We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad, the ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
ma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, the ugly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We did a time-share exchange, but after reading many negative reviews of the building we would have been in, we decided to upgrade. We were charged an enormous amount to do this but since we already had bought our airline tickets we went ahead with it. Unfortunately, the people you deal with about any matters concerning the property are located in Mexico! They were only minimally familiar with the hotel so even though we asked for an ocean view, we only got an ocean "peak". We tried to change to a better room when we got there, but apparently there was nothing available.
So the bad was having to pay so much extra money just to get a decent unit and then not even getting the view we had hoped for.
The good was that the resort itself is on the bay, has many lovely pools, beautiful views, and restaurants right on the property. The walk into town is pretty short, and there are many good restaurants all around (Crave, Lee's, Oceanfront). Also there is a wonderful gelato place within walking distance (Carousel).
The ugly is that many of the people who work there are just plain rude. Whenever we wanted to use a tennis court, we would have to go to the security office, and they always acted as if that was the last place they wanted to be. Also, some of the tennis courts are in awful condition. Lastly, it's very near the airport, and the noise of the planes taking off so frequently disturbed the relaxing atmosphere.
Having said that, most of the staff was very friendly - especially the housekeepers - and we did end up having a great vacation.
We would go back to St. Maarten, but probably not back to Simpson Bay.

Room Tip: I think rooms in the Villas are probably the best - and most expensive. If we went back we would sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolgened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo O, Community Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.

Thank you for the kind words about our property, I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. Having said that, I'm sorry to read about the issues you mention having experienced with some of our staff; I tried contacting you to request more info about this and follow up with the appropriate staff members but unfortunately I never heard back from you. Nevertheless, we will take your comments as an opportunity to review our service and we would be happy to welcome you back in the future to show you how we've improved as a result of your observations.

Warm regards from sunny St Maarten,

Camilo Olea
Community Manager
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    414
    208
    83
    45
See reviews for
281
498
52
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

It is a large property, and has many pools. Easy access to the beach, as well as a dock and ladder straight to the ocean. The bartendar was friendly and they run a happy hour so the drinks arent too pricey. The hotel for a noninclusive is a bit steep, but I really enjoyed staying here. It is a great location to the airport, and several eateries. It has a full kitchen, a grocery, casino, playground, and shuttle to and from your villa. The only down fall is they couldnt find our reservation. We went to swim while we waited 2 hours later they had forgotten about us and still had to find the reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bamagirl0269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

As three "older " ladies, this place is great. If you have problems walking up hill, I suggest that you request a unit at the bottom part of the resort.If you do not get a unit near the bottom, they have complimentary shuttle vans that will take you to & from your unit. We had a studio unit with a full kitchen, a king size bed and a pull out sofa bed in the living room. At the time we stayed, the resort was quiet even though there was construction going on right across from our unit.. The unit was very clean & well equipped. There are many nice restraurants nearby. We took cabs, rode the bus and rented a car. It is not necessary to rent a car, as you can get to the French side of the island by bus. As for renting a car, the drivers there are aggresive, but not rude, no stop lights, they have a lot of roundabouts. The food over the island is fabulous. The shopping is good, but not fabulous. They are supposed to have good deals on electronics and jewelry, but I didn't find that to be true, you can get the same or better deals at home. All of the staff at the resort are very nice, kind and accomadating. The piano bar, near the convenience store was lots of fun. This resort is great for people of all ages. I would go back in a heartbeat. This resort is a great place to stay!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasJbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I generally try to be gracious on a visit to a new place, but this resort left me wanting more over and over.

The best thing about this place are the folks who work in the service areas. The staff that you encounter out and about the place taking care of it are by far the nicest and most kind you will meet in the facility. This actually extends to the front desk staff as well, however be prepared to WAIT if you want any help from the front desk. There is always a line, and the desk always seems very understaffed in my opinion. Despite this fact, the staff will wait on you as quickly and efficiently as possible and with as much of a smile as they can muster. Even if they are telling you to go all the way back to the very far edge of the grounds (uphill and about 1/4 mile away) to get your incorrectly filled out towel card so that they can correctly make you a new one. They'll even smile if it's about 90 degrees out while they're telling you to do this and you're already sweating and obviously uncomfortable!

Value: Nope, sorry. I think you can do much smarter things with your money than stay here unless you are guaranteed a spot right down front or at least near the front desk-this place is pretty enormous. In fact, so large that the concierge either leads your vehicle with his or takes you in his with your luggage to your building from the front desk if you are not staying in one of the fancy 'condos'. Feel second class much? I did.

Cleanliness-outside my unit was lovely. I never once had the staff even come in and sweep the floor in the 4 nights I was there. No emptying of the garbage, no changing of the towels. Maybe this is not the type of thing that they typically do here, but it would have been pleasant to have been informed of this either prior to my booking the room or at least upon check in (with that great smile...).

Rooms: Fair. Nothing amazing. I had an absolutely lovely view of a parking lot and the laundry facilities. Thank goodness the service staff were so preferable to many of the guests for company, because I got to see lots of them!

Room Service: I didn't request room service and I gave up on thinking I might come home to a freshly made bed.

Spa: Wouldn't spend another dime here, so I can't honestly tell you about the spa.

There is a fitness room that looks like it might have been really wonderful but you get to pay extra for that. I'm surprised they didn't charge me to park my car in my little parking lot next to the laundry facility!

Room Tip: If you DO stay near here, I would suggest the Pelican. And while in the area, no matter where you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our party of four stayed at the Villas for the first week in October, 2012. Everything was just perfect. The two bedroom suite on the fourth floor was the best time share accomodations we've ever had, from the good pool, great beach, furniture, bed, kitchen and air conditioning to the very nice staff, including our "personal bartender "Metal" at the pool bar. The restaurants in and around the resort were all very nice with good prices. We were very thankful be were able to switch accomodations at the last minute with our original choice, Oyster Bay Resort, after we visited it and found that it was not near as nice as Simpson Bay Resort. Also, October was a good time to visit since it was off-season and nothing was crowded, especially the roads.

Room Tip: Anything in the newer Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigUnit98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We checked in on a trade through Interval on Saturday 10/6 - our room was ready at 3. We had declined an upgrade to the Villa's - but were put in the F building -right on the beach. The room had a spectacular view, and was close to the beach, and the Marina Pool . The furnishings are dated by We had a few minor issues with the room that were resolved by the next morning. The tv in the living room was the old tube style, the bedroom a very small flat screen. The free in room wifi worked well all week. the beach was never crowded, and we never had trouble finding a beach hut , regardless of time of day. The resort also provides free Noodles and floats ( a nice touch) Monday's the resort offers a sunset cruise for $15 on the Lambada, great cruise with an open bar and well worth the price.
We were very near the PeliDeli - a great little store with very reasonable prices. We were also close to the casino. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. In all we would not hesitate to trade here again - if we could get the F building.

Room Tip: Some of the buildings are away from the beach - the closest would be the F building, the Villas or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shasadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We really needed a rest so this was the perfect place. We kayaked every morning and then hit the beach. Elvis our attendant was very accomodating and pleasant. The hut on the beach has fresh food and good prices. The view from our balcony could not have been better. Accommodations were more than adequate. We did notice slight mold in the bath by Wednesday. Maintenance was there immediately to scubb the walls with bleach and the Desk later called to check on any further needs.
The grounds were spotless and there is a very convenient deli right on the property. There are many different restaurants with entertainment. The food was good to great; everyone is friendly and it's safe. We went to Marigot, the French Market by water taxi $12 round trip. OMG don't have breakfast, go early and eat at the French Cafe. We also hit Philipsburg. It's OK if you're into shopping, big priced items. It's $15 round trip or there is a free bus from the Resort. You just have to listen to the sales pitch from the guy who keeps telling you he's not trying to give you a salespitch. It's worth it.....Great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lormar2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing