We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun, great crew onboard Bluebeard to Prickly Pear.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bluebeard Charters

Bluebeard Charters
Ranked #12 of 39 Tours in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great fun, great crew onboard Bluebeard to Prickly Pear.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We just did the Friday Jan 25 excursion and had a great day onboard Bluebeard to Prickly Pear. This was our first trip with the Bluebeard team and they exceeded expectations.

The day started well when we were greeted with smiles by the check-in team at The Buccaneer Beach Bar. There were no surprises at check-in as the price on their website was the price we paid and were even able to us our Visa without the surcharge that other excursion operaters charge!

The Crew and Captain were great all day and could not do enough for us! The Cat is in perfect condition and washrooms were spotless. The drinks flowed all day but we had a well behaved group, so it did not feel like an out of control booze cruise. Great option for families, singles or couples!

Prickly Pear was stunning, the snokling was fun and the lunch served was tasty. I had the Mahi-Mahi and Jo Ann had the BBQ Chicken and we were both pleased.

This outfit has huge repeat business as more than half the guests were repeat cruisers and we even met one couple from Ottawa that was on their 20th trip with Bluebeard Charters and were on first name basis with crew and captain. The were greeted like returning family!

Thank you Bruce, your staff and the Bluebeard are fantastic!

Alex and Jo Ann.
Kelowna BC.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexandJoAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    25
    4
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great tour operators”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We took a trip to Anguilla with Blue Beard and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The crew was very attentive and kind. The weather did not cooperate, so it was cold and rainy for most of the trip, but it was fun nonetheless. The way over is very choppy (a few people got sick), but coming back it was smooth sailing.
The only downsides were that they didn't have a storefront, so it was hard to find them before launch and we ended up asking several people before being directed to the right place. Also, we were told that they offered a vegetarian option for lunch, but there was none available. That may have been a miscommunication between our hotel when we booked, but it was annoying to expect a lunch and not have it available. That aside, I'd definitely travel with them again to another island.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RsR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rendezvous Beach Day Trip March 2012!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This review is long overdue! I just realized this as I was planning my SECOND trip with BlueBeard for our SXM vacation this March 2013. We sailed with them in March 2012 to Rendezvous Bay in Anguilla and it was amazing! Great sail, beautiful beach and amazing food/cocktails all day. We initally missed the trip out the day before to Shoal Bay because we got stuck in traffic, and they were more than happy to accomodate us for the next day. I've done my fair share of catamaran trips in the Caribbean, some from cruise lines, some not, and I can say with all honesty this is the most fun and best value! Don't even think twice about it - just do it! :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pappasmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“FUN! FUN! FUN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Thank you Peter, Ingrid and Josef for a fantastic journey to Anguilla. We had a wonderful time snorkeling, swimming, sailing, and enjoying the sights! Being aboard the Heineken gave me a sense of pride while sailing by other vessels, she is so majestic and refined. If you are in St. Maarten be sure to book your tours with them... unforgetable will be the word of the day!
Michelle Davis-Von

Helpful?
2 Thank MDVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island,NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bluebeard Charter to Prickly Pear 10/18/12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

What a great day we had on the Bluebeard Heineken Catamaran! Peter, Ingrid and Joseph are wonderful hosts from the first rum punch until the last! We sailed for about 2 hours, and the trip is very relaxing. THen we dropped anchor off of Prickly Pear and snorkeled for an hour or so. Afterwards, Joseph ferries the passengers to the shore via dinghy, where the beaches are so fine! Lunch was delicious (choices for all, chicken/ribs/fish or combos plus rice/beans/salad and plantains.. quite filling). There's a small bar with the most entertaining fellows managing. We saw a red bird, which the island guys were very excited to see (rare?) and my wife took pictures and promised to forward. All in all we had a fantastic trip, drank a bit, and enjoyed one of the most relaxing days of the vacation. I highly recommend these folks... they really know how to cater to their guests!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JimMcC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebeard Charters also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Bluebeard Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing