We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax on the beach”
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Azure Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Williamson, NY
1 review
“Relax on the beach”
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Azure Beach Studios are located on beautiful Simpson Beach. Relax on the very uncrowded beach and watch the mega yachts anchored just off shore. Easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. Enjoy the breezes and turquoise waters on this quiet part of the island. The hosts, Mike and Fawnette are very helpful and gracious.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    71
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
246
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st maarten
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights, before heading up to the BVI's, great location right on the beach, walking distance to all the restaurants & nightlife in Simpson Bay area.
Room clean & comfortable and had all the basic's needed in the kitchenette. Ample parking & free internet.
Close to the airport for transfers & plane spotting as you're very close to the runway !
Will definately stay again when I come back to St Maarten.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorsuew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

A little background info... upon arrival at the airport for our flight home we found out our return flight was canceled by Delta. Once we knew we were stuck on the island for an extra night, the SXM tourism desk was able to put me in touch with Fawnette at Azure Beach Studios who, fortunately, had a room available for the night.

Fawnette and Michael were great hosts, full of helpful information and a good dinner recommendation at Karacter down the beach. Our room was very comfortable and colorful. We had a full kitchen and sitting area and beach towels were provided. Although our room (the Tropical Suite) was located in the courtyard (so no beach view), the sand was literally a matter of steps around the corner. They have a lovely patio for all guests to use right on the beach, so we had breakfast overlooking Simpson Bay.

A few items to note: they didn’t accept credit cards but there was an ATM a short walk down the road; the parking situation seems a bit difficult because the hotel is located at the end of an alley and we saw several folks backing their cars about 300 yards out to the main street; and they are situated near the airport, so you could hear the planes flying overhead starting around 7am (but the noise didn't bother us).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlkativ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Azure beach studios was a lovely choice for my St. Maarten stay. It is located steps away from a clean, unpopulated beach in Simpson bay. Very private, and secure. The owners are also artists which gives Azure a very accessible, hip feel. The owners also live on the premises which give the place a very laid-back feel. The kitchens were well appointed as were the rooms with ample storage space and modern spacious furnishings. The Azure is the near the airport and within walking distance of fabulous night life in the Simpson Bay Area. The Azure is located in a residential area so one does not have the touristy- hustle to contend with while staying there. Cute little shops, restaurants and leisure activities are nearby, so no need to rent a car if one plans to have a quiet vacation on the Dutch side of the Island. I would recommend Azure highly and I look forward to staying there again for my next visit...the beach is every guests backyard.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neveralone139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Great place on Simpson Beach. Small and intimate place directly on the beach. There are seven (or eight) rooms, three directly on the beach and the rest on the courtyard behind the front building. Our room was beachfront and from our door to the sand was about fifteen feet across a patio with tables and grills. The rooms have a small kitchen where you can prepare
some of your own meals if you want.
Mike and Fawnette are great hosts, will help you anyway they can. Even showed me how to cut up a lobster (actually he did it) to cook on the grill. They live on site and
can give you a lot of info about the island.
Azure is located on Simpson Bay beach which is an uncrowded beach about 2 miles long. Even on Sunday when some locals visit there probably weren't 100 people on the whole beach. You can easily walk to the strip on airport road
for dining, shopping and entertainment.
Great place and we've already booked for next year!

  • Liked — on the beach
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Duke63Missouri_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Ancient beauty, elegance, and Caribbean charm blend at the Azure Guest House and Beach Studio. Nestled in the heart of Simpson Bay, it houses fantastic artists, creators, and explorers. Fawnette and Michael are amazing hosts that go above and beyond to deliver the best experience St Maarten offers on all shores.

They are on the beach. Hot water, warm beds, AC (it gets hot), lots of artwork compliment deep sea fishing adventures, snorkeling, scuba, sailing, kayaking. I could go on. I didn't have time to try every activity they offered. Next time though.

If you are traveling to St. Maarten, do yourself a favor and plan your stay at the Azure Guest House.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank toszter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2008

The Azure is a great way to play and stay in St Maarten. The location is perfect as you are within walking distance of restaurants, clubs, car rental, tour agencies, and the beach. The rooms are clean and well stocked with amenities. Did I mention dish network TV? I felt well connected to world events while still hopping out on the beach for a day of fun in the sun. I will be a repeat customer the next time I find myself in St Maarten.

  • Liked — Clean rooms.
  • Disliked — Poor street lighting.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach_bum_39_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
3.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Property: The Azure Hotel
Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing