We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bargain if you aren't looking for high end”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Horny Toad Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Simpson Bay B&B and Inns
Carbondale, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great bargain if you aren't looking for high end”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just spent a week here before sailing around St. Martin for another week. This was an absolutely wonderful place to stay. Pros: right on the beach, clean, well maintained, inexpensive, convenient to the airport, friendly, very accommodating -- they will do just about anything to help make your stay comfortable, secure. Cons: no fancy amenities like a restaurant, but there are plenty close by and you have a full kitchen; no pool, but you are steps from the beach; airport is very close, so you hear planes taking off during the day; toilets in the two rooms I stayed were tiny -- pretty much closet-sized. Showers were creatively built -- one outside the bedroom (surrounded by decorative blocks and curtains and the other pretty much inside the bedroom with curtains around it. But if you don't mind these quirks, this is the place to stay. We loved it and would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rweissjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    18
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
70
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Toad every year for the last 4 and love it. The owner and the staff are the best and they make sure your stay is perfect. The view is great and it is right on the beach. My husband and I feel that we were pampered by the wonderful staff. You will not be disappointed when you pick the Toad for a vacation. Last year we stayed for a month !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila Ross N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and loved our experience. We enjoyed the beautiful view of the water from our room and started every morning with a swim in the ocean. The rooms was impeccably clean and the service was top notch for this gem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south amboy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed at the Toad and it was fabulous. Nothing fancy, but very clean and homey. The property manager Betty is wonderful and will make your stay a pure delight. She had our fridge stocked when we got there, renting a car was a breeze. The beach was beautiful and the water great. I will be going back to the Toad on my next trip down to the island.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room which has a nice porch wrapped around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stmaarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for 12 days in April/May. We've stayed at many places in SXM, but never one as wonderful as here. Rooms are spotless and have everything you could possibly need. You walk out your door and you're on the beach. The owner, Betty, is incredible. A real class act! Can't wait to go back again. You will not be disappointed if you choose The Horny Toad Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thequeen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights in Dec. '12, after Christmas. We enjoyed our stay on our 2nd floor room, overlooking the beautiful beach. We liked the sliding security gate, & all the amenities of our room. Betty the owner was great, & made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EddyReimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the upper unit (#2) and his sister and her son and grown daughter in the larger downstairs unit (#5). We went back and forth between both units over the course of our 5-day stay, but I prefer the upstairs oceanview rooms. In Dec/Jan there is a lovely breeze to keep you cool (though rooms do have A/C), and there is nothing like being lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf. But there's just nothing like having that beach all to yourself! Simpson Bay Beach is quiet with few visitors (and most of the visitors we did see had dogs, which made me miss my pooch!). We used the BBQ one night too, and again, it was like having the whole beach to ourselves though it was New Year's Eve.

Betty was more like the owner of a B&B than the manager of a hotel. She offered advice (and in a motherly way, advised us to try to save water and electricity, asked us to keep the suitcases off the bedspread since "airplanes are dirty," and showed us how to keep all the doors locked properly when we were not there or were sleeping). She arranged a rental car for us, and offered advice on where to go to eat, to scuba dive, etc. She also filled our kitchen with the food we requested, which was a really nice bonus, especially since we had not yet arranged a rental car and did not know our way around.

We also really enjoyed the housekeepers, two sisters from Jamaica, who were very friendly (and cleaned all of our dishes each morning though we never expected them to do this). They tok good care of us too!

Though we toured most of the island, we loved Simpson Bay and how quiet and relaxing it was compared to the island's other beaches. Staying at the Horny Toad is like staying at your own private beach cottage, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing place to chill and get away from it all.

Room Tip: I recommend upstairs facing the beach as there is a nice breeze and a great ocean view, unless you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamlaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Philipsburg
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horny Toad Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horny Toad Guesthouse

Property: The Horny Toad Guesthouse
Address: 2 Vlaun Dr., Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horny Toad Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horny Toad is a deliberately small and distinctive guesthouse known for its congenial and unpretentious atmosphere. The original building is a former governor's house tastefully renovated into spacious, fully-equipped apartments. Each of the eight apartments is delightfully different, displaying a personality of its own. All rooms have fully-equipped kitchens, king size beds, complete baths with shower, and daily maid service. Fresh flowers are arranged in the units every day. The guesthouse is on the beach and provides beach chairs, towels and floats. An outdoor barbecue pavilion with two Weber gas grills, table and hammock allow you to enjoy dining beach-side. Simpson Bay beach is a beautiful, uncrowded mile-long beach - just a few steps from each apartment - great for walking, swiming and sunbathing.The Toad has been awarded Fodor's Choice Award each year including the most recent in 2012. They called us the "island's best value" on the Dutch side of St Maarten.This is a No Smoking property. No children under seven years of age, please. We can arrange to have a rental car for your use and stock your unit with food before arrival upon request. There is free high-speed WiFi in all the units and a complimentary computer with internet access and printer in the business center/reception area. Free gated parking on the property. Grocery stores, French bakery, shops and multiple restaurants are within a 5-6 block walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Horny Toad Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horny Toad Guest House Hotel Simpson Bay
The Horny Toad Guesthouse St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing