We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view! Rooms need updated bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great view! Rooms need updated bad.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

When I called Interval to book I specifically asked for a building at the bottom of the resort (specifically the marina building) because I had stayed here many years ago and knew about the hills. My mother was with me and this would have been difficult to walk around for her. When we checked in we were told we in the B building. I expressed my concern about the hill and was told "we will gladly pick you up and take you anywhere on the property". We were taken to our unit and we were in the bottom of the building. It overlooked the parking lot and dumpsters with a small view of the ocean over rooflines. The room was VERY dated and puke green. I told my mom I was not settling especially since the first of October is very low season.

Went to lobby and asked to be moved. They told me Interval gives room assignments and when I told them I had been promised the Marina buidling they seemed surprised but after checking with a supervisor we were moved to the room right next door to what I was promised!! We also asked the availabiltiy of the new building and was told to upgrade was $650!! You would think if they are trying to sell the timeshares they would put you in the nicest room but those set empty.

Room was much better but still very dated but the color was turquoise not green. We did have a wonderful view though. The marina as you can guess has a view of marina and we could watch boats come and go. The room was large and the patio was huge. The room had all the essentials and was nicely laid out. The king size bed was comfortable.

I was not very impressed with the restaurants on site. We ate at Bon Appetite one breakfast but overpriced. Italian Rest no business and the the Stone expensive. The ice cream shop was closed the whole week we were there and another restaurant looked closed for quite some time. We walked to the Greenhouse twice (just down the road) and it was very good. We also ate at Zee Best on the main road which was good. We ate at Pineapple Pete and it was good and Grill Carribean flavors which was okay. We also went to the French side twice. Monday was a ghost town and Wednesday was fun because of the market. Also went to Dutch capital twice had fun shopping there.

Room Tip: Marina building is quiet, close to marina pool and close to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetAayNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    425
    209
    84
    47
See reviews for
290
514
53
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This resort used to be called The Pelican. This was our fifth visit, the first since it changed names and ownership. While "The Villas" appear very nice, the rest of the resort is pretty much like it has always been, very old and run down. Even the "renovated rooms" that were done 3 1/2 years ago are old. It took 2 1/2 hours and three rooms before we found one we would take. We were supposed to have a two bedroom, but settled for a one bedroom on the beach. The two bedrooms in the B buildings are not really two bedrooms but a ground floor studio and a first floor one bedroom joined by an interior steep, dark, narrow staircase. The ground floor unit smelled of mold. The B building balcony overlooked 6 large construction dumpsters because they had gutted the building next door - although all work had ceased while we were there. This resort has some real problems with toilets failing (3 times in 6 days). It is too bad it wasn't maintained over the years, the beach is great, a good location, but the resort needs cleaning and renovation - much more than what they are saying they are doing.

Room Tip: If you want on the beach, go for the F building. Avoid both B buldings (B1 and B2) due to a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live4abeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmacani
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the resort. Stayed in the F building right on the beach. Brother and Sister in law did an interval exchange. Room described as the "penthouse". The housekeeping was still cleaning the room it was 3 pm. The room had a big area of fallen plaster under a window and the air wasnt working in the living room.(F-16) Called to the front and was moved to F16 2 bed/2 bath 2 floors. Much better. Right on the beach our balcony under the palm trees with great beach view. Internet worked all week in the building. Of course the rooms are all furnished identically, tropical wicker furniture. Villas were closed for the week for maintenance as we had serious thoughts of upgrading even before we arrived because of the comments made. But... all was satisfactory. Since it was low season many restaurants were closed. Marigot looked like a ghost town as many of the places were closed. Took the island tour offered at the resort. Nice tour. The pools were sparkling clean and not busy. Rented a car from the company on site. Was leery with all of the negative responses of renting vehicles in St. M. Again they were very helpful and had no trouble renting for 2 days. The walking was up and down hills thru the whole resort. Good thing we had rooms at the beach and near the pool or it would have been horrible. Certainly not the RITZ but served our purpose. Took the Tango sunset cruise, best time ever and food was plentiful as well as the rum punch.

Room Tip: If you love the beach get the F building, right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmacani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in St. Maarten for two weeks for our honeymoon. We spent our second week at the Simpson bay Resort. We used a timeshare and unfortunately were placed in the "B" section of the villas which is at the top of a very steep hill and quite far from the water and all the restaurants. I guess that didn't much matter since we had a rental car and ate most of our nice dinners over on the french side....but it was disappointing after spending a week at another resort that put us right on the beach even though we were a timeshare user. We asked if we could get a better room and were told we would have to pay a 450 dollar upgrade fee for the week to stay in a room closer to the marina that had better amenities. We opted to not pay this ridiculous fee and dealt with the poor quality of the room in the B villas. Our money was better spent enjoying and exploring the island.

The room was a one bedroom...huge actually but really empty and not cozy at all. Nothing on the bare white walls, the bedroom was right on the walkway outside the resort so we had to keep the shades closed all the time. It was dark and dreary in there. We checked in very early to our room...around 1pm on Sunday. The desk never said anything, gave us our key and told us where our room was. When we walked in- housekeeping had a bucket they were cleaning the floors with but were no where to be found. The bed wasn't made, there were hairs all over the bathroom floor. I understand we checked in early but shouldn't they have at least told us our room wasn't finished being cleaned before they sent us up there? Not a good first impression. The housekeepers eventually came and did a very poor job cleaning the place. The hairs were still all over the bathroom. GROSS.

We never saw a housekeeper again until we called on Wednesday and they said they would send someone over. Very different from our other resort where someone came on a daily basis. We never saw housekeeping after that either. They also knocked on the door to tell us they would be "spraying" our room for insects on Tuesday. We obliged and let them come in and spray the corners of our room for insects since we had been seeing little tiny ants crawling around when we dropped even the tiniest pieces of food on the floor. They continued to get worse even after the spraying. There were ants EVERYWHERE. Crawling on the floor, the walls...everywhere.

Lastly, our internet only worked for about 3 days of our 1 week stay. We called on Wednesday to tell them it was down and they said it would be fixed the next day. Ok- so we understand Island time...fine. The next day- not fixed. The person at the front desk said that the IT person said it was fixed but people had still been complaining. She told us to call back the next day. The next day...not fixed. The day after that...not fixed. It never got fixed at all during our stay. We certainly didn't come to the island to play on the internet but it was just another thing that went wrong.

One good thing I can say is that everyone was very nice and there was hardly any other guests around so we were able to pretty much own the pool by our villas and invite friends we had met over and play our own music. We had the whole place to our selves. That was pretty nice.

Room Tip: I guess if you don't mind spending 450 dollars- upgrade to the marina villas. They are much nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labelle00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here one night in between villas we rented on the Dutch side and then the French side. It was a very pleasant night and I would stay again. We were in a condo that had a nice sized open kitchen with full appliances, large living room and large master with double vanities. Everything was granite top. Water pressure and AC worked great making a very comfortable stay.

The balcony overlooking the bay was wonderful and so fun to watch the boat activity. My husband captured a sensational morning shot of a rainbow after a morning rain.

We did not use the pool or dine at the restaurant but did go across the street to Bon Appetit twice and it was quite good and had live acoustic guitar player that was enjoyable.

We were with two other couple and requested staying next door to them so walking back and forth and having breakfast and happy hour together in one of the condos around the large round table worked great for togetherness while still giving us privacy in our individual spaces.

This location is great if you want to be in the middle of a lot of restaurants and nightlife. The casino and piano bar are across the street too.

Our check-in was a little tedious and I am not sure if that's because we are Americans or because our stay was last minute. You might plan ahead for that to save time. They wanted all our driver's licenses, verified payment by American credit several times, had a hard time with American Express etc. We were three couples checking in so that was part of it I am sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherDavisOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I own 1 week at the villas and have been coming to Simpson Bay (formerly ) the Pelican for several years. We don't want or need a lot of pampering. We get groceries for breakfast and lunch at the market out on the main road (Welfare Road). We love the resort, the beach, the people and all of the restaurants, some within walking distance of the resort. Some restaurants we love are Pineapple Pete's, Chesterfields (not within walking distance), and Jimbos. The Red Piano bar is right on the property and usually has a unique entertainer. I look forward to waking up before sunrise, making coffee and watching the sunrise over the mountain and light up Simpson Bay. We always take one of the sunset dinner cruises and some other excursion. There is a trip to Marigot via a small boat across the bay is only 15.00 round trip and on Wednesdays there is a big open market. We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The only time the TV is on is to check the weather the day before we go home. The beach water is so calm. I would recommend Simpson Bay for anyone who wants a relaxing vacation....Books, bathing suits and cold drinks!!!!! We love St. Maarten and are already looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: If you want High tech and all the perks of American business travel, opt for the Marina Residences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubblehead_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at this resort in Sept. after Labor Day 2012 and this is my second time at this resort. They placed me in the "b" section of the villas. Check-in was quick and the receptionist was kind of pleasant and friendly, otherwise, the stay was great. My studio room was clean and for the 4 days I stayed I had a cleaning lady. Simpson Bay resort is near restaurants and bars. Not impressed with the Buccaneer Restaurant & Bar down the hill from the resort. If you want to eat local food (carib) check out the restaurants near the fish market over the bridge in town. It is walking distance and the prices is reasonable and good. The beaches
is unbelieveable beautiful. The Greenhouse is also down the road near the Buccaneer, food and drinks are good. Try their happy hour from 4:30 to 7 PM. St. Maarten is the way to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elain051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing