We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and Cool!”

Lee's Roadside Grill
Ranked #27 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lower Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun and Cool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Lee's is a feast for the senses! What first drew us was the wonderful BBQ smell that wafted up and down the street. As we got closer, we heard the band and saw the island-inspired rustic waterfront setting.

The service was good and the BBQ even better. I had the grilled fish (which was just ok) but friends had the ribs and chicken. They couldn't finish it all, but it was just as good as leftovers the next day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank writeway00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    445
    221
    77
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Return to Lee's. Triumphantly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

I guess I just connect with Lee’s. I first ate here four years ago. My meal included insanely good conch chowder, so I had to return. After finding they were closed on Monday, but had music every night, I decided on SkipJack’s for my Sunday meal, and saved Lee’s for Wednesday. I was in early, and alone and an older gentleman wanted to seat me in the center of the room. I asked for a deck seat and as there were five or six tables open he seated me in a prime location without blinking an eye.
There was no chowder on the menu so I ordered the conch soup. It was really tasty, if unexpected, in that it was more of a conch-y chicken-like soup with nice, tender chunks of conch and some carrot. Some added Matouk hot sauce made it crushingly good. I was off to a good start.
After my less than stellar entree at Skip Jack’s I’d sworn off lobster (well, whole lobster) but Lee’s had Stew Lobster on special. Note it’s not ‘lobster stew’ and it’s not ‘stewed lobster.’ I like that. I ordered that. It came with two sides and since my plan was to eat things I can’t readily get at home, or make for myself, I again had the peas and rice and plantains. I can’t get enough of either and love how the rice can be very different, depending on the cook. This is when the buffoon returned. I don’t know how or why, but when I took a bite of the lobster, it happened just like the last time I ate here. My eyes closed and all my being lasered inward to my tongue. There was no room for outside distraction; no sound, no sight, just big chunks of lobster with delicate hints of celery on my tongue. I’d had the same reaction to the conch chowder four years ago. This was bliss. Subtle. Seasoned. I never want that feeling to stop.
So. Portion sizes were right, prices were reasonable and food delicious. My view of the bay, with a breeze was soothing and peaceful and the singer at the front of the bar added a nice island flavor.

My sides were exactly what I’d wanted in nice quantity, tasty and fresh. The wait staff was adequately attentive and with the great view and music, I didn’t mind the slightly slow pacing, but I have to say it took a bit too long to bring my check. As I’d finished my meal and was ready to pay, the restaurant was becoming more crowded. I actually felt a bit guilty, sitting alone in this prime table for four while newcomers were seated further away from the water. I really love this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrossmrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Ft Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst experience in my life NO SERVICE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

No service. Had to ask for menus, had to ask for water, had to ask for order, had to ask for more water. Table next to us the customer got so ticked he finally stood up and turned around and waved his arms for service. ( he copied me ) Let me be clear, NO SERVICE.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FletcherDDSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had lunch here with two friends.
Snapper very good and the fried shrimp.
Crab starter was lacking in crab but tasted ok.
Fish platter was quite good a little over cooked .
Good for families too .
Would go back but not for lunch more likely in the evening when its busier .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“so-so chicken”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We dined here for lunch on our last day- Friday lunch was forever when food is precooked waiting on the grill. Dinner on Saturday was busy. Chicken quarter and plantins was decent. Potato salad was good and did not taste store bought. Vodka and fireball shot specials helped make up for waiting on the food. Chicken across the street @ Captin D's is better. They are closed on Mondays

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee's Roadside Grill also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Lee's Roadside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing