We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price/quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fair price/quality”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I had a beachfront room for seven nights with 2 colonial single beds.

The room is good, spacious. Housekeeping was good.

Pro's:
- space
- beach
- kitchenette in the room
- friendly staff
- location (airplanes are not the frequent)

Con:
- micedroppings in the bathroom every morning
- tv did not work

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rbrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    151
    34
    27
    32
See reviews for
56
246
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Great place great atmosphere .... loved being so close to the airport and the runway but far enough away for it to be peaceful beach was great and pretty private no crowds the staff was friendly and helpful can wait to go back !!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jims767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I vaction in St Maarten every August and depending onthe airfares, we sometimes arrive a day earlier thanour timeshare begins. This year we thought we would try out Mary's Boon. We see it every year when we land on the airstrip and the reviews seemed favorable. Plus the idea of opening our door and having the beach right in front of us seem enticing.

The road to Mary's Boon is extremely rustic but we are used to that in some areas of SXM so we were not really bothered. But once we arrived and walked in to the place, we were a bit taken back. First of all, it looked deserted. There was no one in the courtyard or the pool and when we walked up the stairs, there was no one in the dining room. Walking further in, we saw a man on the phone in what appeared to be an office. I waited til he was done with his conversation and then walked in. The place was a mess and he seemed less than enthusiastic about having to check us in. One of the things we thought about this place before arriving was that it would have a more intimate, welcoming feel. Apparently we were wrong.

He showed us to our room and upon entering, I have to tell you, I wanted to just get in the car and leave. Although it was a large room with beautiful, heavy furniture, it was obvious that it has been quite a while since any care was taken here.

Hardware was missing from the drawers. The toilet seat was cracked and filthy. There is no way I would have ever showered in that bathroom. The bedspread was worn and the decorative pillows on the bed had rips in them. The toaster was filthy and partially melted and the fridge was so off balanced that every time we opened the door, everything inside would topple out. Also, all of the shelving on the door was gone so you could not put any drinks there and had to cram everything on the two small shelves. When I tried to pull on the fan pull to turn the light on, it felt as though it would break off in my hand from being so old so we did without.

The TV never worked. They said they were updating the system and it would work in a while. Well, a while never came.

I will say that the ocean was right out our door which was the only plus but certainly not worth staying in what I can only say was a dump. And as for the pool in the courtyard, tiles were missing and the bar looked as though it is never used now. A shame because it looked like it could be a lot of fun if only someone was out there manning it.

This place needs a lot of TLC. I hope some day it gets it because the location is super and the rooms are a great size. How about just putting a little love back into it? And it wouldn't hurt to be more welcoming when a guest arrives. It's not like you had a lot of poeple staying there.

And for all of you who complain about the airport...it is not that bad. In fact, we find it one of the most charming things about SXM. Watching those jumbo jets come and go less than 100 yards away never gets old.

Unfortunately, I have to say book somewhere else. This is not as charming as you would think....just old and tired.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dejais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My third trip to Mary's Boon and it's still the perfect place on my favorite island. This time we stayed in a one bedroom beachfront and it was perfect. The staff, still the same gracious group, are so kind and so willing to make your stay wonderful. The perfect laid back place where you can do absolutely nothing (which I prefer), and have the most perfect beach directly at your door - literally. While most rooms have a view to die for, the beachfront rooms on the ground floor are best with no obstructions, just absolutely beautiful beach views with sand beneath your feet as soon as you step out of your room. Molly and Stripe (resident canine's) are a joy to have around and spent lots of time with us. We can't wait for our next trip as we will never get tired of this beauty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelertostmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Mary's Boon was fantastic for the following - BEAUTIFUL non-crowded beach, close to restaurants, shops, airport. Comfortable beds, beautiful grounds.
Mary's Boon was TERRIBLE for booking. We tried to switch the day after we booked, for a stay over 8 months in advance and we nearly lost $300 for the slight change (one night cancelation). It was very stressful trying to reason with the management, who in the end did credit the money back, but acted like they were doing us a huge favour. Mary's Boon also claims to be eco friendly, but they don't seem to be using any of their eco policies (eg. refillable shampoos were empty, mini bottles were provided, there was a pipe which drained water directly on the beach from the main resort, and the lawn chairs were left out all night despite it being a barrier to the baby hatching turtles). Overally we were happy with it, but felt let down by the booking policy/procedure and the false claim for ecofriendliness.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

After a long and stressful 2010, my wife and I needed to get away. We had heard about St. Maarten and planed a trip for March.

There is a lot of hotels to choose from in St. Maarten but we wanted something right on the beach. After a little looking we found Mary's boon.

After a very long flight from Vancouver, we arrived at the hotel. It only took us about 5 minutes from the airport. The cab was around $10.00.

The resort is smaller and just what we wanted. We had a nice beach from studio and could walk out to the beach in the morning. Some mornings we would take breakfast back to the room and drink our coffee while our feet dangled in the water.

Raul (The Owner) has family in the Vancouver area so he made us feel right at home. The honour bar was great - and the prices were awesome.

We did eat a few meals at the hotel. The service was about the same as any place else we would go on the island - a little slow. The staff were very friendly and made us truly feel like we were welcome. The food was amazing!

Another great place to eat is "Uncle Harry's". Ask to meet Uncle Harry - he is a wonderful host!

I highly suggest renting a car for a day and going to the french side of the island. The market on saturday is fun.

Room Tip: I would book on the hotels website
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkKent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

My second stay at Mary's Boon and it just gets better. Wonderful laid back atmosphere perfect for relaxing. One of the nicest beaches on St. Maarten; perfect location especially after a 5 hour flight. 5 minutes from airport! All staff so helpful and friendly no wonder there are so many return guests. The food and wine choices were wonderful. Owner always present and visible. If you like small intimate beachfront beauty; this is the place! Can't wait for next trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelertostmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
1.0 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.0 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 117 Simpson Bay Road | St Maarten, Simpson Bay 00000, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO MARY'S BOON BEACH HOTEL & SPA - recently under new management since November 2012 and now busy updating the entire property and rooms. Please note that many of the room photo's you see online have not yet been updated to show the new rooms. The owners and staff of Mary's Boon Beach Hotel & Spa invite you to experience the magic of our historic hotel on the beautiful island of St. Maarten. A true Caribbean style hotel with all the compforts you expect and in operation since the early 70's. This intimately run St. Maarten Small Hotel is tucked away from the crowds, earning Mary's Boon the soubriquet, "St Maarten's Little Secret". Located on a beautiful three-mile beach Mary's Boon is conveniently near to the action. Great shopping, dining, night life and outdoor activities can be found close by, while affording guests a private haven to return to at the end of each day.If all you want to do is to while away hours in the sun, then Mary's Boon has all the elements to ensure a relaxing break away from the bustle of everyday life. The Hotel offers several types of accommodations, from the very budget minded economy rooms to 1 bedroom beachfront suites and amenities include The Tides Restaurant, bar service is from morning to late evening, and a swimming pool is just step away from your room. The winner of many awards and just voted "BEST HOTEL" in 2013 by the readers of the St Maarten Daily Herald Paper! Lovely tropical gardens and all situated on one of the islands' best beaches. Mary's Boon, a classic Caribbean destination, provides a unique Island experience that has something for everyone! It's the NEW Mary's Boon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary`s Boon Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Marys Boon Beach Plantation Hotel
Mary's Boon Beach Resort And Spa St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing