We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Nearby Hotels
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
$125
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn Hotel(Simpson Bay)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azure Hotel & Art Studio(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turquoise Shell Inn(Simpson Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,275)
Filter reviews
1,275 results
Traveler rating
448
465
219
89
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
465
219
89
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson sitetime sharefull kitchengrocery storebon appetiteaqua manialiving roommain buildingmurphy bedbeach barsales pitchtennis courtspersonal conciergetimeshare presentationwater activitiessunset cruisest maarten
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
804 - 809 of 1,275 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is luxurious. The suites are spacious. The bathroom area was enormous! The kids had to sleep in the living-room but the single beds fold up into the wall. Great equipped kitchen but not enough crockery to use the dishwasher. Great balcony with table and chairs and loungers.
We stayed 4 night before going to the dispicable Palm Beach Resort opposite (just to compare places, very scandalous! See my new review).
Paid US$613.32 for 4 people, great value. There are several lovely pools.Free parking and wifi. All rooms face the sea.
Arrived late, no problem, efficient staff but don't expect a smile (the "friendly" state, haha!). Bring coffee and sugar for the morning!
Our suite was 88 square metres. Tons of towels plus a service for pool towels.

HOWEVER baware. I met some girls who had bought time-share (called "units) and they were very friendly and invited us to a party. Lovely people all of them and extra-friendly! They all happened to be part of the selling team and by the end of the evening, with lots of wine, we found ourselves invited to a selling breakfast and even to dinner by the sales manager to an Italian restaurant we didn't even want to go to - in Saint Martin you want to eat lobster but it's pricey. It's the capital of the Carribean for time-share and you can expect to be invited to a lunch in all the resorts.
However if you meet people in the street who tell you you've won something don't visit the resort - everybody "wins" a holiday and you will waste an afternoon for nothing. It's called Trips Incentives, look it up on the internet.
Have a good stay!

Room Tip: All are quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

It could be a bit because of the circumstances that led to us staying at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, but I really don't have anything negative to say at all about our experience there!

Our JetBlue flight from San Juan was delayed and we ended up missing our Dawn II ferry to Saba. After racing back and forth across the island chasing ferries and flights, we ended up back at the airport without a way to Saba and with nowhere to stay. I found The Edge ferry to Saba the next morning departing from Simpson Bay Resort so we thought we'd give it a shot and see if there was a room free for us.

Michael at the reservations number was incredibly helpful and set us up with a room immediately. We hopped a taxi over and were very pleasantly surprised with the property and our room. We managed to fit in a quick swim in the sea and a visit to the swim up bar before the sun went down. Breakfast the next morning at one of the cafes downstairs (Andrew's Café I think?) was phenomenal and getting the luxurious high-speed ferry to Saba was a dream trip compared to our Dawn II journey back a few days later.

We had originally booked in at a place on the north side of the island for our last night there before we returned to Puerto Rico, but cancelled in favor of Simpson Bay. It has a nice little beach, clear waters for snorkeling, very clean rooms, and helpful and friendly staff. All in all, a big win for us!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mtaylor16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank your for taking the time and share your comments with us and the community. What wonderful review! You just have described everything what we are working for and we feel very honour to have had the opportunity to serve you.

We are really looking forward to serve you in the near future again.

Kind regards from sunny St. Maarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Beautiful views, lousy service - especially front desk.
Checking in was a nightmare - hardly any guests and two clerks. It took more than 20 minutes to check in each guest. Total incompetency.
After two hours of waiting for a room at 3PM (that was supposed to be ready - in off season), the desk finally sent me to a room that wasn't cleaned. I called the desk and they said that they would send housekeeping. After 20 minutes of no show, I went back to the desk and "lost it" - they got me a room in 5 minutes. That's not the way it should work.
I gave it two stars for the view. Go look at the view but find someplace else to stay...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chollis7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the inconveniences you encounter while staying with us, certainly your experience was an exception and not the norm and we apologize. Your comments are valuable and will allow us the opportunity to make the needed corrections so this does not repeat itself. Again, thanks and we hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again.

Kind regards from sunny St. Maarten,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks while on our honeymoon. This was our second visit to St. Maarten and our 1st time at this particular resort. On Mondays they have orientation which I would HIGHLY recommend!! Thy give you an activities calendar for what's around the resort and they give you an idea of the activities on the island too. They have kayak rentals and bingo by the pool and the view is amazing. Our room was always spotless and I really felt like the maid that cleaned our room went above and beyond. The washers and dryers were not all that - they don't really dry the clothes but you don't go on vacation to dry laundry anyway. The pool has a swim up bar and all you have to do is walk down the stairs to get to aqua mania (where all the water activities are). We had a great time and after our stay here we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Flossboss32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and for chosen Simpson Bay Resort & Marina for your Honeymoon vacation. We are happy to know that you had a great time and enjoyed the Resort and its facilities. At our Monday’s Orientation we take the opportunity of informing our guests of the great amenities our resort and island has to offer. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of your units is also welcome it is our main objective to make sure all of our guest feel comfortable and at home while vacationing with us. We are sincerely sorry about the situation you encountered with the public dryers, we will make sure that all the dryers in the resort are checked to ensure they are working properly.

Once again , we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards from sunny St. Maarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Simpson Bay Resort and Marina is a well located, bay front, and perfectly adequate stay for a night on the way to and from Anguilla through St. Martin's international airport. We loved that it was a short ride from the airport, on a beautiful bay with great views and crystal clear water to swim in, and near the drawbridge with great local restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: They are split plan rooms so be prepared to stay in two doubles instead of one king, even if you request it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your comments, we are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay although it was a short one, indeed the Simpson Bay area is a great location with a variety of dining options to choose from, we invite you for your next trip to have a longer stay with us and enjoy the many of our many great activities we have waiting for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards from sunny St. Maarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews