We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed overnight in one of the newer studio rooms and then transferred over to the two-bedroom suites. Both were very nice and clean.

We were very impressed with the studio. It looked newly renovated with nice, brand-named appliances and a wonderful bed. The room was clean and everything worked as it should--having no surprises is a great thing to greet you after having traveled over 26 hours to get there (layovers included). Staff treated us well and throughout our stay.

The two bedroom suites are terrific. Ours overlooked the pool and bay. Wind noise whistled through the sliding doors at times. Glad the wind did not blow very hard at night time, otherwise the noise would have probably kept me and my wife up. Maid service occurred every two-three days, unless you were a hotel guest versus a time-share owner (our friends were the time share owners).

I did not like that you had to schedule a time-share "arm twist" for about 60 minutes. Just repeat, "No, I am not interested in a time share." Over and over and over again.... That really is the only negative.

The local market is good--great cheeses, wine, beer, alcohol and other sundries are kept well in-stock and are competitively priced. Remember to bring bring water-proof sun block for snorkeling days.

The staff were attentive and very nice throughout. All of our encounters were positive. You will truly enjoy the area. The villa is close to the airport and you can easily go to all of the areas in the island. Rent a small car. It'll be easier to get around the island and park where you want.

The Stone restaurant and Alexander's breakfast and lunch places are very good as well. Enjoy, relax and take it all in. Time will go fast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comment and for the taking the time to write such nice and detailed review. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay and you found the newly renovated units to comfortable and relaxing. Indeed time does fly when you are on vacation , but the memories and experiences remain forever. We look forward to welcome you again to your Caribbean home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    425
    209
    84
    47
See reviews for
290
514
53
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked two, 2-Bedroom Villas for our family trip with grown children. They were the perfect accommodations for us. The units were both clean and comfortable, with kitchens, dinettes and living rooms in the center, with bedrooms and private baths on either side. Each unit has an outside deck or balcony facing the Bay and sunset. Pools and beach are fine, but we really enjoyed the close proximity to restaurants and a grocery store at the bottom of the hill. This was our first trip to the island so we weren't sure about walking, vs taxis, vs rental but soon discovered that a rental was right for us. We rented an SUV from Thrifty right at the hotel and it was exactly what we needed. I think we may have been in a newer section of the resort. Some of the other buildings looked a bit older, but our units were great. They have a nice work-out center in the middle of the hotel with a great view of the Bay also.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Ken;

Thank you so much for have chosen Simpson Bay Resort & Marina for your vacation destination, specially being this the first time to St. Maarten, it was a pleasure to have hosted you. We are happy to know that you had a great time. Please note that when it comes to St.Maarten it has a very special charm , as with every visit it just gets better and better, we hope to be able to host your vacation once more in the near future.

Kind regards from sunny St. Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Very clean and very friendly staff. Nice garden in a huge resort. spacous room and perfect equipped kitchen. Brand new equipment. Very clean. I enjoyed the week there very much. restaurants in the vicinity are excellent. rental car . Boat trip to Saba were excellent organized.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopy319MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear guest;

Thank you so much for your comment for taking the time to write us a review. It was a pleasure to have hosted your vacation, we are thrilled to know that you had a good time and you enjoyed the newly renovated units. indeed St. Maarten is a dream island one where the dream becomes a reality.
We hope you give us the opportunity to be host your next dream vacation in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabrieres, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is luxurious. The suites are spacious. The bathroom area was enormous! The kids had to sleep in the living-room but the single beds fold up into the wall. Great equipped kitchen but not enough crockery to use the dishwasher. Great balcony with table and chairs and loungers.
We stayed 4 night before going to the dispicable Palm Beach Resort opposite (just to compare places, very scandalous! See my new review).
Paid US$613.32 for 4 people, great value. There are several lovely pools.Free parking and wifi. All rooms face the sea.
Arrived late, no problem, efficient staff but don't expect a smile (the "friendly" state, haha!). Bring coffee and sugar for the morning!
Our suite was 88 square metres. Tons of towels plus a service for pool towels.

HOWEVER baware. I met some girls who had bought time-share (called "units) and they were very friendly and invited us to a party. Lovely people all of them and extra-friendly! They all happened to be part of the selling team and by the end of the evening, with lots of wine, we found ourselves invited to a selling breakfast and even to dinner by the sales manager to an Italian restaurant we didn't even want to go to - in Saint Martin you want to eat lobster but it's pricey. It's the capital of the Carribean for time-share and you can expect to be invited to a lunch in all the resorts.
However if you meet people in the street who tell you you've won something don't visit the resort - everybody "wins" a holiday and you will waste an afternoon for nothing. It's called Trips Incentives, look it up on the internet.
Have a good stay!

Room Tip: All are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathryn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

It could be a bit because of the circumstances that led to us staying at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, but I really don't have anything negative to say at all about our experience there!

Our JetBlue flight from San Juan was delayed and we ended up missing our Dawn II ferry to Saba. After racing back and forth across the island chasing ferries and flights, we ended up back at the airport without a way to Saba and with nowhere to stay. I found The Edge ferry to Saba the next morning departing from Simpson Bay Resort so we thought we'd give it a shot and see if there was a room free for us.

Michael at the reservations number was incredibly helpful and set us up with a room immediately. We hopped a taxi over and were very pleasantly surprised with the property and our room. We managed to fit in a quick swim in the sea and a visit to the swim up bar before the sun went down. Breakfast the next morning at one of the cafes downstairs (Andrew's Café I think?) was phenomenal and getting the luxurious high-speed ferry to Saba was a dream trip compared to our Dawn II journey back a few days later.

We had originally booked in at a place on the north side of the island for our last night there before we returned to Puerto Rico, but cancelled in favor of Simpson Bay. It has a nice little beach, clear waters for snorkeling, very clean rooms, and helpful and friendly staff. All in all, a big win for us!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtaylor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank your for taking the time and share your comments with us and the community. What wonderful review! You just have described everything what we are working for and we feel very honour to have had the opportunity to serve you.

We are really looking forward to serve you in the near future again.

Kind regards from sunny St. Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Beautiful views, lousy service - especially front desk.
Checking in was a nightmare - hardly any guests and two clerks. It took more than 20 minutes to check in each guest. Total incompetency.
After two hours of waiting for a room at 3PM (that was supposed to be ready - in off season), the desk finally sent me to a room that wasn't cleaned. I called the desk and they said that they would send housekeeping. After 20 minutes of no show, I went back to the desk and "lost it" - they got me a room in 5 minutes. That's not the way it should work.
I gave it two stars for the view. Go look at the view but find someplace else to stay...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chollis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the inconveniences you encounter while staying with us, certainly your experience was an exception and not the norm and we apologize. Your comments are valuable and will allow us the opportunity to make the needed corrections so this does not repeat itself. Again, thanks and we hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again.

Kind regards from sunny St. Maarten,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks while on our honeymoon. This was our second visit to St. Maarten and our 1st time at this particular resort. On Mondays they have orientation which I would HIGHLY recommend!! Thy give you an activities calendar for what's around the resort and they give you an idea of the activities on the island too. They have kayak rentals and bingo by the pool and the view is amazing. Our room was always spotless and I really felt like the maid that cleaned our room went above and beyond. The washers and dryers were not all that - they don't really dry the clothes but you don't go on vacation to dry laundry anyway. The pool has a swim up bar and all you have to do is walk down the stairs to get to aqua mania (where all the water activities are). We had a great time and after our stay here we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Flossboss32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and for chosen Simpson Bay Resort & Marina for your Honeymoon vacation. We are happy to know that you had a great time and enjoyed the Resort and its facilities. At our Monday’s Orientation we take the opportunity of informing our guests of the great amenities our resort and island has to offer. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of your units is also welcome it is our main objective to make sure all of our guest feel comfortable and at home while vacationing with us. We are sincerely sorry about the situation you encountered with the public dryers, we will make sure that all the dryers in the resort are checked to ensure they are working properly.

Once again , we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards from sunny St. Maarten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing