We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food Poor Service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lee's Roadside Grill

Lee's Roadside Grill
Ranked #27 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Food Poor Service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The food here was really good but the service was terrible! If they had better service I would have given the place a better review.... Took forever to get drinks and no one even acknowledged us after we sat down at our table for at least 15 minutes. The palace wasn't that busy and there was no excuse.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    437
    216
    76
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“only good thing; conch fritters”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

my last dinner on the island and we came here, we not impressed. tho, the conch fritters, (seemed like they needed to change the oil bc our fritters were VERY DARK vs a nice golden color), but they were so good i ordered another one. or mayb bc i was hungry?!
had the chicken & ribs meal. both seemed dry, which i found funny bc my chicken was a thigh. isn't dark meat moist?!
comparing price to food, it wasn't worth it. tho who knows, mayb the chef had an off day?
service was fine, it wasn't bad it wasn't stellar. the view was nice & relaxing and had a great breeze.
Cigar smokers - u cant smoke in here

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
180 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“It was just "ok"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had read the reviews of this place before we came on vacation and expected the food to be awesome when it was just average at best. We came here on a Sunday night and it wasn't terribly busy. The host tried to put us at a table in the middle of the restaurant even though the tables by the water were open. We asked our waitress if we could move by the water and that was fine with her. I had the mahi and my husband had ribs. Both meals were ok and the prices there are fair, but probably won't go back there when there are so many other better places to eat on that strip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lee's was located just across the street from our hotel and was a delightful place. The staff was very warm and friendly. The food is also good and reasonable priced. They had live music when we arrived for supper. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freshest fish on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We always eat here twice on our one-week trip to St. Maarten. Love the snapper. The fish is always fresh and delicious. Service has gotten much better too - and the manager actually bought us an after dinner drink, never experienced that before!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KBNY66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee's Roadside Grill also viewed

 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Lee's Roadside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing