We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A nice surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Azure Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Azure Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Endwell
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here in January. Mike, the owner, was very congenial and the room was clean, with great, comfy sheets! It was probably the most comfortable mattress I have slept on. Also, they use the "good" TP, not the see-through TP that falls apart in your hand. We complimented Mike on his attention to detail on this one :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chairster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    65
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
224
40
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our second stay at The Azure was as great as the first. Great beach, great hosts, great location. Our go-to place in St Maarten. Simpson Bay is a beautiful, quiet beach. The owner, Mike, as before, was a tremendous help with arranging activities and recommending restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wcs-eas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Azure Hotel before we went on a cruise in the Caribbean. It was great. Conveniently located- we got pastries at a french bakery just a few blocks away each morning, shopped at a local grocery store close by, walked down the beach for drinks and food, and went into Simpson Bay for dinner. What is so great about this place though, is that it is on a quiet beautiful beach. They have there own chairs and umbrellas so we always had a spot. Michael was a great host as well! We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hailey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Azure Hotel on our first trip to St. Maarten. We had the beach suite, which we absolutely loved it's location only steps away from the ocean.
The room was clean and comfortable. It is a little small, but who is spending time in their room (other than to sleep!) when the beach is so close?! It also included free wi-fi, which was nice. We liked having a small kitchen in our room as well, where we made breakfast every morning, and then ate on the beach front patio. It was great!
There is a market right at the end of the street, where we bought anything from beer, to toothpaste. It was very convenient, and we were there everyday picking something up.
Azure is also very close to the town where you can find MANY restaurants and hotels. The bus system is also easy and convenient from here if you want to go to Maho Bay and see Airport beach, or go to Phillipsburg and do some shopping. Both I recommend doing!
We stayed on both the Dutch side and French side of St. Maarten, and would stay at Azure again when visiting this part of the island!

Thank you Michael for your hospitality! We very much enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Azure for two weeks in February and March and had an awesome experience! Incredible beach just steps away. Mike and Fawnette are terrific hosts. They offer a beachside patio, chaise lounges, umbrellas and a grille for outside cooking. Our room was very comfortable and spotless and included wifi and cable TV. (We kept an eye on how much snow was falling at home.). All the staff was friendly and always willing to offer suggestions for dining, excursions and finding groceries. I found a great bakery a short walk away that offered a huge breakfast menu including crepes and omlets.I wasn't aware how easy it was to get around by bus, so I rented a car, but would consider using local transportation next time. There are countless restaurants and places for entertainment close by. One of our favorite things to do was to sit beachside and watch the beautiful sunsets. Another reviewer mentioned nearby construction, but we were in the closest room to the workers and were not troubled at all. We had an outstanding vacation at one of the most beautiful places on earth. I'm planning to return again next winter and would love to make it a three week stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a very nice, short stay here after the Heineken regatta. The room was small but perfectly adequate- and we weren't in St. Maarten to spend time indoors! It was a rare treat to stay right on the beach, and we slept well. It took awhile to check in, as we couldn't seem to find anyone, but that was the only hiccup. I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyKonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Azure Hotel was recommended to us through mutual friends of the owners. We stayed 6 nights in the spacious Caribbean Suite, and our last night was in the smaller (and equally comfortable) Tikki Suite. Our move for the last night was taken care of by the friendly hotel staff, letting us go about our day without any interruption! We had perfect wifi and satellite TV reception the entire week. We were charmed by the tortoise habitat in the courtyard, which also attracts lots of pretty birds and lizards. A few steps outside the courtyard gate is lovely Simpson Bay. There are plenty of new lounge chairs and tables for hotel guests, and also a patio area that can be shared by hotel guests. About 150 steps up the street is a corner market that has cold beer (best price on the bay), and basic staples, perfect to begin stocking our kitchenette for the week. Yes, there was some construction noise, but it didn't disturb us because we weren't in our room during the daytime anyway (besides, the owners really have no control over it!). And yes, there is noise from the jets, but after the first day we really didn't pay much attention to it, other than to be curious about the types of aircraft coming and going from the airport. Mike is a gracious host and concierge, ordering our rental car and stopping by our room to map out some great spots around the island that locals enjoy. Here's the thing: If you want a resort, book a resort. But if you're looking for a quiet and friendly, easy-going island gem, book the Azure. We were very glad we did, and plan to return!

Room Tip: Be sure to check the website for photos of each suite! Some open to the courtyard, and others open t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
5.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#2 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 999 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Azure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Azure Hotel

Property: The Azure Hotel
Address: 6 Roberts Drive, Simpson Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Azure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azure is family owned/ operated boutique hotel on the most spectacular/ uncrowded beach on Saint Martin. Completely renovated. Watersports, marinas, restaurants, casinos, bars, shops all within walking distance. White sand beach, crystal clear water, the world's biggest mega yachts within a stone's throw. Kitchens, US satellite TV, AC. FREE WIFI, FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS (most countries), FREE CELL PHONE USE,concierge. Lounges with umbrellas on the beach. Let us plan your activities. Our friendly staff will make sure you have everything you need! Azure for sure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your The Azure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Beach Studios Hotel Simpson Bay
The Azure Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing