We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Listen to us and fix the Internet service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nice place but we all need to be able to access the Internet....no excuses here take dare of the issue. The resort is nice but I travel a lot and even the most remote places ensure customers have access to high speed Internet. Years ago you had to pay by the hour here for it. Now it is free but the resort has not upgraded ports all over the complex.....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
There are newer reviews for Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Everyone reviewing here has covered it all , and all things considered , this resort has way too many amenities for the others to measure up to.. Things seem to improve year after year in leaps and bounds , and the efforts to make it top notch are very evident . It is a large resort with various scattered buildings and you should know where your accomodation is so that your expectations are not disappointed, but since we exchange timeshare to be there I cannot imagine paying over $200/night for a unit with a view of a dumpster/parking lot on an island where breathtaking scenery is everywhere! I am posting several pics from our most recent stay in the villas.. We adore the staff there for the most-part!! Looking forward to bringing the whole family there one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coiffeurguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel was centrally located to the Dutch side of the island, many dining choices and transportation. Friendly staff and very well kept property. Stores right on the premises for grocery and souvenirs, casino, restaurants, and right on the beach. this hotel has a great view, day trips right at hotels, and fun filled activities each day.

Room Tip: try to get room on the marina
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsladylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a great time in St. Maartin at Simpson Bay. The resort was not fancy, but very nice and clean. The resort has activities daily, and water sports on location. The location is good, there are a lot of restaurants within walking distance. We worked out at the gym, there was a fee but it was very nice -great view of the marina while working out!... The pool and beach were very nice. The beach has chairs and umbrellas, there is someone to set it up for you. There is a deli across the street that has everything you need. You can get food at the beach restaurant and also at the pool.
Overall very nice place, I would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcaprolione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the villas for 8 days and it was really, really great. Waking up to the sailboats in is a great way to live. The area around the resort is really nice and there are so many great restaurants in walking distance (both on and near the resort). We spent most of the time in the villas pool which kind of sucked because the entire pool, except the swim up bar, is 5 feet tall and so am I. The good thing is that there is access to the bay/ocean and it was so nice to just float in there. Overall the resort was really nice. Don't rely on the concierge. We made reservations through them for the Stone Restaurant which is right on the resort property (but not owned by the resort). When we got there, they knew nothing about our reservations and didn't have room for us.

There is a grocery store just in walking distance (which while quite expensive is still less than the small grocery store on the resort property). It's worth it to purchase items for breakfast and lunch along with alcohol to enjoy on your amazing balcony.

The rooms (we stayed in a master suite) was incredibly luxurious with a full kitchen, living room, very spacious bathroom/dressing area and bedroom. We were with a couple of other people and spent several afternoons eating lunch on someone's balcony with adult beverages!!!

We used the resort provided kyacks a couple of times to explore the bay and the lagoona under past the draw bridge.

Overall, it's an amazing place to stay right on the water with many amenities.

Room Tip: Stay in the villas! The remainder of the buildings on the property do not appear to be right on the...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

WAY overrated. It was dark, dingy and falsely advertised! Fine for a $90/night hotel, but certainly not worth $200!!! Our terrace view was a parking lot and a bunch of cargo containers! And we were traveling with three other couples who experienced the exact same situation - thought they were getting a nice "resort" room and got a dump. Horrible, but we stuck it out as it was for one night only before visiting other islands. Later in the week, we stayed at Captian Oliver's and loved it! Not super fancy, but awesome location, great vibe, bright rooms with either balconies or patios overlooking the ocean or marina. Fun place!

Room Tip: Go to a different resort/hotel!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo O, Online Community Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

I'm sorry to read that you felt that way about your unit; an upgrade to a different unit is always possible, you just need to pay the upgrade fee. We tried contacting you to request more info about your stay but unfortunately we never heard back from you.

Warm regards from sunny St Maarten,

Camilo Olea
Online Community Manager
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just got back and had a very nice stay here. Part of the time share is being renovated but we stayed in the older part which once done will be wonderful. Pools and beach are clean. Very positive experience. Things are a lot slower on the island but as long as you prepare yourself for this it was a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $108 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St Martin / St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing