We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of La Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Vista Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a time share type resort, the unit I stayed in was ocean an poolside. Lovely, older, but well maintained. A perfect place to go to just relax, very friendly staff, security roamed, and close to restaurants. Not a lot of children there (which was fine with us) but a mix of honeymooners and people that return yearly. The most awesome sunsets! It's not a luxurious hotel, it's a place to unpack and settle in for a bit, get to know the neighbors, have cocktails on the patio. Lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElmoCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 193 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at La Vista cottages in November 2012 as a timeshare swap and I reviewed it then. We returned in March 2013, this time as a rental in the beachfront building. The proximity to the water only served to enhance the La Vista experience. Everything I said in November still applies about the resort, staff, amenities and location.

The beachfront is a good value for the rates they charge given how close to the water you are. We’ve paid much more at the Westin for an oceanfront room. The room we stayed in might have been a little shop-worn but we looked past that to the awesome view (we even saw the crippled Carnival ship leaving after all the passengers were taken off).

Nothing has altered my high opinion of La Vista. Regarding Wi-Fi, I did not experience the outages some others report here but it is not unusual on the island to find outages or service not quite what it is in the US. I discovered on this second visit that you are not locked in to your room Wi-Fi connection while on the grounds, just search for the strongest signal from any room or cottage and you should get on OK with the same code. If all else fails and you need an emergency connection for emailing home etc, the Taste Factory on the main road has free Wi-Fi, and great breakfasts and desserts!

Admittedly the guests are older and seem to be regulars who form groups by the pool but they are not unfriendly and we don’t spend much time on the grounds during the day or until we return from dinner and nights out so this is not an issue for us.

We hope to make it back to La Vista in the fall. One tip if you go to St. Maarten early in the year and expect to go to the Harmony parade in Grand Case on Tuesday- we saw a tremendous increase in people this March over last February- word has apparently gotten out. Either arrive VERY early (well before 6), or be prepared to park a mile away and walk to the town. There’s plenty to see, do and eat anyway so there is no problem spending a late afternoon there.

Once again, St. Maarten and La Vista made for a wonderful vacation experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

You pay $20.00 per computer for the internet. I could never get on it but maybe 11 or 12 at night on the balcony. It's a very nice place, our room was clean and they bought clean towels everyday. The office staff were very friendly and gave us info on things to do. They gave cards for you to get beach towels. You could switch them out daily We took them when we went to different beaches. There is a $20.00 charge if you do not return them. They had two pools. They did not have a good beach, could not swim due to the rocks. You could go next door to the Flamingo for the beach but I don't think the water was much better. Beaches to go to are Simpson Bay. They have Karakter's, a restaurant made from a school bus. Umbrella's are free if order a drink or food. Le Galion is a very calm beach and good for kids. You can wade a long way out. They rent umbrellas and chairs for $5.00 each. They have palm trees that you can sit under also. $42.00 for chairs and umbrella. Not sure exactly what that included. Club Orient Palm Beach nice beach but There are several restaurants within walking distance as long as you don't mind up and down hills. Grand Case on Tuesday have a festival where the restaurants and shops have everything out on the street. Someone said they had a bus for $95.00, not worth it, but a good thing to do one evening if you want to drive or take a taxi. The Greenhouse, Buccaneers, Jimbo's, is a little further. Skip Jacks I don't recommend. . See review on them for info. They also have a restaurant on site We ate breakfast there and it was good. You really need to rent a car to see the Island. Of course you will run into the time share/ travel club people. Michelle/Cooley who stand near The Greenhouse depending on the day or maybe the place promised us T-Shirts but we never got them. Always had an excuse why she didn't have them. Promised to sent them to our hotel. Didn't happen. Also we were promised a coupon for a Sunset Dinner Cruise for one. Well they didn't have them and said they would be in Tuesday. Of course by then the dinner cruise was sold out for the week. We were able to talk the cruise people into letting us do a sunset cruise for the both of us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbumz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hi - spent a great week at LaVista, Crowd was definitely not family, but more mature couples and it seems the resort is geared that way. Nice clean roomy two bedroom oceanfront. Only downside is the ocean was not accessible due to coral formations directly on the beach front. You have to walk down to the neighboring resort. wasn't far away, but it was much busier than La Vista. Some minor issues, wireless use is charged by the number of devices ($20 per) is stupid and did not work well (reception) within the actual unit. Forget using wireless anywhere except the deck on the unit and a few feet within the living room. Beach issue kind of forces you to rent a car and travel to other beaches (recommend anyway) on the island. AC in the bedrom was very loud at night but we did get used to it after full days in the sun and fell asleep quickly. Nice view of the cruise ships coming and going daily. Very helpful and friendly staff. Did not dine at the hotel resturant. Shopped at Grand Marche and stocked up on breakfast and lunch supplies. bring a cooler, buy your beverages and take them with you. really no pool side service at ocean front pool.

Room Tip: Ocean front complex is preferable. other units are across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CleticsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great Place, Great Location, Great people! We rented on of the two bedroom units at La Vista Beach Resort. If you are looking for a place in St Maarten stop looking and book a room at La Vista Beach. As you can see the beach is rocky right in front of the resort but you can get in the water and swim or snorkel. There are so many great beaches on the island the fact that the is not all sand does not effect the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeMayhak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

WE have been coming to LaVista for over 22 years and many of the same staff are still here in this family run hotel. The views are beautiful, the location perfect and they do a great job maintaining the quaint island tropical feel.

Room Tip: If you want a quaint island experience, no high rise, with a wonderful family staff. Come here for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogacarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at La Vista three times while on St. Martin and will certainly stay there again the next time we go back. It is clean, well managed and located on a hill with beautiful views. Our accommodations have been both studio and one bedroom units. Each unit was adequate, cleaned every day and had great ocean views. Pictures do not do La Vista justice. You will be more than pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RickB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
5.2 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
1,285 reviews
2.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vista Resort

Address: Billy Folly Road 53 | Pelican Key, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $140 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vista Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
La Vista Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing