We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Azure Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We planned to stay here one night before and after our trip to Dominica. When we arrived we were greeted with a cold beer and he told us all about the huge box turtles on the property. Michael then went inside to get our reservation, but when he returned he told us that we were not booked until the following night. After reviewing the emails, we figured out that I screwed up the dates. Having no availability that night, he jumped on the phone and started calling all the hotels in the area trying to find a place to sleep for the night. It wasn’t easy, cause everything was all booked up that weekend due to the Heineken Regatta that was taking place. A few minutes later he had us booked for the night just up the road. He never charged us for the first night and gave us our money back. When we returned the following week, he was nothing but smiles asking how our trip was. We loved the location of Azure, it’s 3 steps to the beach and a few blocks away from all the action of bars and restaurants in Simpson bay. They got a section of new lounge chairs and umbrellas for their guest to use. Our room was so close that the Wifi was able to be used on the beach. When we return to the Island we will definitely be staying here. Great little family run business with loads of charm and class.
Cheers guys

Cory & Sherri

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeeper4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    71
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
246
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We spent a week at the Azure Hotel after a cruise. Our room had a small kitchen, as well as a bathroom. The room opened onto a small porch with an outside table where we could enjoy breakfast. Just a couple of steps down was the beautiful beach and the ocean. The owners, Mike and Fawnette, were as helpful and friendly as could be. Mike helped me get set up with a rental car so we could explore the rest of St. Maarten. The place is not a super fancy, high end, big name resort. Rather, it's more of a boutique kind of place. It's small, but there is attention to detail. It's clean and very comfortable and has one of the best beaches anywhere. It's the perfect place to relax and unwind. Yes, you will hear aircraft, as you are very close to the airport. That doesn't bother me, though, and I was able to get some great aircraft photos. We will definitely plan to stay at the Azure again when we return to St. Maarten.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiSkyPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The perfect place for 1 night or 42 whichever you need. Beach is right out your door and you can hear the waves rolling as you go to sleep. Mike is very helpful and very knowledgeable on every aspect of the island. His cleaning lady (Ramona) is excellent and the sweetest person you will meet. Everything is with in walking distance but renting a car to see the whole island is well worth your time. After you get off the plane you only have a 5 min cab ride and your there. It has become our 2nd home as people keep coming back to see there winter neighbors from different parts of the U.S.A. Canada and other countries.

Room Tip: Enjoy and relax as you are on vacation and a wonderful beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ptkeggerWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I never want to stay ANYWHERE else but the Azure Inn when I get to St. Maarten. It's a beautiful little place, island style, right on Simpson Bay Beach. Rooms are clean, colorful, adorable, homey, and each has a little kitchenette. Most are graced with Fawnette's lovely artwork. Beds are all super comfortable. Staff is wonderful and Mike and Fawnette, proprietors, make you feel right at home as well as help with recommendations for places to see and things to do. I LOVE IT HERE..... FABULOUS place!! Mike and Fawnette: again, thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely, but i most enjoy staying in those rooms right on the beach which open onto an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at the Azure for 5 nights on July 2013. We had a rental car so the hotel is perfectly located to go and explore the island. It is only 5 min away from the airport. Expect to hear the planes taking off, it is loud but it is only a few times during the day and after a few planes you get used to it. The hotel is right on the beach, we did not have a beach front room but we had to walk only a few steps to be the amazing Simpson beach. There are good restaurants close by, french bakeries, italian and some others. Back then there was some construction going on across the street, they should be finished by now. If not try to get a room away from the street because construction noise starts around 730am. I will def stay at the Azure again. Mike the owner is a great host.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just returned from St. Maarten. We have a timeshare week six and are always headed down to St. Maarten week 5. We have tried many places week 5, but truly believe we have found our "gem". Right ON THE OCEAN :). We had a wonderful time at the Azure. Very relaxing week. Michael and Fawnette were great hosts, and we also met some wonderful people and made new friends. Michael was available to answer questions and if we needed anything, he was very helpful and responsive to any request we had. Ramona and Francis were WONDERFUL also. Everyone made us feel right at home.Two of the couples we met come back every year.....and we know why!!!! Great location, only 7 guest rooms, which makes it that much more "quaint". Restaurants and things to do very close by, however, we spent most of our week right on the beach....it was AMAZING. Gorgeous beach, it was practically all to ourselves. Chairs and umbrellas provided for all guests. 3 rooms on the beach, with others you enter off the pretty courtyard...which are also only steps away from the beach. We liked it so much, we booked for 2015 before we left! Rooms are very clean and well kept. Highly recommend :) (I almost hesitate to write this review, I'd like to keep this place a secret ;).....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. We just returned home two weeks ago and could not have been happier that we chose to stay here.

The location can't be beat. You are right on Simpson Bay. Even if you don't have an ocean front room you are less than 25 feet from the beach. You will be able to hear the waves crashing from any room you stay in. Simpson Bay is truly one of the best beaches you can find.

This is a small intimate hotel so note that when booking a room. A few reviews mentioned the lack of amenities - well it is a small hotel and if you read their website they don't claim to have amenities on-site. You basically are getting a studio. You are going to have a bed, bathroom and kitchenette. There are minor differences between all the rooms so make sure you look at the pictures and read the desciptions on their website if you are looking for something specific in the room. We stayed in the Tikki Suite. It was clean and had everything we needed. Sure not the largest room I've ever stayed in but I personally don't book vacations to stay in my room! Some other reviews also mentioned that the beds squeeked. 5 of the rooms got new beds while we were there and the new ones are wonderful. The only thing I found was that the regulator for the shower was a bit tricky. We had to play with it the first day to get the temperature we were looking for. Certainly not an issue, just something to call out for others staying in that room.

There is grocery/convenience store 1/2 block away. There is a very nice grocery store (Grand Marche) about 2 blocks away. This is very convenient to either go buy a local paper or get groceries for the week. Azure is only a few blocks away from a strip of restaurants. You will have plenty of options to choose from. Note though that several of the smaller restaurants are cash only and/or require you to spend a specific amount to be able to charge it.

You are very close to the airport. You will hear planes take off and land. We didn't find this to be an issue as you tend to tune them out after the first day. The building next door is under construction. Again, we did not find this to be an issue as they generally were working during the middle of the day. And this is not something that Azure (or any hotel for that matter) can control. Construction is part of developmental growth.

The owner Mike is fantastic. He will assist you with booking excursions or anything else that you may need. This is owned by a husband and wife team but I assume the wife has a day job as we only caught glimpes of her twice during our week there. Francis the handyman and Ramona the "manager" were extremely friendly, fun to talk with and helpful as well.

If you are looking for an intimate place to stay that has one of the best locations on the beach then the Azure Hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on their website. Each room is just a bit different with different items in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
3.0 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Property: The Azure Hotel
Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing