We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible, awesome, Azure”
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Azure Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2013

It doesn't get any better for us. Great accommodations, awesome location, and incredible travel advice to boot. Our room had a fully equipped kitchen which we used to cook groceries we bought from the nearby grocery store (recommendation by Michael the owner) and saved a bundle on eating out we were able to use on things like renting a car and cruising the island - which was a great time! Only thing I would have like to be different with the hotel is the amount of time I was able to occupy it! Looking forward to the potential of being fortunate enough in the future to return to Azure!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 404 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We flew into St. Maarten on a Saturday evening and less than ten minutes after clearing customs our cab pulls up at the Azure Hotel and Art Studio. The first thing you notice is that the property is right on Simpson Bay beach. This is not a typical chain hotel so you won’t find a reception, concierge, or check-in desk. Ramona was there to greet us and got us settled in, which was quick and paperless. We had a whole list of questions that she patiently answered, even though everything we asked was already printed and provided in the room. It was a beautiful sunny day, so we let her go quickly because we couldn’t wait to get into the ocean.

We had a room that had a cottage/studio vibe with high ceilings and a large bathroom. The kitchen area had a small stove, microwave, and large refrigerator. Great for people who like to grocery shop, cook, and buy beer in bulk! Mike has coolers that you can borrow and take your drinks to the beach. The instructions for hooking up to wifi, using the phone, TV, AC etc. are behind the door in each room. There is a small convenience store very close to the hotel that has everything a small 7-11 would carry (all the important stuff - water bottles, tea, milk, beer, chocolate, and cigarettes). There is no substitute for actually getting out there and exploring the island your self, but Mike was there to guide us when needed. It is really easy and safe, since the hotel is located in a residential area but still within walking distance to the main strip.

One night we walked to dinner at Caribbean Grill in Simpson Bay with Mike, his family, and another family staying at the hotel. This may not be typical, but it was a warm welcome. It felt like we were long lost friends. Whatever we required was provided by Mike. All we had to do was ask. That can be counterintuitive if you are used to big hotels where everything is already provided, sometimes in excess. The Azure is an eco-friendly hotel so it can appear minimalistic. The main thing to note is that if you want something while you are there or if anything isn’t working as expected just ask mike and he will make things right.

It’s nice to be able to make free calls to the US and other international destinations so you don’t have to pay for roaming. They also stored one of our carry-on bags while we took a three-day trip to Anguilla. Check out was effortless and paperless as expected. Sky helped Mike load our bags into the Taxi ☺. We stopped at Café Atlantico (which is close by) on the way so we could grab some sandwiches and iced-tea for lunch.

Lastly, I accidently took the room keys with me to the airport, but luckily the owner of the bar inside the airport volunteered to personally return the keys to Mike. I received an email from Mike letting me know that he indeed received the keys. Again, this goes to show the friendly and helpful nature of the people living in St. Maarten.

Room Tip: Ask Mike. Tell him a little bit about yourself and he will make the best recommendation based on wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JungleeBhalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after having spent 5 nights at other hotels around the island, and therefore we understand that st Maarten is not cheap. However, this place rips you off completely considering the standard of the accommodation. This place should not be called a hotel as this is very misleading. You pay for the beach proximity as all the other amenities are non-existent. Not even a complimentary bottle of water. It looks and feels like a motel.
The room is dark but ironically has windows with no curtains so you wake up with the rising sun. Just a note, one reviewer did mention this about the missing curtains and the manager replied stating that all the windows in the motel have curtains. We have uploaded a picture as proof. In the picture you can also see that due to the location of the bed you sleep in the kitchen right next to a ridiculously loud fridge.
In addition, there is a construction site right next door which isn't pleasant at all as they start working at 7am on schedule with the first flights departing from the airport..again, right next door. We are avid aviation enthusiasts but all of the above mentioned nuisances add up and it was overall not relaxing at all and even stressful. On top of this, the bed is so loud that if you turn at night you will guaranteed wake up the person next to you.
The owners were not there as they were traveling. However, we would expect a serious business to put a somewhat competent manager in place. The manager/housekeeper (Ramona) was useless and rude. She even said that she "would be in deep [--]" (quote) if she tried to help us with our late departure. Eventually, she did help us out by allowing us to shower in another room which (FYI) was even worse than ours with broken shower nobs which did not allow to regulate the water temperature, and the toilet was not separated from the bedroom. Advice: Avoid this motel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakko, Owner at The Azure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear reviewer and reader,
We were very disappointed when we read this review. We take our guest's comfort very seriously and had we been informed of any of these issues (that were within our control) during the stay we would have remedied them immediately. Our goal is to respond to customer recommendations and criticism with an open mind and to make improvements based on their feedback. We are indeed a hotel and are licensed as such. I understand that the construction across the street may be the cause for a negative experience, but it is almost done and most people have not been put off by it.

Our prices do reflect the demand for our location, not only because it is one of the most popular on the island, but also because it is right on the beach. It is more expensive to maintain and the cost of a beach property is higher as well. When comparing the prices of other beach hotels in Sint Maarten/ Saint Martin you will find that we are on par if not a better value than the rest.

Amenities that we do have are free high speed wifi (even on the beach), free international phone calls to most developed countries (even on the beach), free cell phones upon request, kitchenettes, ac, daily maid service, outdoor mosquito misters (using organic citronella and chrysanthemum), complimentary concierge service, satellite tv, soap, fully equipped kitchenettes, fresh beach towels daily and beach chairs with umbrellas. We considered offering bottles of water in each room, but decided to not contribute to the environmental tragedy that they are. Instead we found a more responsible way to offer drinking water by double filtering the water going in to the hotel from the reverse-osmosis desalinated water that is provided by the power company on the dutch side of the island. It tastes fine, is clear, has no odor, is free of microbes and does not pollute our beautiful island with a left over bottle.

We are near the airport and we make this clear on our website with the map of our area. Most people do not complain about this as they know it is the reason the beach is not packed with high rise hotels and throngs of tourists. It is a bit of a give and take. 7 am flights are very rare and are always small prop planes, flights cease early in the evening. Again, there are late flights very, very rarely. Saturdays and Sundays are the busiest, but also the best time to explore the island due to lack of traffic so you may want to do your touring on these days. If you are concerned you may research the flight schedule at
http://www.sxmairport.com/flights-info.php
Our proximity to the airport means that after you get off the plane you are checked in and swimming in the Caribbean Sea usually in 45 minutes or less.
Our manager takes her job very seriously and we have spoken to her about your experience. Forgive her sense of humor as it was not meant to insult you in any way. We are pretty laid back at the Azure. In regards to the late check out, we had guests checking in and we had to clean the room. She had already offered a free late checkout until 2 pm, but we do have to respect incoming guests as well. The Bay Suite that was offered is one of our economy rooms for solo travelers. The shower handle broke the day before, we had to go to the hardware store and had to call a plumber, again it was a courtesy offered from 2pm until 4 pm, for free.

Finally, the windows… they are glass block, not really windows and just in that one room, this is why in response to the previous poor review I had mistakingly stated that all the windows were covered. This was my mistake and I do apologize. I had asked several guests (that have booked this room every year for many years) a while back if I should provide a shade for it and the answer was a resounding no. They all say that because the window faces North and is far from the bed that they liked the ambient light and it did not bother them. We have decided, however, to cover them with curtains so guests have the option.
If you are considering a stay at the Azure please keep in mind we are a small boutique hotel and therefore much different than a large resort. There are pros and cons to each. We do strive for perfection and constructive criticism is welcome. Thank you for reading and thank you for writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Me and 4 other ladies stayed in the deluxe room with a mini kitchen. Our room consistent of a 2 burner stove, fridge, a free cell phone for use around the island and a room phone with free international calling back to the USA. Most important Air conditioning that works. The beach is beautiful with plenty of chairs for resort guest. The free Wifi was plentiful and we were all able to access with ease. the resort is centered around majority of nightlife and attractions. The only con is the parking situation. You have to park along the side street with minimal parking space. For the cost you get plenty

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 weeks October 24th to November 7th at the Azure. It was everything other reviewers said it was. Mike and family left on a 2 week vacation as we arrived but they left the hotel in the capable hands of their lovely manager Ramona who can answer all of your questions. We stayed in #4, the 2 bedroom Deluxe Garden Suite for the first 4 nights. Lots of living space with a sitting area with TV, full kitchen with cooktop, fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. Utensils and cookware included. Only one bathroom but separate shower room and toilet room. Fine for the 2 of us. Moved to room #5, the Garden Suite for rest of vacation. 2 entrances to room from courtyard or beach. Both rooms impeccably clean and comfortable. You can tell the owners have guest comfort at the top of their list from the just installed non-insecticide anti-mosquito spray system around the entire perimeter of the property down to the worlds softest 2 ply toilet paper! Ramona is a sweetheart and an asset to their property. The beach was literally deserted during the week from end to end. Most days we had the beach to ourselves. I also hand fed their turtles bananas almost every day! They got to know when we were coming! For the money, this was a great find for us and we are already planning our return. Get ready, Mike. We'll be contacting you soon!

Room Tip: Both rooms were fine. The Garden Suite, #5, is small and the only table for eating is outside the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fawnette and Michael and Sky are excellent hosts. They own, live at and manage the property themselves so you could not ask for better service. The terrace comes complete with real live turtles. Very private including beach loungers and umbrellas. Literally on the beach. Because of its location, the Azure is within walking distance of all amenities. Judy and I rented a car for only two of the days we were there and toured the island (both Dutch and French sides) easily within that time frame. We also took a ferry to Anguilla (British) for a morning adventure. Otherwise, we either walked, took the local transit system and/or taxis. Bottom line is that we were in Holland, France and Britain all in the same day! We will certainly be back and will be recommending this "jewel" to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just prior to jumping on a yacht and heading off into the sunset for 10-days, we stayed at Azure Hotel for three nights. I stayed there with two other girlfriends to relax and unwind prior to meeting up with a large group of family and friends. We stayed in unit #7 with two bedrooms, one bath, a living room and small kitchenette. The linens and towels were perfectly clean as were the accommodations. The owners, Michael and Fonette, ensured that kitchen was stocked with all the necessary cookware, utensils, dishes and towels. There was also plenty of bath towels that were refreshed for us daily. Just outside of our front door was a quaint little tortoise habitat with four friendly turtles meandering about. After several days we discovered that the tortoises really enjoyed dark green leafy lettuce as well as bits of kiwi, mango and, surprisingly, sun-dried tomatoes. The beach was literally 15 feet out of the front door and was just pristine. There were beach lounge chairs and tables for guests and in the evenings, when the owners were home, they would play soft eclectic music that could be heard at the beach and in the courtyard.

We had such a relaxing start to our vacation adventure and cannot speak highly enough of the accommodations provided.

There is construction on-going next to this small boutique hotel that is not obnoxious but work does start at about 8am. However, we really didn't find it to be a distraction to our relaxation. The airport is also very near the hotel, but again, it is not a big distraction.

For those feeling adventurous, a 10 minute walk down the beach will bring you to a unique dining experience at Karacters where your food and drink is served from an old school bus. Great food and great atmosphere.

Absolutely enjoyed our experience with Micheal and his lovely wife and daughter. Would love to return again someday however I only hope that this little gem remains hidden from the masses.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon--eNVy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
759 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,818 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
5.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: $109 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AZURE HOTEL WILL BE OPEN ON DECEMBER 15, 2017! NOW TAKING RESERVATIONS, MENTION THIS AD AND GET 20% OFF ON COURTYARD ROOMS!! Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing