We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Croton apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Croton apartment”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a nice apartment in a massive complex, what we booked is not quite what we got, but it was ok. It did have a mosquito problem. The rooms are dark and do not represent the Caribbean. However the resort is truly American and caters for Americans, Europeans must be rare here and it shows. All food is geared towards ribs, burgers and fries..... And masses of it...
Service - hit and miss however we found this all over st maarten, the staff are not customer orientated and jobs are obviously plentiful, as some people were just rude and abrupt.
This is an ok place for a stop over, but a holiday resort? I think not, however upon reflection a Caribbean friend did say to me st maarten is a bit like visiting the Wild West, and this is how I best sum up this resort and island.

Room Tip: Try to get a newly refurbished room. They are smart but austere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscardogBirminghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    427
    209
    84
    47
See reviews for
290
516
53
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were there the first week in January and went out on a trip with Walkie an Ollie. You drive your individual 2 person boats and follow the leaders through the carribean waters to a snorkeling park area on the french side. The guys taking us were so helpful and nice! So fun driving your own boat ! The snorkeling itself was ok Def not like Turks and caicos but the adventure was great!!!!! Definitely reccomend it!. Thanks Walkie and Ollie for a great trip!!! Cheryl Long Island

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a very nice trip to St. Martin. The island itself have lush green mountains in the backdrop with smaller stretches of beaches. The resort was nice. We stayed in the B building that overlooks the ocean but was not Ocean front like I was told on the phone when I made reservations. This is a timeshare condo so we had a separate bedroom with a king-sized bed, full kitchen, and living room area. The deck overlooking the bay was wonderful. There were 3 pools within a 1 min walk to choose from and 2 more that we did not even visit. The pools were never crowed and we could always get a chair with an umbrella.
The ocean front was nice, but small with a nice little bar on the beach to watch the sunset.
Our room was on the side of the hill so my calves got a great work out.
We also enjoyed the French bistro about 2 blocks away-excellent food.
We were also walking distance of other Restaurants, too. We did not rent a car, but it seemed like everyone else did. Our cab driver Walter was excellent and recommended many things to do including a day trip to Anguilla on the ferry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Simpson bay is a great area in St Maarten, very close to the airport and only a 20 minutes drive from Philipsburg where you have all the entertainment and fun of the island.
The resort was very nice, proper, clean and the staff was very helpful. We got a beautiful room overlooking the bay, nice restaurants around, great gym facility, nice beach and very close to all activities like paddle boarding, snorkelling, jet sky etc.
We had a great time!

Room Tip: If you want to wake up with a beautiful and relaxing view, choose a pool/ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franci2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

what a dump...put us in the furthest most "villa" overlooking chain link fence and a chicken farm (imagine roosters at 4 am and all day!)...out front was the resorts laundry facility, and a bombed out mini-van with flat tires...think Afghanistan. Half way thru we had to move, which blew an entire day for me to wait for a room to be ready. BTW...when we arrived, a/c didn't work, sliding first floor door wouldn't lock, and lamps didn't work. This place is too big for the staff to handle. Beach is dirty and crowded (too many other beautiful spots on the island so bother with theirs). Too many other smaller, nicer choices on this beautiful island...choose Pierre Caribe villas or Westin dawn Beach...we won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for being very honest and straightforward with your comments. While we certainly regret the fact that the facilities and the service provided to you did not meet our usual standards, we also appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

Right now we are in a renovating process and we really hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This resort is spectacular --great for diving, sailing & the area restaurants are outstanding! I stayed in a newly renovated 1 bedroom at the top of the resort & the view was spectacular, I had a pool outside my room & a great little French Bistro a short walk away where we ate breakfast every day served by the same waiter and table daily.

Room Tip: Make sure you get to the airport on the Dutch side & witness the 747 landing every Fri @ 11:00 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this Resort 4 times and are returning this April. The beach is nice, the beach bar and grills are delicious. Moti is the Best Bartender, very personable and pleasant. All restaurants on the Resort are great, but don't forget the restaurants in Simpson Bay. A short walk from the Resort. Topper's, The Boat House, Lee's and The Bavarian Germany restaurants are a few of our favorites.
We always try to stay in the same room in the Flamboyant section as it is Ocean Front, not view, but right on the Beach and has a wonderful view.. So looking forward to April.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the Flamboyant Section. Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing