We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$273
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
$200
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn Hotel(Simpson Bay)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turquoise Shell Inn(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azure Hotel & Art Studio(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveler rating
238
158
35
31
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
158
35
31
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsobservation deckairport runwaygarden viewdogs and catsclose to the airportplanes taking off and landinglow seasonst maartenwhite sandocean frontcable tvthe entire staffsmall poolchairs and umbrellasa king size bedthe main roadrented a car
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 501 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2006

I was completely uneasy booking at this place, however, it was the cheapest I could find and they do offer an airline employee discount. We almost stayed at Le Flamboyant on the lagoon, but upon seeing its location I'm glad we did not. Upon arrival all of my concerns were alleviated. We were greeted by a friendly staff, clean accomidations and by far, the best beach on the island. Our room was on the lower level, a tad bit on the dark side, but not much time was spent there so it didnt make a difference. There was a small kitchenette a medium sized walk in closet and an very nice bathroom with a great shower. The room had an authentic caribbean feel as did the entire property. The dinners looked excellent, but were not cheap, so we did eat there. The honor bar has everything you need to make drinks and is very reasonable in price. The close proximity to the airport was not an issue, after the first jet flying 100 yards from your room it dosnt seem all that loud, but that first one will certainly catch you off guard. No hotel transportation is provided, so plan accordingly. We rented a car the first two days and drove the entire island (a must) and walked or taxied the last day. In retrospect it was about the same price to use a taxi for a day as it was for one days worth of car rental. One of the islands main drags is about a 10 minute walk which has a few choices in food from McDonalds to Mexican. A 10 minute walk in the other direction will take you to Maho beach for all the aviation enthusiasts. Sunset beach bar is a must. At Maho are many of the larger resorts, and for those of us on a budget, we felt free to use their facilities at our leisure.

In a nutshell:

Pros:
Nice Staff
Excellent and CLEAN rooms
Cheap honor bar
One of the lowest prices I found
Walking distance to lower priced dining
Walking distance to Maho
THE BEST beach on the island

Cons:
No hotel transportation to and from airport provided

There you have it, I will certianly revisit this unique place in the not-so-distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank RockBass14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2006

We spent the first week of our two week holiday at Mary's Boon, and having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, were not quite sure what to expect, especially when we spotted it while the plane was taxiing down the runway when we arrived!
We did wonder if a taxi from the airport was really necessary,(we thought we could possibly have walked)!
However, we agreed we wouldn't judge it too hastily, and we were glad that we didn't. Mary's Boon is a very attractive building in the design of a plantation house, surrounded at the front by gardens and palm trees (this is where the small but very handy pool is situated). We were shown two rooms and asked which one we preferred. Both were individually decorated, and both were very, very pretty. We chose a room upstairs in the main house, with a terrace overlooking the beach. It really was delightful.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We were there out of season, so some of the restaurants in Simpson Bay were closed, this wasn't a problem as the food at Mary's Boon (set menu) was delicious, and unusual in that they offered second helpings!
Now we get to what some people consider the biggest drawback, the planes! The big planes, (yes there are 747's), weren't too bad, as they were soon gone and didn't fly directly over the top of the hotel. The smaller inter-island planes flew more often, and their flight path took them directly over the top. Having said all that, the noise was not the problem we envisaged. There were no late night or early morning flights, and we got so used to them that we stopped hearing them after a couple of days.
We would certainly recommend hiring a car if you want to see the island, and although you can walk into Simpson Bay from Mary's Boon, walking back at night can be a trial, as the streets are not well lit.

If you are used to 5 star luxury, then Mary's Boon may not be your cup of tea. If on the other hand, you are looking for a place where you can chill, enjoy the wonderful beach, and do a little plane spotting you should give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Allwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Long Island, New York
17
Reviewed June 8, 2006

My fiance and I just got back from a 3-night stay at Mary's Boon. To anyone looking for privacy and friendly atmosphere - right on the beach- we highly recommend Mary's Boon. We have stayed at other places on the island in past visits, but nothing compared to the relaxing atmosphere at Mary's Boon.

Before I booked our stay, I read other reviews. Yes, it is located right next to the airport. Yes, you can see and hear planes taking off and landing, but we found it quite exciting. So I knew this before I booked it - why would people go there to stay if they read it was right next to the airport and knew that this might bother them is beyond me.

We would definitely stay there again in the future - and we plan to go back. Thank you for your hospitality - Mary's Boon.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2006

Just returned from St. Martin Loved Mary's Boon It was right on the beach, clean and rooms were spacious Not crowded !! Food was delicous Staff friendly and helpful I would definitely go back Airport noise only a problem late afternoon and you learn to ignore it mostly small planes taking off

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JayneOpelikaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2006

After seeing the good reviews on this site and seeing that MB was listed on Conde Nast's Top 10 list, we thought we got a great deal on this hotel. Unfortunately, the resort is just too close to the airport strip. Even though the majority of the planes leaving were small planes, the noise just ruined the tranquility we expected of an island. We spent most of our time staying away from the resort and going to quieter beaches on the island which meant driving the traffic congested roads. We would have preferred to just be at a resort and walk to the beach.

With that said, the resort staff was very friendly and helpful and tried to make the stay as wonderful as possible. Also the Activities Director helped us pick out some nice snorkeling trips and provided great restaurant suggestions. We ate our breakfasts in the resort restaurant and had our first night dinner there. The food was also good though there are some excellent restaurants on the island especially in Grand Case and enroute to Parc Paridis.

If you don't mind the proximity of the airport and the airport noise, this resort is a great deal, but if you are looking to only hear the sounds of the ocean, I would recommend staying somewhere else on the island.

Stayed: May 2006
6  Thank atingster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews