We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Horny Toad Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Simpson Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Several of my family and I are scattered all over East Coast, USA and met up in St. Maarten for a week of fun, sun, catching up, and getting away from the daily grind. We had 8 days divided beteween SXM and Saba and spent our SXM days with Betty here. She and her husband were wonderful hosts, everyone who worked with her was a dream to deal with, the rooms were gorgeous, comfortable and each unique. We also had easy access to anything we may have wanted within walking distance, often without leaving the beach. I highly recommend this location for your own visit. And, don't let the funny name fool you; families of any stripe would be quite happy and comfortable here. I was home three days before I could easily remember what day I was in.

Room Tip: If you want the perfect room; take advantage of how accessible the hosts are before you go; they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MtnCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 114 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

I spent four delightful days at the Horny Toad, after two weeks at the Royal Islander. My goal was to relax and enjoy a quiet 70th birthday - and the folks at the Horny Toad exceeded my expectations in every way. The room was lovely, the daily maid service was luscious (especially the fresh flowers), the hosts were friendly and helpful, and the other guests were very nice as well. (I especially loved Callie, the friendly calico cat!) I couldn't have asked for a better stay - and Betty and Phil graciously honored my desire for "quiet" in all they did (and didn't do :-) !! It was one of the best birthdays I've had! (I had stayed at the Horny Toad a couple of times 20 years ago, and it has only gotten better and better over time - though all my memories are fond ones!) You can't beat the Horny Toad for location, comfort, beach, friendliness, and top-notch Caribbean style! I look forward to being back again soon!

Room Tip: My room was an end unit on the first floor - perfect! I didn't notice a hair dryer in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CKWIrving_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Our stay at Horny Toad Guest House was PERFECT! It was exactly what we were looking for. Our room was right on the beach, and the view breathtaking. Everyone was SO nice and friendly! The rooms were clean and SO cute! The fresh flowers were breathtaking! Thank you for such a wonderful stay in St. Maarten! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful! You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thevandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Our trip to SXM in Feb. was our ninth time on "our" island. We visit each year in Feb. to celebrate our anniversary (no kids on this trip!) by staying right where we got married!

Yep, Mark & I had an AMAZING & TOTALLY UNFORGETABLE wedding with our toes in the sand, the water occasionally lapping at our feet as the sun gently sunk for a typical beautiful Simpson Bay sunset...siigh...Had we not been fortunate enough to somehow stumble across Betty's place online we are POSITIVE our wedding day would have not have been nearly as spectacular! As we all say around the Toad, give Miss Betty a reason to celebrate & she will blow you away with the best time to be had!

Wedding day notwithstanding, we couldn't fathom staying anywhere else on the island (however, to our pals with whom we share our anniversary date, GM.R. & S.R.: invite us & we are there for the night to catch up, etc. You know it! Xo).

Every year at Betty's is a special treat. We feel like we are staying as personal guests with several of our SXM family & friends each year of Betty's. Needless to say, none of us are related & all of the friends we share this annual time period with are folks we have met through Betty &/or the Toad.

THTGH is unique & wonderful for so many reasons beginning with the GORGEOUS beach! Waking up each day to that crystal clear, richly colored turquoise water with a view of Saba in front of you will steal your breathe every time. We all have passed many a day (& cocktail hour!), staring at what is before us with an awestruck feeling of newness only to snap out of it & realized everyone else has been doing it too! Lol, hence discussions on the topic & onto many others must ensue while bottles hiss open & ice clinks in a glass and suddenly snacks begin to appear as more people trickle down to catch up and plan, share, laugh, cry, solve the world's problems & compare tanlines. It does not get better!

Each room of THTGH is special & has a unique "something" about it. For instance, Unit 6bwhich is now known as the "Bridal Suite" ;-) has special tile in the shower that was brought over from St. Barth's! "Our" room is Unit 4 upstairs corner/end which features an outdoor shower! Each room has it's own kitchen, bath w/shower and some sort of seating.

If you are looking for a resort, NOT the place for you! Also, there is not a pool (who needs one with that clean, sparkling gem if the ocean steps away?!), no public bar or anything like that (though we all will share!!), and the House is NOT family/kid friendly. It is meant to be a couples getaway.

For those with concerns regarding airport/plane noise, please keep in mind, there are actually two airports on an island that is only 37sq. mi! The sounds of planes coming & going is all over the island. If you are lucky enough to be STAYING on the island (vs cruising or connecting), you get used to plane sounds super fast and know when the airport "must be slow today" :) . Also, Princess Juliana (sp?) is a big, BUSY international hub...there will be noise, but also some amazing photo ops as the double decker massive planes from Amsterdam or from France glide in - WOWSA!

There are no phones, televisions or clocks in the rooms unless you bring them yourselves. It's vacation! We are SUPPOSED to be outside anyhow!

Yes, the power goes off sometimes, yes the water is PRECIOUS with low pressure; wi-fi can be perfect or as cranky as a tired toddler. These are issues of island living, not specific to the HTGH or even to SXM.

It is alll gooood on The Friendly Island! Come February 2012, if all goes well that is of course, we will all take a moment & raise our drinks to say "thank you" to those either leaving on the ships we see each day as they make their way to/from port &/or to those who chose to stay elsewhere for fancy trimmings while we enjoy our own happy hours with our island "family", our drink of choice, our PRICELESS view in front of our very special, comfortable, clean and lovely accommodations. Why would we say "thank you", you ask? Why for choosing to stay at or go to a place that makes you happy and content and gor leaving our little slice of perfection to those of us that love it!

No matter, give Sint Maarten/st. Martin a chance! There are so many STUNNING beaches if you venture off the typical trip to the very gorgeous Orient Bay. The island will penetrate your very soul if you happily allow it...as we say when we walk out of that airport each year and take after taking a sea scented deep breath, "Ahhh, it really is so good to be home."

Room Tip: Just remember, this is NOT A RESORT nor family friendly! Would hage for amyone to be expecting that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cold1carib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

My boyfriend, who had his sailboat docked at St Maarten,stumbled across the Horny Toad while looking for aplace for us to spend some private time when I came to visit for a week between his sailing around the world.
What a jackpot and hidden beauty! We LOVED everything about it. Quiet, peaceful, serene, intimate, romantic.... I could go on and on.
Betty is doing a wonderful thing there by keeping it inviting, cozy and homey. We will definately be back next time my Captain sails into St Maarten..
Patty and Roger

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lastresortmp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We have stayed here for 5 years. We love it. Very clean. Safe. Beautiful beach. It is so relaxing. Betty is a gem. She knows St. Maarten and gives great recommendations. You can come here and relax. Shorts, a bathing suit and a good book. They have cocktail hour at 6, where everyone can gather if desired. The same people come back every year. The planes add to the charm. We love watching planes. They take off in the morning around 9 and late afternoon. Otherwise it is pretty quiet.
Do not come here if you desire luxury, want to wear designer clothes and impress people or want a 5 star resort. Come here if you would like to vacation in a very funky, clean and priceless gem - there are few places in the world left like this. I hope that when Betty decides to hang it up a large chain does not come in and spoil the charm!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janeloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

This was the best place ever. We've been coming to st.maarten for about 6 years and we absolutely love it there. We've stayed other places, but this place was just FABULOUS....the views are spectacular, just breathtaking. The staff which were sisters, Gloria and Cherry went above and beyond to make sure you didn't want for anything.. my cell phone had no service when we arrived so i could not reach my children to tell them we had arrived safely and having no phone in the rooms, Cherry was so gracious to hand me her cell phone and told me to call home , which is in the united states, and is not a cheap phone call. She said, " don't worry about anything i understand it's ok.".now how many places could you stay at that would be so unbelievable to offer there cell phone to you....she was very helpful in making sure we could relax and have a great time and was very successful in doing so. The rooms were extremely clean and the hotel was very well kept and so was the sandy area and the beach. they do have a common t.v. which we watched almost every night. I highly recomend this hotel..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissyanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1.2 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Horny Toad Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Horny Toad Guesthouse

Address: 2 Vlaun Dr., Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $118 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horny Toad Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horny Toad is a deliberately small and distinctive guesthouse known for its congenial and unpretentious atmosphere. The original building is a former governor's house tastefully renovated into spacious, fully-equipped apartments. Each of the eight apartments is delightfully different, displaying a personality of its own. All rooms have fully-equipped kitchens, king size beds, complete baths with shower, and daily maid service. Fresh flowers are arranged in the units every day. The guesthouse is on the beach and provides beach chairs, towels and floats. An outdoor barbecue pavilion with two Weber gas grills, table and hammock allow you to enjoy dining beach-side. Simpson Bay beach is a beautiful, uncrowded mile-long beach - just a few steps from each apartment - great for walking, swiming and sunbathing.The Toad has been awarded Fodor's Choice Award each year including the most recent in 2012. They called us the "island's best value" on the Dutch side of St Maarten.This is a No Smoking property. No children under seven years of age, please. We can arrange to have a rental car for your use and stock your unit with food before arrival upon request. There is free high-speed WiFi in all the units and a complimentary computer with internet access and printer in the business center/reception area. Free gated parking on the property. Grocery stores, French bakery, shops and multiple restaurants are within a 5-6 block walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Horny Toad Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horny Toad Guest House Hotel Simpson Bay
The Horny Toad Guesthouse St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing