We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
192 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was a reasonably priced hotel in a great location. You are in walking distance to many restaurants, bars, beaches and other water activities. The Hotel is very safe and the service was great. I have stayed at this hotel several times. The rooms could use a little refreshing, but the they are nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott_Smith6064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Smith;

Thank you so much once again for staying with us at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, we are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable. For your next visit we invite to try one of our newly renovated units, we are sure you won’t be disappointed. We look forward to welcome you back to your Caribbean home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    426
    209
    84
    47
See reviews for
290
515
53
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had to spend one night near the airport before flying off the next day. The minute we arrived, someone tried to sell us a time share. When we checked in, we were told check out time was 10 a.m. because it was Sunday (?) It's usually noon - our flight was at three and we assumed a noon check out would suit us perfectly. Absolutely not. We had to leave a credit card imprint for a $250 Damage Deposit. In the room (every wall was covered with a mirror - it got creepy) we found an inventory of everything in the kitchen and a warning that any missing item would cost us. We read the room brochure and learned that staying 10 minutes past check out would net us a $100 fine, 1/2 hour a $200 fine, and so on. We had a ticket that would permit us to get beach towels. If we didn't return them within 24 hours, there would be - guess what! - a fine. The brochure told us what we were expected to tip ($2 a bag, IIRC) On the beach, they were very nice and set up our deck chairs. We didn't tip, but felt we should have. My friend wanted to use a floatie in the sea and was told they were for sale only. There was a playground (with slides, etc.) but you had to buy a ticket to go on it. We each had a massage at the spa, which had a human size statue of Michaelangelo's David outside, pictures of 1/2 naked people in togas on the walls inside and was freezing cold. The massage was good, if a little, um, personal, but our relaxation was short-lived in such a creepy place. We asked the front desk for an extension on check out and were told absolutely NOT. You could see the desk clerk was very tense - responsibility but no authority. Finally, we spoke to a supervisor and he okayed it but not without telling us the time was needed for cleaning before the next guest checked in - at 4 p.m. But, we said, we were only there for 1 night, and we were sure housekeeping did not need 4 hours to change the sheets and sweep the floor. There was a water cooler in the lobby but nothing in it. I asked the person at the concierge desk if I could have some water and she got very annoyed, poured me a cup in the back office and handed it to me with obviously no intention of filling up the cooler. When we check out, I asked for my Visa imprint for the Damage deposit so I could rip it up, and was told not to worry, there was no card number imprinted and besides it had already gone to the accountant. That made no sense, but you can bet I'm keeping my eye on the next Visa bill. We are never, never, never, every going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EveandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Eve & Jack;

Thank you so much for staying with us at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina , we are sorry to hear that your recent stay was not a pleasant one.
We thank you for creating this learning experience and will certainly address this with our concierge, we also apologize for the inconveniences this has caused you. As a vacation ownership resort it is our objective to invite our guests to get to know our exciting membership programs and all the benefit it offers.

As customary in all resorts we do require security deposits at check in, this $ 250.00 is a security hold for incidentals charges, this is not an amount “charged” but an amount on Hold. Manual vouchers are not taken for security reasons and protection for the card holder, only information our clerks have access is the last 4 digits of your card, which also shown on the printout voucher, the rest of the numbers are shown as “X”.
We thank you for all your feedback, as it extremely valuable for us, we will pass this comments to the departments involved to make sure action is taken in the areas required.

We hope you give us the opportunity to host your vacation once again in the future,
Warm regards from Sunny St. Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed overnight in one of the newer studio rooms and then transferred over to the two-bedroom suites. Both were very nice and clean.

We were very impressed with the studio. It looked newly renovated with nice, brand-named appliances and a wonderful bed. The room was clean and everything worked as it should--having no surprises is a great thing to greet you after having traveled over 26 hours to get there (layovers included). Staff treated us well and throughout our stay.

The two bedroom suites are terrific. Ours overlooked the pool and bay. Wind noise whistled through the sliding doors at times. Glad the wind did not blow very hard at night time, otherwise the noise would have probably kept me and my wife up. Maid service occurred every two-three days, unless you were a hotel guest versus a time-share owner (our friends were the time share owners).

I did not like that you had to schedule a time-share "arm twist" for about 60 minutes. Just repeat, "No, I am not interested in a time share." Over and over and over again.... That really is the only negative.

The local market is good--great cheeses, wine, beer, alcohol and other sundries are kept well in-stock and are competitively priced. Remember to bring bring water-proof sun block for snorkeling days.

The staff were attentive and very nice throughout. All of our encounters were positive. You will truly enjoy the area. The villa is close to the airport and you can easily go to all of the areas in the island. Rent a small car. It'll be easier to get around the island and park where you want.

The Stone restaurant and Alexander's breakfast and lunch places are very good as well. Enjoy, relax and take it all in. Time will go fast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comment and for the taking the time to write such nice and detailed review. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay and you found the newly renovated units to comfortable and relaxing. Indeed time does fly when you are on vacation , but the memories and experiences remain forever. We look forward to welcome you again to your Caribbean home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked two, 2-Bedroom Villas for our family trip with grown children. They were the perfect accommodations for us. The units were both clean and comfortable, with kitchens, dinettes and living rooms in the center, with bedrooms and private baths on either side. Each unit has an outside deck or balcony facing the Bay and sunset. Pools and beach are fine, but we really enjoyed the close proximity to restaurants and a grocery store at the bottom of the hill. This was our first trip to the island so we weren't sure about walking, vs taxis, vs rental but soon discovered that a rental was right for us. We rented an SUV from Thrifty right at the hotel and it was exactly what we needed. I think we may have been in a newer section of the resort. Some of the other buildings looked a bit older, but our units were great. They have a nice work-out center in the middle of the hotel with a great view of the Bay also.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Ken;

Thank you so much for have chosen Simpson Bay Resort & Marina for your vacation destination, specially being this the first time to St. Maarten, it was a pleasure to have hosted you. We are happy to know that you had a great time. Please note that when it comes to St.Maarten it has a very special charm , as with every visit it just gets better and better, we hope to be able to host your vacation once more in the near future.

Kind regards from sunny St. Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very clean and very friendly staff. Nice garden in a huge resort. spacous room and perfect equipped kitchen. Brand new equipment. Very clean. I enjoyed the week there very much. restaurants in the vicinity are excellent. rental car . Boat trip to Saba were excellent organized.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopy319MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest;

Thank you so much for your comment for taking the time to write us a review. It was a pleasure to have hosted your vacation, we are thrilled to know that you had a good time and you enjoyed the newly renovated units. indeed St. Maarten is a dream island one where the dream becomes a reality.
We hope you give us the opportunity to be host your next dream vacation in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabrieres, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is luxurious. The suites are spacious. The bathroom area was enormous! The kids had to sleep in the living-room but the single beds fold up into the wall. Great equipped kitchen but not enough crockery to use the dishwasher. Great balcony with table and chairs and loungers.
We stayed 4 night before going to the dispicable Palm Beach Resort opposite (just to compare places, very scandalous! See my new review).
Paid US$613.32 for 4 people, great value. There are several lovely pools.Free parking and wifi. All rooms face the sea.
Arrived late, no problem, efficient staff but don't expect a smile (the "friendly" state, haha!). Bring coffee and sugar for the morning!
Our suite was 88 square metres. Tons of towels plus a service for pool towels.

HOWEVER baware. I met some girls who had bought time-share (called "units) and they were very friendly and invited us to a party. Lovely people all of them and extra-friendly! They all happened to be part of the selling team and by the end of the evening, with lots of wine, we found ourselves invited to a selling breakfast and even to dinner by the sales manager to an Italian restaurant we didn't even want to go to - in Saint Martin you want to eat lobster but it's pricey. It's the capital of the Carribean for time-share and you can expect to be invited to a lunch in all the resorts.
However if you meet people in the street who tell you you've won something don't visit the resort - everybody "wins" a holiday and you will waste an afternoon for nothing. It's called Trips Incentives, look it up on the internet.
Have a good stay!

Room Tip: All are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathryn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

It could be a bit because of the circumstances that led to us staying at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, but I really don't have anything negative to say at all about our experience there!

Our JetBlue flight from San Juan was delayed and we ended up missing our Dawn II ferry to Saba. After racing back and forth across the island chasing ferries and flights, we ended up back at the airport without a way to Saba and with nowhere to stay. I found The Edge ferry to Saba the next morning departing from Simpson Bay Resort so we thought we'd give it a shot and see if there was a room free for us.

Michael at the reservations number was incredibly helpful and set us up with a room immediately. We hopped a taxi over and were very pleasantly surprised with the property and our room. We managed to fit in a quick swim in the sea and a visit to the swim up bar before the sun went down. Breakfast the next morning at one of the cafes downstairs (Andrew's Café I think?) was phenomenal and getting the luxurious high-speed ferry to Saba was a dream trip compared to our Dawn II journey back a few days later.

We had originally booked in at a place on the north side of the island for our last night there before we returned to Puerto Rico, but cancelled in favor of Simpson Bay. It has a nice little beach, clear waters for snorkeling, very clean rooms, and helpful and friendly staff. All in all, a big win for us!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtaylor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank your for taking the time and share your comments with us and the community. What wonderful review! You just have described everything what we are working for and we feel very honour to have had the opportunity to serve you.

We are really looking forward to serve you in the near future again.

Kind regards from sunny St. Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing