Great party =)

Free wifi was little bit disappointing but on vacation thats not so important afterall.

Front desk was helpful.

No complaints.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stiimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    442
    214
    88
    51
See reviews for
306
538
56
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. Close to beach, marina, and easy walk to shops and casino. It is also a short drive to the airport. We stayed in a new unit in a C building overlooking the marina. The unit was large, clean and had everything we needed. The only thing was that housekeeping entered our room while we were in there but this seems to be a common occurrence throughout the island as it happened to us in our other resort as well. The pools are a little older but they have a swim-up bar and friendly staff. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graceofthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I started staying at this resort back when it was still the Pelican. The Simpson Bay Resort management has tried to put it back on its feet and do some refurbishing. (More about that later.)

Checking in was s-l-o-w. It always has been, I guess it always will be. And this was even though I'd gone to the website and pre-registered.

Once we were in our unit (one-bedroom, C building) we were able to relax and remember why we keep coming back. The view from the balcony isn't as pretty as it was before the Villas were built, but it's still nice. There is an on-site grocery, several restaurants, a casino, Aqua Mania for booking trips, a beach, a choice of lovely pools. It's about a 10-minute drive to the airport (unless the bridge is up!) with rental-car row in between the airport and the resort. Very convenient. It's in the perfect area for easy access to the entire island and everything it has to offer.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Yes, it's a timeshare resort, so you'll be asked to sit through a sales pitch, even if you're already owners. We go every year just to be good sports, and we have lots of laughs.

As for the remodeling - the old decor was very tropical: bright florals, wicker, exactly what you'd expect in a tropical setting. The new decor.... well... I may be in the minority, but it's so dark it makes me feel like I'm in northwest Canada. I was disappointed. Everything is clean and modern, but DARK.

This year we brought along our daughter and son-in-law, who stayed in a studio downstairs from us. It was the 5th time we've brought other family members or friends to share the fun, and none of them have ever been disappointed or had anything negative to say!

Book it, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: A balcony is more private than a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location, comfortable, clean and very welcoming. The staff were very friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. The resort location was excellent -- close to restaurants and a local market. Friends and I stayed in a nice 2 bedroom unit, recently renovated in the D section. Only downside was our view was a bit blocked by The Villas, but not completely. The resort has everything you need on site. I would stay at the resort again, and will certainly visit St. Maarten again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HRLady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the renovated villas for six nights in June. We found Simpson Bay Resort & Marina to be the perfect property for our trip. The location of the resort is convenient for exploring both sides of the island (we loved driving to the French side to check out beaches and restaurants) and the convenience of the grocery store and dining options in Simpson Bay is wonderful. The renovated rooms are clean, practical and modern. The bed was very comfortable and the small kitchen allowed us to enjoy breakfast and a few dinners outside on the patio. The staff was super friendly and helpful and the beach on the property was relaxing and enjoyable. I also loved the lap pool that was located right outside our room. Yes, there was a considerable amout of construction on the property that was loud at times, but we didn't mind. They are building an even better resort. For the price and location this place cant be beat. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kshaffer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week. We upgraded to a suite in the C section which was excellent with a private balcony and view of Simpson Bay. In exchange, we agreed to attend a sales presentation. Our sales rep Charles was excellent. He and his supervisor Joe were not pushy. They were very nice and helpful. We are already members of Hilton's Vacation Club. The location cannot be beat. 10 minute drive from airport. Walking distance to beach, restaurants and shops. 10 minute drive to Philipsburg and 10 minutes to Marigot on the new bridge. Bon Apetite restaurant on the property was great for dinner and breakfast and they have a bakery. The Stone restaurant was okay. We did not go to the Italian or Creole restaurants. Gym was okay but charged $6 per day. Everything you need is on site including car rental, laundry, jewellery store, water sports, 6 pools, several nice tennis court. Dinner cruise and high speed ferry to St. Barts leaves from the resort and are both very good. Ride to St. Barts is very rough however; several people on board got sick. Tip is to sick in the front seat or outside in back where you get fresh air. Our concierge Steve was excellent and all the staff we encountered were great. I would recommend this resort without hesitation. Some of the rooms in the B section are a bit noisy with the renovations going on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MarkKToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Villas at Simpson Bay Marina for 3 nights during our visit to St Maarten. Got a great rate by booking a Vacation Package on Orbitz. I was initially a bit concerned that we wouldn't get a good room because we were arriving at 10:30 pm, so I called ahead. The staff who answered the phone was very friendly and even took noted that we were visiting for our wedding anniversary.

When we arrived they gave us a wonderful room with an ocean view (although all villas rooms have an ocean view). Our room was away from the pool however, which reduced the noise coming from people visiting the pool.

We were elated to find a very thoughtful note and welcome gift waiting for us in our room. This was a wonderful way to start of our vacation in St Maarten!

The location of the hotel is a tremendous selling point as it is right next to the beach and an easy walk to restaurants and cafes. In fact, it is right across the street from SO French, which I understand to be a very well regarding french restaurant.

The parking is very easy and free. We we often able to park right in front of our room, which was on the 3rd floor, the same level as the parking.

Our room came with a refrigerator, which was great for keeping cold water, food, wine, etc. The beds were also very comfortable, and despite the fact that there was still considerable street noise from Buccaneer Bar next door and some horrendous DJ contest being held on the beach, they glass door was very effective at blocking most of the noise.

The pool was okay, and it was a bit weird because it seemed like a lot of the locals were coming just to use the pool and swim up bar, which appeared to aggravate the bartender...they were very loud a rowdy. I did like the fact that Presidente cerveza was only $3.00. We didn't stay very long because the bar closed around 6:00 pm and the patrons were a bit too drunk and rowdy to make the pool area relaxing.

My only complaint was that both times we had been gone for most of the day and on the second day we got back around 5:00 pm and our room had just begun getting serviced! This was incredible as we had left at 8:15 in the morning to go on a 6-hour snorkel cruise. It was very, very annoying to come back and not be able to take a shower. The second day wasn't quite as bad, but the housekeeping staff is extremely slow here.

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would recommend Simpson Bay Resort to anyone visiting St Maarten.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank volkswankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing