We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable day on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Random Wind

Random Wind
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.99*
and up
Small-Group Day Sail in St Maarten
Ranked #5 of 39 Tours in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best day for sure. Sailing on a comfortable, fully cushioned sailboat, snorkeling, mud bath, stand up paddle board, great lunch cooked in the ship's galley, fishing off the stern and best of all - the famous, all ages Tarzan Swing! You will be well looked after by your experienced crew! All included in price - no hidden costs. Photos of your day are FREE online! Free tshirts also for honeymooners and others - just ask how you can get a free tshirt.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
NJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

My family (husband, daughter-in-law, sons, a girlfriend and I) spent a very enjoyable day sailing with Diane and Trevor. The sea was fairly calm and we sailed to our first stop. The beach on the French side was beautiful and the water was warm. Unfortunately, the snorkeling was fairly lame. After swimming, snorkeling and sitting on the beach, we went back aboard the Random Wind for lunch. Diane made a tasty chicken with salad and a side of well -seasoned rice. Drinks were good and plentiful. Diane was a wonderful hostess. We then motored to our next stop where Trevor and Diane set up the Tarzan Swing. That was lots of fun and most of the people on the boat--young and older-- took part. Trevor was wonderful with a young girl who wanted to try but who was afraid to go. He even offered to go with her. He suggested she try on her dad's back and offered other encouragements. Unfortunately, she was unable to conquer her fear.

The day was fun and my kids (28) enjoyed the day. Thanks , Trevor and Diane.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaMarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    43
    10
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute BEST day sail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our second trip on the Random Wind exceeded our expectations and then some. With a full house on Thanksgiving Day, Dianne & Trevor treated us all like old friends! Lunch was yummy (a full lunch) and drinks were plentiful. The snorkeling in the cove yielded a treasure trove of delights - huge shells, sand dollars and more. We love sailing the Random Wind and were happy to be back!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellenfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“CanNOT be beat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ranked by our 11 year old son as the best excursion of the 7days we were away! Diane is a great hostess, friendly, knowledgeable, flexible, patient with the wee ones. Trevor pretends to be a cranky old salt but we saw right through him, great guy and captain. Awesome food, rum punch perfect, venues gorgeous and just a blast. Tarzan swing a riot. Do not miss this day, SO MUCH fun and best bang for the dollar!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne_P49463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown
1 review
“Made us feel at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

After dealing with the woes of Sandy weeks before, including having to re-schedule our trip the week of Sandy, The Random Wind provided much needed stress relief and a blast of a time. Unfortunately, our resort's snorkeling was poor so the Random Wind's achoring at various bays provided awesome opportunities for snorkeling, observing various fish, huge seashells, and our first opportunity to partake in the "tarzan swing."
Diane and Trevor made us feel very comfortable and provided fantastic food and drink. They were both very entertaining and seemed to just be themselves as the day spent aboard with them was our favorite part of our St. Martin trip. There seemed to be plenty of room for all on board as well.
We would definitely recommend this trip as well as participating in the trip again if we were to return to St. Martin.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great day of sailing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you want a relaxing day of sailing, drinking, schmoozing, swimming, snorkling, eating, and just having fun, this is the place for you. Diane and Trevor are perfect hosts to this sail. The drinks are there all day, and the food is terrific. The "tarzan swing" is fun to do or watch. A most enjoyable day that can be enjoyed by all ages.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe_D22G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Random Wind also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Random Wind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing