We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Simpson Bay Beach”
Review of Karakter

Karakter
Ranked #12 of 113 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Diner, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Specialized in healthy and delicious food, Karakter offers only the best: the best smoothies, salads, wines, beers, cocktails, tapas and lunches. Our lounge chairs, wooden couches and lounge cushions, paired with amazing white sand and a perfect blue sea, complete the ultimate Caribbean experience. Karakter. Your total beach experience. Just relax and we will take care of the rest...
Sunapee, NH
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best of Simpson Bay Beach”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great menu for dinner. Very friendly staff. Awesome Simpson Bay Beach location.Walk the length of the beach and come back for a cold one.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    372
    109
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great beach/very good food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a little hard to find the first time, just past Mary Boons. The parking is tight, but doable. I back in so it is easier to get out.
The beach is very nice with a great view of Simpson Bay. Beach chairs and umbrellas are free if you are eating here. Geet there early, they fill up fast. The bar is a a convert bus and there are plenty of covered dining chairs. the service is exceptional. Monique waited on us at the beach and for lunch. She is really up beat and friendly. The food is very good. They have great variety of wraps and sandwiches. Trish and I split the cheese plate, it was huge. It had 5 different cheese and some fruit and was served with a basket of fresh bread. For $18.00 it was also a very good value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Red d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Funky and Fun”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Sit right on the beach and enjoy not only the view but some of the best food and service on the island. Don't miss the coconut shrimp.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Who'd have thought a bus parked on the beach with a ramshackle assortment of decking, table and chairs, and beach chairs to rent could turn out this kind of food? We were in SXM last week and visited Karakter three different times. Once for drinks and appetizers, once for drinks and lunch, and once for a sunset dinner. Each time we were treated to excellent service by incredibly hard-working and friendly waiters. The beer was always ice-cold, the wine list is decent, and the food we ordered was top-notch- fresh, cooked to specification, and served in a timely manner. Everything we ordered, appetizers to burgers to fish, was very good.They even packed a bag of ice for an injury to my knee (it appeared that it wasn't an uncommon request!). Karakter became our favorite place to walk to on the beach, and we're very glad we found it!

Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place has a fun vibe but the food was lackluster, service was pleasant. The food at Tohoma beach bar is much better.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joh_Joh_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karakter also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Karakter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing