We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talked up but not as good as could be.”

Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market
Ranked #13 of 113 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Longview, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Talked up but not as good as could be.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pricey restaurant on St. Maarten. Food was good but service was lacking. Non smokers beware- A chain smoker sat next to us and one of our party had to leave(allergies) Open air but it was blowing right on us. Lobster prices were less here but average weights were 2-3 pounds at 25.00 a pound. Clam chowder was really good and the spinach salad was good too. But the price and service is what really got me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank biotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    450
    174
    69
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sxm
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“seafood”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

very nice surrounding (very different from the simple front). nice staff and wonderful seafood. We order the seafood platter and the food is well cook without a lot heavy seasoning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sxmfoodtaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Cool place!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I love the HUGE lobsters that are in a small tank when you walk to the seating area!! I had the crab backs and crab/corn chowder and both were very good. My husband had the escargot and he was quite pleased. Very friendly staff and very accommodating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County, NY
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very nice atmosphere and view. We went here for lobster because it was only 19.95/lb. They didn't have anything under 2 lbs when we went. Not sure if that's a money scam or they just didn't catch anything under 2 lbs. My fiancee got the ribs and lobster and loved every bite of it. I got a steak with their mushroom sauce, it's was to die for but extremly over priced. My steak was 30.00 and it was probably like a 10 oz ny strip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shonna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“This place sucks”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We ate here e other evening and the place is awful by island standards and worse by any other standard. It's basically a tourist trap and you can get better food for a third of the price on practically any beach on the island. This was the first disappointment we've yet to have on the island.

The one good thing I can say is it has a marina view which deflected from the awful food. I broke my rule coming here. Never eat in a lace that sells tee shirts with its name on it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ROCKintheUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Oyster Pond, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Skipjack's Seafood Grill, Bar & Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing