We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a "must stay again" but no major complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Not a "must stay again" but no major complaints”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Atrium for our 10th Anniversary trip through our timeshare trade. Initial impressions left a bit to be desired. The front desk staff was a bit surley but the baggage person was very personable and showed us all about our one bedroom suite. The suite was beautiful (we got a newly refurbished one) with new furniture, two balconies and a beautiful kitchen area. The bathroom and bedroom were fine but fairly unremarkable. We had a view of the mountain behind and the lagoon in front -- stunning. During our week's stay there, we had difficulty closing the sliding door to the main balcony and we had to jimmy it open and closed -- appeared that the lock catch had been majorly "remodeled" at some point. One morning I was in the unit alone and heard a buzzing noise and realized that it was the lock mechanism on our front door (which looked rather ancient from the get go). I could open the door from the inside, but it would not open at all from the outside. While the people were very nice and came to fix it immediately, that was two hours that they asked me to stay in my unit while they came and went to get the right tools, and switch out our card keys. Eventually, the handle to the sliding door broke and the shower rack fell down and we just fixed these ourselves.

The reception area of the hotel looks out onto a rather scruffy but harmless street and the first day we were there, we were accosted by MANY people trying to get us to timeshare presentations, which was annoying. These same people were at the Monday night cocktail party, so we didn't go. By Tuesday, all these people were gone and we did not run into them again.

We never got the "warm fuzzies" from folks at the front desks, but then again, we shirked the cocktail party on Monday and felt that perhaps this put us on a black list somewhere.

The beach is terrific -- quiet and warm with two bars nearby to get drinks from. Plenty of chairs, plenty of sand. The pool is really nice as well but we prefered the beach. The mojitos from The Greenhouse will rock your socks off, and during the time that we were there, they were doing 2-for-1 drinks from 11am to 7pm for Atrium guests.

The grocery store around the corner, while expensive, has everything you might want to cook in. We did not visit the convenience store across the street.

We ultimately ended up renting a car to drive the island because the buses were not as frequent and far reaching on the island as we'd hoped. We rented a car and drove the entire island AT LEAST twice and still only used a half-tank of gas. Easy driving in general, except at night, when the streetlights are dim and people are walking very close to the road since there are few sidewalks.

We had a later flight out and the hotel did set up a "hospitality room" for folks to shower and change in before heading out. That was very nice but the AC in the room was dripping all over the floor so everyone had to keep their luggage up on the beds. This was also a not yet refurbished room so it gave us a perspective on ours -- definitely go for the refurb.

I gave this hotel a "very good" rating because over all, our experience on the island WAS very good. However, we do not feel compelled to re-visit St Martin, and if we did, we would not feel compelled to stay at The Atrium again.

Room Tip: Get a refurbished room for sure and the higher up you are, the better, generally, for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    197
    92
    27
    14
See reviews for
93
279
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlstadt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Atrium is a decent timeshare at best. Property is being renovated. Fight for a newer room. The bathrooms still need updating, even in newer rooms. The floors look dirty because of cracks and chips in tiles. Housekeeping needs to do a better job for sure.

Bibi at customer service was helpful but I had to keep calling her for her to give me a better room. I also had my room door opened, even though I had the "do not disturb" sign on the door. Good thing I had my chain lock on.

Free shuttle to Philipsburg on a weekday, good half-day trip. Car rental to reserve is cheapest price with taxes and pickup/dropoff included. On Monday there is a cocktail party with finger foods and liquor.

The beach is actually a lagoon, not ocean, so the water is not that sparkly crystal blue water you think of when going to the Caribbean. However, it is quiet during off season (Sept.) and the water is fine and warm and refreshing. I was not pleased with stray dogs on beach, and owners with dogs who just open their house doors and let dogs roam along the beach, looking for food, and crapping on the sand.

Pool area is really nice and clean.

Walk to many restaurants and casinos. Green House restaurant is fantastic. Bucaneer is also good, but doesn't have service. Burger King on corner.

Mini mart owned by nasty Chinese across the street. Larger, expensive grocery store around the corner.

You really don't need a car, but its hard to walk in the area due to broken sidewalks when there is a sidewalk. Local bus when you can find it, right on the corner. Take it whereever you go... went to Maho and Mullet Bay for $1.50 a person.

Room Tip: Fight for a newer room, you will not be pleased with a room that hasn't been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

What more do you need? I had a two bed, two bath, fully furnished apartment. The maid comes daily with fresh towels and on Wednesday to change beds, mop, tidy up. Fully air conditioned. Two private decks in unit. Mine (room 407) didn't face ocean but faced green mountains and sun rise. The resort is being refurbished with 42 inch flat screen tv's, stainless appliances, and I didn't see the new furniture but the ones in my apartment where totally ok. Also, small but air conditioned gym had all the essentials. You must eat at the roadside grill in Grand Case, The Talk of the Town. And don't miss any restaurant in Marigot Marina Royal. Forget the Twinky's try the French Pastry at Zee Best for breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Castle_mooreast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at the Atrium and had an amazing time. Though it is obvious that this is an older property the studio that we were in had been recently remodled, complete with granite counter tops and stainless appliances. There was a very large balcony overlooking the beach as well as the bay ( and the airport, lots of great views of aircraft coming and going) . Things that make this property really stand out are: 1. It is directly on the beach, I think there is only one other that is on the beach at Simpson Bay. It was basically like having our own beach during the day, not crowded at all! Crystal clear water and soft sandy beach. Free lounge chairs and umbrellas there too. 2. The Green House restaurant downstairs. Two for one drinks (of anything pretty much) from 11am-7pm. Bartenders Sheldon and Felix are absolutely fab, definitely try a mojito!!!! 3. Great pool area with lounge chairs. 4. The property was exceptionally clean. Definitely recommend!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a corner unit that overlooks both bay and lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drealynnfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved the location of The Atrium. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a clean, spacious 2 bedroom unit. We were all very satisfied with room and resort. We are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trina68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were at the Festiva Atrium Resort from Aug. 3 to 10, 2012, using the timeshare of a friend (arrived on a Friday). They had booked 2 studios for us (2 in each room) and when we arrived, we were told that one of the rooms was "upgraded" to a one bedroom suite with a view of the "lagoon" and that the studio had a view of the water. Turned out that both rooms were the "un-updated" rooms (straight out of the '80's) and the view of the lagoon was actually a view of the dumpster and parking lot. The view of the water from the studio was only if you went out on the balcony and leaned way over and looked to the left. We asked to get different rooms and after the front desk person looked at us as if we were unreasonable, we were told "maybe on Monday). Their housekeeping standards are not what we expected and the toilet in our room was a constant struggle, with leaks and stoppages. We asked for extra towels and pillows the first night and were told that they didn't have them. The staff at the front desk in the afternoons were surly at best. On Monday we asked about being moved and were told to check back on Tuesday. On Tuesday they could only move one of the rooms. The new room was like being in a different hotel. It was recently renovated and was lovely and modern and the toiled worked with no problem! Still not the cleanest I've ever seen but very comfortable and you could see the beach. However, you could also hear the Hookah lounge and bar next door until 2 a.m.. So if you wanted to sleep before 2 am, good luck. When we checked out yesterday, we had a surprise service charge for utilities - about $35. Really? Utilities? I am not ungrateful for the timeshare that my friends shared with me....as I said in the title, if you are interested in a place to stay and are going to spend your days elsewhere at other beaches, book the Atrium Resort and expect less than you might want. Don't count on it as part of your vacation experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room with an ocean view and don't settle for less
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceilia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Been to several Caribbean Island and this is the only hotel that doesnt have customer service. We didnt expect to get a stunning view or an updated room but we were amazed to get an amazing view of the ocean and mountains. When we were changing into our bathingsuits somebody opened the door, the front desk mistakenly gave our room to another guest, no words from the front desk, no sorry and no explanation. We went out to explore the beach when we came back our keys doesnt work anymore. We found out that the room they gave is not really for us, they tried several tricks to move us to another room without acknowledging their mistake. We waited for hours for this problem to be fixed. And since its their fault and no words of apologies from them we fought to stay in the room they mistakenly gave us. Even the Manager didnt do anything or say something to us to fix this problem, he just stood there and talk to his staff in their language, who knows what he is saying. This left a sour taste in our mouth.

Festiva can make their service better by sending their staff to training and programs that will improve their customer service and communication. A warm welcome, "Thank you's and words saying enjoy your stay and we apologize for this inconvenience" to their guest will make a big difference. And another thing is the bathroom, they never clean it, its old, dingy and disgusting, I gagged everytime is use the bathroom. They updated the entire room except the bathroom.

But I wont be bias with this review just because we got a bad customer service, some pros of this hotel are: Good location, amazing restaurants, updated room and nice appliances. The beach is bigger than the other beachfront hotels, ample beach chair and umbrellas. Pool ground is amazing, not huge but always shaded with palm trees.

Try to shop around with accomodations because we checked almost all the hotels in St. Maarten and there are so many nice hotels in a nice location with the same or less price than Atrium.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BryanRocelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.1 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Atrium Beach Resort and Spa
Address: Billy Folly Rd 6 | PO Box 1115, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium Resort & Spa by Festiva Resorts is your getaway in paradise. The smallest island in the world to be shared by two sovereign powers (The Netherlands and France), St. Maarten provides a winning blend of Caribbean hospitality and European sophistication. Rolling hillsides, blue lagoons and breathtaking views are just a few reasons why so many visitors return every year to this island. With its half mile of natural beach and an array of nearby water sports, the Atrium is practically paradise. This quiet, beachfront resort overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea and is minutes from the glamorous nightlife and duty-free shopping of both the Dutch and French sides of the island.Adjoining the resort's pool area is a Spanish tapas bar, Picante. In addition to light and delicious fare, Picante also features a jazz club. If tranquility, luxury and a full-service staff are what you want, the Atrium is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atrium Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Resort & Spa By Festiva Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium Resort And Spa By Festiva Resorts
Atrium Hotel Simpson Bay
Atrium St Maarten
Atrium Beach Resort And Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing