We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Planes The Planes”
Review of Sunset Beach Bar

Sunset Beach Bar
Ranked #33 of 134 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery
Description: Fasten your seatbelts for fun in the sun! Sunset Bar & Grill is St. Maarten's most popular beach bar and it's easy to see why. We are right on a beautiful white sandy beach, but also right at the end of the runway of Princess Juliana International Airport. Where else can you enjoy an ice cold beer as a huge KLM Jumbo Jet soars right over your head?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tourist Site...Watch Planes land & take off so close to beach..A Must Do while on the Island...Food average & overpriced!! Drinks washed down but beer is always a good price, this has to be an Island Thing!!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MeLee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 2,456 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This landmark bar delivers double whammy with the location and service.

Open daily, one can enjoy alcoholic beverages, coffee and tea. The is a splash pool as well as the fantastic beach adjacent. Breakfast is also served here.

If you would like to feel the jet blast, you can also so that whilst here.

Always fun! Always great service

Date of visit: September 2019
4  Thank KavitaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A must see place. Famous for the landing airplanes. Very cold beer, good service clean restrooms.
Great place for people watching and airplanes landing mere feet above your head.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

anyone visiting st.maarten must experience sunset beach bar good food and the entertainment is free having a cocktail and watching the arrival and departures at the airport is a once in a lifetime experience best time of day to go is for lunch thats when most of the arrivals start coming in and departure turn around is within an hour

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank auntlu0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Hungry? Grab a bite at the Sunset Beach Bar at least that’s what I did and I’d do it again! Where else can you eat in your swimsuit, without shoes, watching planes fly in literally, a stones throw from your table. I had the Mahi sandwich and it went so well with the view and the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks just over the banister! My only suggestions: attention could be paid more to details as it relates to customer experience. I was left without being checked on, it took a while for me to get a glass of water and they were out of the side item that came with my sandwich but I wasn't told this, had to bring it to their attention and felt like it would have been good customer service if I had been made aware or a small portion of the cost deducted as a courtesy. Gratuity is also already included in the total; had I not asked, I wouldn't have known and tipped again. The view= 5/5. The service= 4/5.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Honor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Beach Bar also viewed

 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Sunset Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing