We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We just returned from the Atruim and I have to say I was very disappointed with the resort. We stayed in a one bedroom condo.

There are only 3 very important things that we look for in any place we stay. Comfort of bed, cleanliness and the beach.
The rooms are clean! The beds are like sleeping on plywood and the beach is pitiful!!!

The place is in desperate need of renovation. From what we heard from frequent visitors to the Island the resort hasnt made any real renovations in the past 10 years. In the bathroom the toilet was stained the tub had chips all over it. The vanity lights are very dim.

The room didn't have central air conditioning. It had 2 units, one in the bedroom which was very loud and one it the living room. The one in the living room is inserted into the window that connects to the balcony. The heat from it made it impossible to enjoy the balcony.

The beach seem to be the place for dogs of all sizes to run wild and for dog owners to walk there dogs. So you can imagine what was being left on the beach. The beach was very small with very cloudy water. We rented a car and drove to other beaches during our stay.

If you enjoy a pool you will be very disappointed. The pool is very small!!!!

The island is nice and there are alot of things to do. Go the Phillipsburg for shopping. We found a great shop for all of our souvenir's called Cool Craft. The address is 143-B Front Street. The lovely couple that own the shop were very gracious and helpful. The prices were the best we found and the items in the shop were handcrafted and unique. I highly recommend looking there first! Tell Cindy and Amit (owners) that we sent you!

Take plenty of cash with you when you visit St. Martin. Gas station and most places other then the larger restaurants don't take credit cards.

Go the Maho Beach to watch the jets land, Baie Orientale Beach for waves,Inet Pinel for snorkeling.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank GFoernsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 604 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2006

As an RCI points member we wanted to visit a new island in the Caribbean. I reviewed the possibilities and came up with Sint Maarten. The Atrium was one of only a few possibilities. Boy, did I make a mistake! Ok, other reviews say its clean. It was clean. Other reviews say the beach is nice. Ok, the beach was nice---not a "Carribean blue" like the French side, say Orient Beach, but nice all the same. This is where the nice talk ends. This is an OLD hotel when it comes to the sunny warm water resort business. They offered me a free rent-a-car if I took in a timeshare presentation at the Atrium. Sure, why not as I am staying there anyway. I'm not against timeshare but really---never at this place or on this island. Look, a modern resort needs space, a large lobby, check-in/out, high ceilings and some s-t-y-l-e. It needs a lot of beach area, lots of rooms facing the ocean, a huge free-form pool, activities, etc. They call is "ultra modern" (1993). That is NOT modern......it's time to load the resort with Las Veges dynamite and bring it down and start over again. Heck, right next door is a nice vacant property twice the size of the Atrium resort, beachfront land that the Atrium needs to buy and really build a resort.
Now for the island. What are they thinking? The practically only road around the island is very narrow, off-cambered, no rain drainage with ONE lane on each side, with not much in the way of a "white line" to seperate the ultra intolorant local drivers. They HATE us tourist, always tailgating, honking at us, driving fast around us, etc. And they call Sint Maarten the "Friendly Island"????? Its even on their license plates.
AND THEN----the developers are building new resort within 5 feet of the roadway making it impossible to wider the darn road. Who is running the show in Sint Maarten? Beats me! Food in the resturant was priced so high we opted to buy ALL our food in the local market and cook in the room. That's no fun! However on the UP side was the bargains I found in the liquor department. Very good prices in RUM anyway. That's all I bought and was VERY happy with the prices. Brought home 6 bottles as I know that customs does a crappy job of checking luggage.
Its back to good old Mexico for me where the people are so nice, warm, friendly and the resorts KNOW how to treat the tourist that KEEP THEM IN GROCERYS. Viva Mexico. I have written reviews before for this website and NEVER knocked a resort till now. So in closing I'll say this----if you want to have a great time I suggest an "all-inclusive" resort in Mexico like "Blue Bay Getaway" in Cancun or "Canto Del Sol" in Puerta Vallerta. Amen.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank scooterthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Albany, New York
118
Reviewed June 13, 2006

My boyfriend and I traveled to St. Martin for 8 days, 7 nights in June. Great time to go as it is the start of the off season. Stores, restaurants and beaches had no crowds. A few beaches we went to had less then 15 people on them. The Atrium was a great place to stay. We had a large bedroom with sliding glass door that went out onto a balcony, large tv, ceiling A/C, fan, and lots of closet space. Adequate bathroom. Big kitchen for cooking a few meals in to save money or if we didn't feel like going out. Pull out sleeper couch, ceiling fan, A/C, tv in the living room area with a table and 4 chairs. The balcony off the living room area was very large and had views of both Simpson Bay and Simpson Bay lagoon and surrounding hills. People are ripping the decor apart on these reviews... it was adequate (not an eye sore). Plus they are aparently upgrading the decor soon. There was two small pools to swim in but we preferred the beautiful, calm bay (Simpson Bay). The staff at the front desk were helpful. There was a security gaurd on duty at night in the lobby. The Buccanear Bar is right on the beach outside the hotel. Hot dogs, hamburgers, Chicken and Pizza plus cheap beer. They also have a server that brings you drinks on the beach! You have to rent a car here. We took the "bus" into Phillipsburg one day and paid only $1 per person but we preferred having our own car. We rented a Kia Rio from the Dollar Rental Car at the front desk for a day and the thing had no radio and most noteably... no balls. It bottomed out on most speed bumps and the petal was to the metal going up hills and we were by no means flying. We rented a Rav 4 the rest of the week and were fine climbing the hills and much more comfortable going over the hundreds (possible slight exaggeration) of speed bumps on the island. Dining on the French side was good but over priced $6 for a liter of water, $100 total without appetizer. Shopping was all about jewelery and diamonds and expensive French boutiques. The currency on the Dutch side is the dollar or there's a local currency and the Euro on the French side. Simpson Bay was a great, centrally located place to stay on the island. The beach never had more than 10 people on it. Free chairs and umbrellas on the beach. We had a great time at the Atrium. There was no pressure to buy timeshares.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2006

Very nice resort, we had a wonderful time. The staff is very attentive, the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed (plasma tv, full kitchen, etc.). The decor was fine, slightly outdated (they apparently are getting ready to redo the units) the grounds were clean, attractive and tropical. We had stayed here a couple of years ago and you could see that they keep improving the resort. They do not pressure you at all to buy a timeshare. They had a very nice party on Monday- Food, drinks, live music and several drawings for free gifts-everyone had a good time. The Buccaneer Beach Bar is right there and a fun place to meet people staying at the resort (the food there is really good also, the Pirate Pizza was amazing). The pool area while small was really nice. You could walk to eat Z-Best for breakfast, Saratoga, Jimbo's, Banana's, Pineapple Pete's... all good, all in walking distance. You have to drive to get to the good beaches regardless of where you are staying, so the beach at the resort wasn't an issue - it was clean and there if you wanted it. Walking distance to the marina, day trip to St. Bart's and Snorkeling at Creole Rock both great. We had a wonderful stay at the Atrium, it was quiet and peaceful and perfect for adults who wanted to relax without their children. They allowed us to check in early and provided a two bedroom hospitality suite for our late departure. I would recommend this resort to my friends and I would go back myself, worth every penny.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2006

We traded our Myrtle Beach Time Share for the Atrium. We couldn't have been happier. Everyone was friendly and it seemed like we had known them forever. We had a great time at the bucaneer bar and ate the best hot dog we had ever eaten. I'm serious!!! The room was great and the view of the mountains was awesome. We plan on going again next year, hopefully for two weeks. Would highly reccomend!
CAROLE AND DENNIS
CHATHAM, NEW YORK

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank VAN2JACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2006

Stayed at Atrium Resort for the first 5 days of Honeymoon. Upon arrival to Atrium we were greeted by an extremely helpful and accomadating man named Jack. We had booked our stay through a timeshare exchange. Jack brought us to see two different units he had available and let us choose. The units were crystal clean, spacious and extremely modern. Just downstairs, the beach was beautiful. There is an excellent Tiki-bar named Buckaneer Beach Bar right next to the Atrium beach. Very friendly service and a fun relaxed atomosphere. They serve burgers, sandwiches, and pizza. They also have a waitress who will bring you food and/or drinks right to your beach chairs. The beach was cleaned and raked every morning and there were two uniformed security guards from the Atrium keeping watch. (although in 5 days time, only one beach vendor strolled by to offer us some local crafts)

There is a small grocery right across the street from The Atruim which has virtually everything we needed throughout the trip. The Atrium has an activities desk which will happily arrange an excursion for any guest at the resort. We reccomend the Rhino Riders Adventure, where you get your own 10 foot raft with outboard motor and tour the island with a guide.

Every restaurant we dined in was well above average and within walking distance of the resort. A few standouts:

Picante' - Located directly adjacent to the Atrium. Top-notch spanish style food, romantic atomosphere with seating by candlelight and tiki torches, directly on the beach. Excellent service and live music multiple times during the week.

Lee's - Smoked Ribs, Yellowfin Tuna..... incredible!..... oh yea, and more Smoked Ribs...mmmm (FYI - there is a Spa across the street from Lee's.... i would drop my wife off at the spa, then run across the street to Lee's, sit at the bar and indulge in Ribs and Beer...mmm)

Halsey's - Pan-Seared Grouper w/ a Blue crab and Lobster Sauce, Roasted Garlic, Goat Cheese Whipped Potatoes, and Sautéed Artichoke Hearts...... unreal.

I am glad i referenced the reviews from this site before I chose to stay at the Atrium. Most of the reviews here were right-on and I want to reinforce what a postitive stay it was.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2006

We stayed at the Atrium...The rooms where in need of updating! They looked as though nothing had been done since the 70's, that is probably why it didn't seem crowded...everyone left the property as soon as they awoke. The beach was dirty, that is why it wasn't crowded! There was no restautant! BUT you said that you felt safe!!??!! There was a purse snatching right in front of the place!!!! and it was not late at night...I saw it from my balcony.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mimi2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.1 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
L'Esperance Hotel
L'Esperance Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
70 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.1 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Beach Resort and Spa

Address: Billy Folly Rd 6 | PO Box 1115, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $137 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium Resort & Spa by Festiva Resorts is your getaway in paradise. The smallest island in the world to be shared by two sovereign powers (The Netherlands and France), St. Maarten provides a winning blend of Caribbean hospitality and European sophistication. Rolling hillsides, blue lagoons and breathtaking views are just a few reasons why so many visitors return every year to this island. With its half mile of natural beach and an array of nearby water sports, the Atrium is practically paradise. This quiet, beachfront resort overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea and is minutes from the glamorous nightlife and duty-free shopping of both the Dutch and French sides of the island.Adjoining the resort's pool area is a Spanish tapas bar, Picante. In addition to light and delicious fare, Picante also features a jazz club. If tranquility, luxury and a full-service staff are what you want, the Atrium is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Atrium Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Resort And Spa By Festiva Resorts
Atrium Resort & Spa By Festiva Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium St Maarten
Atrium Beach Resort And Spa St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing