We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Martin Nov 2011 Simpson Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“St. Martin Nov 2011 Simpson Bay”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Keeping in mind there is a difference in Island time verses the states, it was a little disappointing. Like others, we also where given a very outdated room, the upgrade was $450 (due to not being in season yet) which was worth every penny. Although we had to wait 3 hours & then the room wasn't made up. I will say the staff at the resort was very pleasant.
A couple of things I would have found helpful to know prior to going..
-Yes gratuity is added to the cost of dinner (ranging between 10 - 20% depending on the restaurant). Pineapple Pete, Valentino's Bistro, & Jimbolo were okay, Skip Jack wasn't very good at all. Fusion which is near the cinema's was very good along with the La Vernada Cafe which was on Orient beach. The Bucaneer which is located on the beach by the resort was very good, reasonable prices for both drinks & decent food.
-The small corner stores are much more reasonable in price than the big grocery store by the burger king. We paid $190 for two bags of groceries at the big store not knowing the smaller ones are almost 1/2 the price.
-Fishing my other half spent $175 and didn't catch anything, it seemed to be the theme with several other people that we chatted with all of them utilizing different boats and didn't catch anything. Only 1/2 day excursions where available unless you chartered an entire boat for $1000+
-Crime on the island is nasty, sitting on the beach minding his own business was threatened by 3 locals for his monies.
-Traffic is very congested I thought I was commuting into to Boston trying to get back to Simpson bay, I should have back tracked and gone back through the French side.
-Philipsburg - I went by ferry for $13 it was well worth it, shopping was reasonable if you negotiate your prices. The little frozen drink place by the pier was great.
-Marigot Bazara - appeared to be geared for the tourists, the same thing over and over. I didn't buy anything and picked up the gifts in Philipsburg.

Room Tip: The villa's have the best view of the bay, although a little loud at times from the beach bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    433
    211
    85
    50
See reviews for
299
524
55
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Check-in took an hour - the workers may be on island time, but we were on vacation time and we wanted to get on with our vacation! The room is basic - King bed, small kitchen. View of the ocean is partially obstructed by the chain link fence with barb wire on the top. Our room was across the street from the main building. We were immediately greeted by our "host" who dropped us like a hot potato once he found out we were moving to our time share the next day! We will not be staying here again. The security guard was the friendliest and most helpful!

Room Tip: Ask for the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsherlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We have traveled to St Martin many times. this is the first time we stayed at Simpson Bay Resorts. On arrival we were given a condo up on the hill, the Ekevator to the 4th flor was broken. My husband has a bad knee and there was no way he could climb 4 flights of stairs, after much discussiopn with the front desk we got a 1 bedroom condo overlooking the Marina.
The room on entering was vey warm come to find out the only air conditioning unit was in the bedroom. The kitchen was out dated cabinet doors slammed on shutting. the coffee pot only worked if you held the top down on the pot, the toaster only worked if you held the handle down. The air conditioner leaked leaving puddles of water on the floor. To exchange towels you had to climb the hill to the guard shack, towels were not available near the beach or pools.
The laundry room required tokens again you had to climb up the hill to the towl shack for sais tokens. 2 washers were broken. Having visited St Martin Many times this resort was not up to par for my standards.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plonowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flint
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

My husband surprised me for my birthday with a week away at Sint Maarteen. The resort staff is friendly and helpful, the pools and grounds well cared for. Rooms are nice, clean and well equipped. You will not use your credit cards on the island, just USD. The food and drink on the island is very reasonable for a vacation hot spot. You should take the Tango Dinner Cruise from the resort. Also try the "happy Hour" boat. Alexandrias cafe above Bon Appetite is great food and a great price. You will want a car for at least part of your trip. Be sure to go to Grand Case. Eat at LoLo's!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank momaryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

In my opinion there is no better location in Simpson Bay. I much prefer this beach to Royal Palm or the beach right next to the runway. There is so much to do here that you can get away without a car and walk to a different place to eat every day. Although I do highly recommend a car to see other beaches. It's a very fun beach but far from St. Maarten's best. Here's the thing about SBR. Your opinion can wholly depend on the room you get. The newer building is the Villas. Everyone loves these. They are new and beautifully decorated. The older rooms are very old and some have been refurbished and others have not. Royal Resorts has just taken over this resort within the past year and my feeling is that the whole resort will be upraded to meet the quality that is expected of them. That said, even though my room was not refurbished we found it to be perfectly fine. It could use a new tile floor and new kitchen counter but overall it was very clean and well maintained. It didn't hurt that it was a large, 2 bedroom unit, right on the beach. The bedding and fabric on the furniture and drapes were all relatively new. The kitchen was clean and well appointed. The grounds here are always very nice and all the pools are maintained beautifully. There is a casino, deli and multiple restaurants. Most of the property has beautiful views. Just check out which unit you will have before you get here and you should be fine. There are some clunkers that face away from the ocean or have their view blocked. The AC units in some are old so if there is a musty smell that is a problem they should be able to move you to somewhere better. We have been here over the years and that happened to us once. We had to wait until Monday when all the timeshare owners checked in to see what was available and they moved us with no problem. What we like best about SBR is the great hotel beach. It's very nice to have an good beach right there for days we don't want to explore other things. Lots of chairs available with palapas and umbrellas. There are 2 good beach bars/restaurants right on the beach with happy hours etc. SBR shares this beach with the Flamingo which has Toppers by the Sea right there on the beach. The beach attendants are great guys, the towel lady can be a little off putting but we had fun trying to make her smile. Service in general was very good. If you are expecting the Ritz it's not for you. However, for the cost and location I really think this is a great place. St. Maarten in general is a busy island with lots to offer. It has recently been congested around this resort with traffic due to construction. There is a lot to do within walking distance and a great water activities place right there called Aquamania. Book a day trip to snorkel and visit another island and you can leave right from here.

Room Tip: New Villas building is the newest and nicest. Otherwise F building on the beach or Marina building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Simpson Bay Resort and Marina October 2nd through October 8th. We used a time share bonus week which equated to $27 per night for our stay. We had an efficiency room located on the far side of the hotel. The room was adequate in that is was nice sized and clean. Maid service was provided only on Wednesday. The hotel is old and in need of modernization. Restaurants are within walking distance. This is a great hotel if you are on a budget and don't care about all the fancy necessities. The AC worked fine, we had 22 TV channels and free internet service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I'll start with the bad! My wife and I (mid 50's) have stayed at many timeshares and most times we find our trade to be acceptable. Fortunately or unfortunately we own one of the top 10 timeshares in the world as rated by other timeshare users so we are used to good accomodations. Our stay was for two weeks in August. We were given a very old room with a wall hung air conditioner that could not keep up; was loud; and because of the lousy AC, the room smelled of mold. My wife could not sleep in the bedroom because the smell was so irritating to her. But the view from this room was spectacular (M building) overlooking Simpson Bay. We put up with it the first week but were not real happy. The second week we were supposed to get a studio so we negotiated with management, and ended up paying an extra $300 for a 1 bedroom in the new building. If you choose to go to this resort pay for the upgrade. I hated having to do that but the rooms are more closer to what we are accustomed. I am surprised that Royal Resorts puts their name on this place. The new building, yes, but the old is not managed properly. We own a Royal in Cancun and find the mangement to be second to none. So the good part are the new Villa's. Exept it would be best to stay on the wing further up the hill. The sewage treatment for the complex is on the lower side and some days we would smell the odors and early in the morning they would discharge into the bay. I only hope it was treated sewage and not raw. Most of the staff were helpful but you could see that the employees were not exactly happy with management. Just a gut feel. This place is in a great location but they need to put some money into it to bring it up to standard.

Room Tip: Budget for the upgrade to the Villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichieV07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,205 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Property: Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina St. Maarten-St. Martin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing