We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun time at Topper's”

Topper's By The Sea
Ranked #37 of 113 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
minneapolis, mn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fun time at Topper's”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

the food is good, not great, but the atmosphere here is fun. Topper is a nice, genuine guy too.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgh5640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    344
    201
    84
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
448 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Good Hangover Food”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We ended up here after about an hour wandering around looking at menus in Simpson Bay. I was feeling a little icky and had a serious craving for onion rings; this seemed to be the only place near us that had them. I had the macaroni and cheese as my main; it had a little too much cream and was a bit runny, but it definitely was the type of food I wanted that night. My boyfriend had a burger (not bad, but nothing memorable) and hummus to start (the hummus was delicious). The service was decent, they were not overly busy, but our waiter did seem a little rushed (he seemed nice though).
In the end, it was a decent place to eat, but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LazyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

great food especially the meatloaf, great service, good parking a pleasure to have lunch or dinner I have had both several times

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Troutsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
2 reviews
“Two Toppers, this one and the Toppers by the Sea (Billy Folly Road at beach)”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

There are two Toppers in this review section that have been conflated. Many of the photos for the address above at Toppers Restaurant and Bar on Welfare road are actually for the Toppers by the Sea at 6 Billy Folly Road (on the beach) at Pelican Bay at Simpson Bay. There are also several reviews that are for one or the other.

There appears to be no way to separate them out, or create a review for Toppers by the Sea.

Toppers by the Sea:

Great beach drinks with happy hour from 4-6pm, service at your beach chair, and a daily drink special that is delicious and not too sweet. Delicious bar snacks (the steamed edamame were delicious!) Also, wednesday nights are Lobster night. You should reserve by Wed. AM to request the lobster dinner which is a salad, baked potato and a 1.5 lb spiney freshly steamed lobster. Absolutely delicious and a steel at $30 a person.

Also.. short wine list, but very good reasonably priced French wines, about $5 a glass or $25 a bottle. Tried a rose from Provence that was very nice with seafood.

The service was lovely though sometimes a little slow when packed as it is for the lobster dinner.. but they are always very nice, very friendly and accommodating to requests. For evening, you can request dinner at a table just outside their lenai area, where you can dine on the sand with the waves about 10 feet away. Gorgeous.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elementalele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The prime rib was awful”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We went there last night based on a tip from someone from our time share (pelican) and because the reviews here seemed fairly upbeat. Plus we were really in the mood for a nice prime rib and weds is their prime rib nite. Well we were in for a very disappointing meal. The prime rib was tough, covered in a syrupy, congealing weird gravy! I would definitely have asked for any gravy to be put on the side but it was not listed on the menu and waitstaff never mentioned. Really truly I have eaten a lot of prime rib- I know it can be variable, but this was the absolute worst. The man at the table next to us sent his back TWICE!! I should have too. But I was too disgusted. Also, if you ever go there DO NOT get the house "special" salad- it is a weird metallic garlicky dressing. In fact, I recommend that you do not go.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank randice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topper's By The Sea also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Topper's By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing