We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revitalized Simpson Bay Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Revitalized Simpson Bay Resort”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We are timeshare owners and we returned after a tumultious period in the history of the Simpson Bay Resort. Some of the buildings have been remodeled with new stainless steel appliances, new furniture, new air conditioning systems and plumbing appliances. Yet the old and familiar is still here too, with the Bon Appite Restaurant, the casino and night club. Our own unit in the largest building at the resort is being renovated so we stayed in another building and were very pleased. The help is friendly and we had no complaints at all this year. In our second week, we brought our daughter and family, including 2 children under 3 and their unit worked well for them as did the kiddie pool.

Room Tip: Get a room in a renovated building. Currently the A, C and D buildings are renovated and the B build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmount2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    442
    214
    88
    51
See reviews for
306
538
56
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed Simpson Bay Resort 5/3-5/11 in the F Building. We had a one bedroom and the balcony faced the beach and had a great view. We checked in at 12:30 and to our surprise the room was ready. The place was very clean and spacious. The outside grounds was very clean and the staff was friendly. We love this area of Simpson Bay, the beach was not crowed and there are a lot of restaurants within walking distance. Not sure why this place gets a bad rap, but we will return if we can get another exchange.

Room Tip: The F building is right on the beach with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at this wonderful resort for three weeks. April 28th. - May 4th. Had a wonderful time. Friendly staff and very attentive. Rooms remodelled and lots of extra towels and linens. Would recommend this establishment to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the D building in a 2 bedroom, and also the Marina building great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We traded our timeshare to stay here. If your goal is to trade a timeshare and stay on St. Maarten, this place works (after all, you have to choose from what’s available!) I’m not sure I would pick this place if I was booking a hotel room, a lot would depend on the price they were asking.

Keep in mind, the resort is spread out and on a hill, so you might end up with a rather steep hike back from the beach. Also, while employees were generally nice, I was never overwhelmed by the service.

The room: One the plus side, our 1 bedroom “suite” was very spacious and the full kitchen was great. Honestly, however, the hotel room itself was in serious need of an update. Aside from the décor being quite dated and run down, several things actually did not work. For example the screen door to the balcony didn't close properly, so you couldn't leave the door open or mosquitos got in the room. The room was also somewhat dirty. Not the kind of dirty where it seems like the clearing crew didn’t do their job, more the kind of dirty that happens after years in a tropical environment (rust on things in the bathroom, mildew smell in the air, etc.) I’ve read that they are updating rooms at the property, so hopefully those are better. I was contacted by the property before my arrival to ask if I wanted to purchase an “upgrade” which I assume would have gotten me into a newly remodeled room. The price was quite steep and my family doesn’t spend a lot of time in the room, so I declined. (I have to admit to being a bit offended by their request for additional money to get a nicer room – especially given that the resort that I traded for this was much more upscale.) All in all, the room was acceptable, but you need to be thinking more “motel” room than resort hotel.

The beach was lovely and there were plenty of chairs and umbrellas provided by the resort. The pools were also nice. We were there in early April, and the resort did not feel crowded at all.

I recommend renting a car on St. Maarten (there are lots of neat things to see and do all over the island and having a car definitely helps, particularly if you want to spend time on the French side). If you have a rental car, the onsite parking at the resort is very convenient.

There is a small market onsite where you can buy groceries. Keep in mind that they have a $15.00 minimum to use a credit card and you can’t charge to your room. (So don’t run down with your credit card thinking you can just pick up some milk like I did!)

The best part of the resort is Aquamania and Dive Adventures, the tour company that is right on the resort’s marina. We took their tour to St. Barth’s and went Scuba diving with them twice. This is a great company and I highly recommend them. Since we were staying at the resort, we could walk from our room to the marina, making tours quite easy.

I really enjoyed St. Maarten. If you are an active, get out of the resort and experience the island type of traveler, I think Simpson’s Bay Resort will probably work for you. Hopefully they finish the renovations soon and rooms are much nicer, but until then, I don’t think I can recommend this place to folks who like to stick around the resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gailberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for just a night, waiting for our flight. Previous time we slept in Westin, but now with our baby we did not bother to drive there, as Simpson Bay is near the Juliana airport, which is very convenient. We did not expect much, but were pleasently surprised.
Room was very big with spacious bathroom and kitchen ( large fridge). Living room is also giant.
Location of the hotel is great, you can easily go around the Simpson Bay for a drink or dinner.
Would recommend, next time with more time we will probably stay here;

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I are here in st. Maarten for the first time. Last night at Simpson Bay Resort and Marina. We watched an outdoor movie set beside the pool. The movie itself was good but you can't buy this kind of ambience. Imagine a projected large screen with the quit gentle rolling sounds of the ocean around you, a slightly cloudy sky as a boarder around your movie and a beautiful moon with stars in eye shot but not distracting. A gentle ocean breeze to top it all off. Reminded us of outdoor theaters which we enjoyed as children but we never watched one in such a setting. We went over to Buccaneers and picked up a slab of what we think are the best ribs ever and their home frys, grabbed fresh bread from nearby and enjoyed that while we watched our movie. Last night gave dinner and a movie whole new meaning for us. We loved it!

Room Tip: If traveling on exchange through RCI you have a choice of higher up farther from ocean or marina, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tangsrfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We own four weeks of time share at this resort. Two of our units have been completely renovated. All buildings are scheduled to be completely redone over the next couple years. The location in St Maarten is perfect and the resort is in the best shape it's been in for decades. The staff is friendly and efficient. The units yet to be renovated are OK but have tired furniture and the "B" building elevators are frequently out of service. All units in the "C and D" buildings have been renovated, which is where we are staying now and very happy. This resort was previously known as Pelican Resort.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing