We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bavaria Restaurant

Bavaria Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 111 Restaurants in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $24
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic German Cuisine,24 years in business,same location,same owner,outdoor dining "beergarden style",also indoor,70seats in total.Friday nights "german grill"with german sausage specialties,extra bar open outside
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I had never been to a German Rest. but my husband knows a lot about German food so we were excited to go there. After being on traffic for a while we got to the Rest. and it was closed we had arrived a little to early. So we decided to wait around the area. We waited for 2 hours but OH was it worth it. The beer was awesome and the food was even better. We were very pleased the overall experience and had a huge smile on our faces while eating and after we left.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi_Camejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    41
    7
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Bavaria (the 2nd this trip) and it never fails to please the palate!
As surprised as we were to discover authentic German food on the island, it has become on of our favourite places to eat. The food is always delicious, home cooking and there is something for everyone on the menu. The schnitzel is amazing, as was the beef stroganoff my husband & I had. Don't miss the "Beer & Bratwurst" on the 1st Friday of the month - just like being in Germany. Annette has a great devoted following and it's always a pleasure to see familiar faces when we return. We're already looking forward to our return next year! It's a nice change from the regular fish, chicken and meat on most menus in St. Maarten.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lumpysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Some of the best german food I have had since Germany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

A surprising and delightful find in Simpson Bay. Food was Excellent and the beer selection was minimal but good. Average price for an Entree was $17 to $19 and included multiple sides. Delightful place to eat, great service, and friendly workers. I would suggest it to anybody in the area. Worth branching off from the norm.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sehr gut!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

This was a delightful, unexpected treat - so good I ate there twice in one week. Food was uniformly very good, a good menu selection, and the ladies who owned and served very pleasent and accommodating. I wish it were closer than 2,000 miles away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BBehringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“German? On Sint Maarten?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

It's just a little bit of a spot but good authentic german food. Nothing fancy but good schnitzel and wurst.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FreshVeggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavaria Restaurant also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Bavaria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing