We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVE IT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

we come often to Mary's Boon, food is ok, ambiance is great, it's true it could have more maintenance about lounge and ombrela, but the service espacialy Anna and th beach crew make a such a great relaxing and delightful experience.
Thanks!!!! see you again,

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank lepavillonbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Glad you could spend some time on the beach with us at Mary's Boon and that you had a good time. Ana is a great staff member and always eager to help. I agree, umbrellas could be better but we now have lots of new beach chairs and new umbrellas coming soon! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
There are newer reviews for Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 473 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent the day at Mary's Boon beach as "boonies". No one helped us with getting beach chairs or umbrellas. We opened up 4 umbrellas before we found one that wasn't broken. The beach is beautiful but the water was a little rough. This could have been because we had been getting a lot of rains and maybe there were storms out at sea. We had drinks brought to our chairs and the server was very nice. Drinks were really good!! Almost as soon as we got our drinks it began to rain - no POUR!! We grabbed our stuff - got pretty soaked and went inside the restaurant. We decided to have lunch.
Lunch was very good. I had a ceasar chicken salad and husband had a burger. Both were very good. We also split a chocolate lava cake - which was to die for!! Same server - very good!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEORGE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thanks for spending the day at Mary's Boon ! The hotel does lease out the bar and restaurant part of the business to a third party operator and on most days has staff to help day guest with chairs and umbrellas. I believe as you said they day you came was not the best weather day so the normal beach person was not there to help you get a working umbrella, etc. Happy to hear you did enjoy your food and the great drinks and the service was good and even on rainy days its nice to look over the Caribbean. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel and grounds are very unique. The setting is adjacent from the airport, and yes the planes are loud, but I thought it was quite the experience to witness aircraft so close to a beach setting. The resort is small, quaint and has a ton of flare - cute interesting things to look at in every direction (funny signs). The hotel is warm and inviting and decorated with residential type furniture in the lobby which makes one feel at home.

Check in simple, and friendly. We were immediately upgraded to the beach front room - a little more on why later.

The beach front room was spacious, king bed, kitchenette, sitting area and decent size bathroom and closet. The back door to the unit opened directly on to the beach. I was amazed how close the beach is to the hotel, maybe a few hundred feet, or so. Having a beachfront room makes a day at the beach a piece of cake - just walk out the back door. The beach is just gorgeous. The pool is small, but clean. There is on site restaurant and bar. The breakfast was average, nothing special, but it was enjoyable drinking coffee with an incredible beach view.

The bed was comfy and any noise from the planes did not bother us. The dogs barking at night were more of a nuisance. Once one dog started, the others chimed in. Not sure if these were the hotel, guest, or stray dogs.

Since we were only staying for one night, we originally booked a Lower Garden room. Big mistake, as we immediately saw two dead roaches by the door, and another two in the bathroom. The room, however was very spacious. Elena (Manager), was quite surprised to see the dead roaches as we were. I understand there are bugs in tropical places, but I don't want to see them. Needless to say, there was no way I was going to stay in a bug infested room. Without hesitation, we were upgraded to a beachfront studio. And also, upon check out the next day, Elena gave us a discount, and credited our credit card. So, although I want to give this hotel an "Excellent" rating, especially with the outstanding customer service, I can only give it a "Very Good," due to the bug issue.

I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if want a hotel close to the airport. And it's within walking distance (30 mins.) to Sunset Bar - which is blast watching the planes come in. I would come back again, and pay a little extra for a beach front room - it's really worth it having the beach right off the patio.

Room Tip: Beach front room
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AkronTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for your visit and happy to hear you had a good time despite the room issue at check in. Unfortunately being in the tropic's from time to time we do have minor issues with pests and since we had just some extra rain that always brings them out and on the move and not just at our property. It is very unusual to see anything like that in the guests rooms and we do have all a local pest control company spray all the rooms on a regular basis. They room that you were to have in the lower lobby area had just been sprayed the day before....and the good results were the dead bugs! The room should have been checked by a staff member before taking you to the room but I am happy that you were upgraded right away and offer a discount. So hopefully all is well that ends well! Mary's Boon is a fun and unique property as you said, lots to offer and the staff try's hard to make everyone's stay the very best. We are located in a tourist area but also with private homes close by too so you will see a few dogs from time to time but not normally a problem and I have asked the guard to be more watchful if they do bark. We do have one of the very best hotel beaches on the Island, pretty big and mostly pretty private and not really crowded. Most of our guests come back year after year and I hope you will keep us in mind also for your next trip to St Maarten!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Spent an afternoon here enjoying the view. Had lunch on the beach. Food was wonderful, fresh salad, superbly cooked burger. Great flavor! The service was wonderful; beers were ice cold! Couldn't beat the view.
Can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: You can eat on the beach! Well worth a visit!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SiberianHuskyLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for your recent visit to Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa and for spending the day with us on the beach. What could be better than having breakfast, lunch or dinner while overlooking the Caribbean and the white sand on Simpson Bay. We also have 37 nicely furnished rooms many with incredible beach views so next time come for the week and stay with is also. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went to the beach for the afternoon and decided to park ourselves at Marys Boon. The cool thing about this place is that as long as you purchase something you can use their parking and their beach chairs as opposed to other restaurants that charge you a price for the chairs alone. As for the sounds generated by the airport, well that is what this gorgeous beach is all about, you just get used to it.

The bartender was a total sweetheart and the food was good. All I can say is that It was a lovely afternoon and it was a real nice experience. The cocktails were real yummy and affordable! I would definitely visit this establishment again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joh_Joh_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for your kinds words and yes we do have a great staff that just wants to make sure the food and good and the service is the best. Please do keep us in mind for the next time too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

What a great little hotel tucked away behind the airport!! We spent a day at this resort on our recent trip to St. Maarten. The hotel is is really quaint and cozy and on a quality beach. The best part about this hotel is that they offer free chairs and umbrellas to non guests and the beach is beautiful!! In addition, the restaurant, Tides, is outstanding!!! I highly recommend the beef tips in cream sauce. Delicious!!! We will highly consider this hotel for our next trip to St. Maarten!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Very happy to hear you had a great day on the beach while at Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa. We are lucky to be on one of the very best white sand beaches in the Caribbean and always looking for ways to make it better. In the next few months we will be doing more upgrades to the rooms, beach and property so please keep us in mind for the next time. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I did not know that this hotel ran along side of the airport. We listened to jets take off till 10pm before we had to get up and leave for our early flight the next day. It is deafening how loud it was. The hotel itself is very quaint and cute. It is along a beach. We were just coming back from Anguilla and had to find a one night stay before we left early. Everything seemed fine except when we went to go to bed the one room with a queen bed the sheets were filthy; filled with hair, sand and suntan oil. There was no phone in the room so we had to go to the lobby and they had security bring clean sheets to our room and we made the bed ourselves. I paid $234 for the night and I called today and management said he would check into what happened. I think for that money you could find a better place to stay. The jet noise was horrible. Definitely not a relaxing place. We did eat at their restaurant and it was very good and the service was excellent but I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

I am sorry to hear about your experience in regards to the bed linens as this is not at all normal. When we have any complaints its normally from guests that arrive late in the day for a one night visit and leave very early the next morning as you did or book into the most budget room. I understand that you were in a two bedroom unit and I did speak to our property manager about this who said that the housekeeper simply just forgot to change the sheets on that extra bedroom or was not aware they needed to be changed. We do have experienced housekeepers that are human but at times not always perfect. This is not at all normal or acceptable. They do clean a lot of rooms every month for hundreds of guests and unfortunately sometimes these things do happen and I thank you for calling us to point this out so we can be better. Again my apologies as did the property manager already for the inconvenience as their is NO good excuse for that at all and the housekeeper has been warned and disciplined. If you feel compensation is due other than this, we can do that also but I feel we did resolve the problem the best anyone could and in fairly quick time, the airplanes stopped and everyone got a good night rest. I can not really answer the no phone comment as their are two phones, a phone in the master bedroom with the King Size bed and also a phone in the living room. If you did not get a dial tone right away sometimes you need to wait apx 5 seconds to connect. The hotel rate you paid for a two bedroom is really very competitive and very fair for the time of year you stayed which was just at the end of our high season as you may know from what you must have paid while in Anguilla. As for as the airport and any noise, all I can say is that the hotel has been there for 44 years and over the many many years thousands and thousands of guests have stay with us without issue about the airport at all. Its not that uncommon for Hotels to be close to or even next to the airport as we are and we share that same very close airport area with some of the best and largest hotels on the island, Sonesta Maho, Caravanserai, BeachSide Villa's both at the start of the runway to name just a few. We are more toward the middle which is better but the big and great difference is that we are lucky enough to be on one of the very best and longest white sand beaches on the island. Any noise is really minor when you compare the many more great reasons to say at Mary's Boon such as the beach and great staff is why our guests come back year after year and leave tan and happy and even relaxed. The airport is not normally a busy airport but jet flights do come and go but pass very fast and for a spit second yes it can be loud if outside but really in most rooms its not a problem...for most. Saturdays can be busy but after about 4pm most jet flights stop and at 1O pm their should have been just one arriving flight and then the airport does close for the night. If not for the airport and its height restrictions we would have a beach full of high rise buildings which would ugly up things and make it crowded so for that reason the airport is a blessing. We do appreciate all comments good and bad as we learn from that and appreciate constructive criticism. But the for those not knowing first time guests the "stay somewhere else" headline is a bit misleading given all the other great things our many guests (again not all) have to say and that have experienced more than just one night. I would say a little more accurate review would be we heard a few jets that passed pretty fast as did everyone else in Simpson Bay or staying close to the airport........ cause trust me its not just exclusive to Mary's Boon and everybody in the area hears the airport which is again not normally a big deal (for most) and not a good reason to not to enjoy all the great benefits of staying in what is considered a tourist area with lots to do and see. And if fact , the airport is famous for being one the most exciting and fun airports in the world and many come just to see the take offs and landings. As they say, two people can see the exact same thing completely different. Obviously the airport is a issue for a few and even a surprise to a few at first, but I can say as many already know Mary's Boon has a great repeat guest list that include who's who, fortune 500 CEO's, some celebrities and just a lot of great people from all over the world. With new ownership in late 2012 the Hotel as made a lot of improvement to the property and the rooms and more will be coming in 2014. We have been voted in the Top Ten Best Hotels in the Caribbean twice in past years by Conde Nast magazine and just voted the best hotel on the island in 2013 in the St Maarten Daily Herald Newspaper. This is not review board forum opinion but fact. I would say that most (not all) of our guest say the Hotel is definitely very relaxing if you just give it a day or so to do so and the staff is very caring and among the best you will find. Thank you for your visit and for the kind words on the restaurant and its service and hopefully if you ever make it back this way and have more time you will give us a chance again and so you can really appreciate the hotel and all it offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
1.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
3.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $88 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing