We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shark dive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dive Safaris

Dive Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We, Henry en Helmie together with our staff, offer you the best diving experience of Sint Maarten.You may be experiencing diving for the first time or you may want start a professional diving carreer.We offer:PADI Dive CoursesDive Courses, from start in our swimming pool to finish in the ocean!Shark Awareness DiveShark Diving, meet the masters of the sea in a friendly way.Boat DivingBoat Diving, we'll take you places you've never dreamed of!and many more
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shark dive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Having already done a basic dive the day before, my son and I were ready for something a bit more exciting. We got exactly what we were looking for and more with Dive Safari's Shark Dive. You don't swim around in this dive. After finding the spot and tying up the boat, you suit up and drop down 60 feet. The group of divers place themselves in a semicircle outlines by concrete cinder blocks. Once you have your spot, hold on for the show! Our "feeder" was Mark. He places himself at the center of the semicircle and the sharks come right in. Mark has been doing this awareness dive for over 7 years, and feeding them for the last 5. We saw 8 different sharks in sizes up to 8 feet long. Marks passion for "his" sharks are evident in his pre and post dive discussions. This is a dive I would do over and over, it was that cool!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divesafaris474, Owner at Dive Safaris, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it!

Great to hear, you and your son enjoyed the Shark Awareness dive so much, that you would like to do it over and over again!

Well hopefully you will be back again on the island, to do some more awesome diving, we really looking forward to see you both back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    19
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“EXCELLENT SHARK DIVING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I just recently went on the shark feed day with Dive Safaris! Our brave shark feeder was Mark and he definitely put on a show. This dive is about 60 feet and totally worth the trip if you're in St. Maarten. Once you reach the 60 foot depth, you see a semi-circle of cement blocks and each person lies down holding onto one of the blocks. We saw eight Caribbean reef sharks! Mark was in the middle of the semi-circle feeding tuna to these gorgeous female sharks. He pet them like they were docile dogs and we had learned that these guys are number eight on the world's most dangerous shark list. Incredible! Totally worth it :]

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BacchusLovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divesafaris474, Owner at Dive Safaris, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

The Shark Awareness dive is a really awesome dive, that you don't want to miss!
This beautiful creatures are so important for us and we really want to spread the word.

Thanks again, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Diving at Porpoise in St-Maarten on Dec. 21, 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Excellent diving, very good team, big and comfortable boat for diving. They give you great explanations. Jonathan was quite funny too.

We just hoped that we would have more time to go diving some more but had to go back home in Montreal, Quebec.

We greatly recommend this dive center.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divesafaris474, Owner at Dive Safaris, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it!

Great to hear that you enjoyed the diving, hopefully you will find the time to come back again and do some more diving with us.
We are really looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This dive shop is very nice and has a good selection. We purchased shoes and fins here for a great price. The dive boat and dive masters are very nice. The diving was very nice and fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divesafaris474, Owner at Dive Safaris, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review!

We are glad that you had a good time and did good dives with us and hopefully we will see you back again to some more awesome diving here on st.Maarten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
1 review
“Great Scuba Diving with Dive Safaris, St Maarten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I am an experienced diver and my two sons are beginner divers. The boat and dive crew made sure everyone on the trip had a great experience on the boat and underwater. The professionalism was excellent and the Dive Masters helped monitor depth, time, and air for each diver on the trip. They also pointed out many objects and sea life which may have been missed by some divers. I highly recommend Dive Safaris and will return to dive with them again. Chuck M.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlesMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divesafaris474, Owner at Dive Safaris, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it!

Good to hear you and your sons enjoyed the diving and looking forward to see you all back again, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive Safaris also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Dive Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing