We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good time share exchange”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good time share exchange”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We enjoyed a week at Simpson Bay Resort through interval International exchange. The hotel called a week in advance to confirm our reservation and answer any questions (how much is taxi fare from the airport, etc) we might have. The check-in process was efficient and we were taken by van to our room. The complex is large and our building was situated on a hill. The unit was spacious although the bathroom was a bit small. The resort has many restaurant possibilities. We tried them all and they were all good. Also, there is a little grocery store for supplies. There are quite a few pools and since it was still low season it was easy to find a lounge and relax. We were pleased with Aquamania which provided tours of all kinds. I recommend the half day tour of the island which is reasonable, informative, and entertaining. We also took the Edge ferry to St. Bart's right from the resort marina. The staff was generally friendly. We appreciated Priscilla, one of the concierge staff. She answered our every question and made dinner reservations when requested.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joelyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    417
    208
    83
    45
See reviews for
283
500
52
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

In October 2013, we went for our second trip to St. Maarten having gone there for one week in October of 2012. Last year we stayed in the Villas at Simpson Bay Resort. This year we stayed in the Caladium Building of the main resort. Both of our trips have been during "hurricane season" making some things more reasonable in price. We had no problems with the weather, although the forecast for almost the whole time was 50-60% chance of rain. It did rain a few times, sometimes at night & sometimes during the day. However, it did not rain enough to interfere with any of our activities.
The Villas are newer & more luxurious, but we thought that our condo in the Caladium Building was fine. We requested a water view & were happy with the view from our balcony. The condo had been renovated not so long ago & was in good shape. Only my wife & I stayed there, but it had room for more people, having 2 Murphy beds in the living room.
Everyone at the resort was very friendly and helpful at all times. We would not hesitate to return there in the future and recommend it to others traveling to St. Maarten.
Being in our early 70s, we prefer to eat our main meal at lunchtime. Consequently, we did not eat at all of the restaurants on the resort. Several were only open for dinner. Our favorite restaurants were The Greenhouse just down the street from the resort, and Topper's on the Beach right next door at Diamonds Flamingo Resort.
We rented a car from Paradise Rental for our two weeks, having rented one from them last year and being totally satisfied with them. We drove around the island several times, visiting Phillipsburg, the market at Marigot, Orient Beach, etc.
We took several trips with Aqua Mania, which has an office on the resort, and had a great time on all of them.

Room Tip: The Villas are the newest and most luxurious, but several other buildings have lovely water views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billduet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a multi building hotel/resort complex with all kinds of rooms and facilities, including several pools, restaurants, spa, casino, and one of the most beautiful small bays I've seen, with excellent beach for swimming and access to sailing, scuba diving and other water sports. Very close to the airport and accessible to a variety of restaurants, shops, and other exciting places within the beautiful island of St. Martin/Saint Maarten. One of the most attractive vacation spots we have been, worth visiting again. All the people in the island are friendly and make you feel great. If you book as a getaway or exchange, maid service is restricted to one service visit during the week, unless you pay extra, the same as for any other time share. But remember, there is no such thing as a cheap or budget vacation. Even in a time share, you need to have enough cash to pay the asked price for food and the things you need or want to have. One morning we went for breakfast to a nice nearby restaurant and we had to leave before ordering, as they don't accept credit cards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Room was nice, however we had to walk up a huge hill to get to it. Pool was closed because they wer renovating the units behind us, so that was inconvenient. We were directed to the beach and the first day was great. The next time we went the guy wouldn't give us lounge chairs because he was with another resort... That's confusing. Couldn't enjoy dinner out because cab could only drop us off at the main lobby and we had to end our evening walking up the largest hill... Not impressed.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Beaumont building unless you enjoy walking. We didn't have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Walking distance to many cool places, room location was decent but we usually dont hang out in the room on vacations. Piano Bar is a must, we made it a nightly visit. Casino was nice, Beach was beautiful. Many bar/restaurants on location. Market on location to stock up fridge and grab a sandwich for the beach too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MisterBobDobalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The best thing I can say about this property is that it is in the middle of everything you could need-all of which within walking distance.

We stayed in the Marina building, one of the units that has not been updated yet. While its not bad, it just looks like kitschy 80s beach decor. Unit was large with very well equipped kitchen, which included utensils, pots/pans, blender, etc. Also, at check in, you get a voucher for beach towels, so no need to bring your own. Do not expect daily maid service. BTW - you have to pay an up charge for the renovated rooms :(

I would suggest that if you are older, or have difficulties getting around, that you ask for a building near the lobby, as the other buildings can be very hilly to get to.

Worst things: the toilets in our unit/building went down several times. At one point they had to move us to one of the Villas at 2am as one of our party was sick and needed a working bathroom. Very inconvenient! Also, our first full day there, we hung out at the marina pool and ordered a burger w/ketchup from the swim up bar/grill. 1.5 hours later, the two of us who shared the burger got violently ill with food poisoning - we think it was un-refrigerated ketchup. After complaining to the front desk, we still had to complain at check out as they were trying to charge us for the food that made us ill.

Tips: It was about $12 to get to the resort from the airport. Since everything has to be shipped in, things can be extremely expensive. If you have a unit with a kitchen, you might want to consider either bringing some pasta or cereal with you to save $, particularly as those two staples seemed ridiculously expensive. The liquor is pretty cheap, and there is a market next to Burger King at the bottom of the hill.

The resort offered a complimentary bus ride to the capital, Philipsburg, twice while we were there. I would suggest this rather than getting a rental car. Front St., where all the chi chi shops are, can be done in several hours without you missing much. It's 90% jewelry shopping. If you go into the nicer jewel shops, you are usually offered a beer or water - and you can take the beer with you when you leave for the next shop. While there can be good deals on jewelry and watches, don't be afraid to haggle, it's expected.

Tipping: check your bills; at some places the tip is already included in, or ask if 'service' is included - don't ask if tip is included. Cab drivers get a couple of bucks.

Dutch half of the island speaks English primarily and US dollars is their main currency. The French half uses euros and speaks French.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Christine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and the community. We do appreciate hearing from you, as your comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our housekeeping and F&B department as well. After this inconveniences you experimented we are very glad you had a great time and you point some useful tips our guests can find in the resort.

In our continue search of excellence we appreciate your valuable thoughts and we are taking action in every situation you mentioned.

Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The resort is located in a nice area with everything you need around, bars beach pools and local restaurants or even markets to buy food. Room has essentials and it is confortable. Downside was seing that cleaning could be improved with attention to detail and some maintenance in rooms might be necessary. In our case, one of the fans on top of the ceiling couldn't be turned off...and was right on top of our bed..although weather in St. Maarten is so good even in raining season that we prefered to kept it ON during night and never asked room service to check it. It was minor thing for us. All other requests asked have been handled by resort staff and we had a good time here. Internet was free although very instable and slow. Overall it was a good experience and I can recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing